Skip to content

Vitamin B1 - profile, daily requirement & more

Vitamin B1 - fact sheet for thiamine

We start with a short profile and the most important information. Then we continue with the intake, recommended daily requirement, physiological function, risk of overdose or deficiency, to the best B1 suppliers and supplements. Towards the end of the article, I also address the question of what vegans should consider regarding the supply of thiamine.

Here is in advance a short Table of contents for you:

  1. Profile
  2. Recording
  3. Daily requirement
  4. Meaning
  5. Overdose
  6. Mangel
  7. Foods
  8. Vegan
  9. Food supplement
  10. FAQ

Notice: This article is not a substitute for medical advice, but merely provides general information about thiamine. Please consult your doctor if you feel unwell or want to prevent health problems with medical care.

Vitamin B1 CONSTRUCTION LETTER AT A GLANCE

Assignment: Water soluble vitamins
Synonyms: Thiamine, thiamine chloride, aneurine, antineuritic vitamin
Important for: Carbohydrate, lipid and amino acid metabolism, energy production1
Daily requirement: 1.0-1.3 mg/day from the age of 19.2,3,4
Overdose: no maximum supply1,3,5
Deficiency symptoms: Neurological and cardiovascular disorders, fatigue, memory impairment, loss of appetite, among others.
Food: Sunflower seeds, whole grain products, legumes, nuts
Nutritional supplement: mostly as vitamin B complex

The thiamine uptake

Thiamine, respectively Vitamin B1, is a Water soluble vitamin. It should be ingested as regularly as possible, as it is only limited storable is. B1 is also sensitive to heat and oxidation.

The Bioavailability of thiamine is 100 percent when it is supplied in usual doses via the diet. The Absorption rate is dependent on B1 status, because absorption increases with low supply status and decreases with high status.6

Preparation tips: When cooking foods containing B1, you can reuse the cooking water and thus use the aneurin that has been transferred to the water instead of pouring it down the drain. Due to the heat sensitivity, a short cooking time or raw consumption is recommended.

How much vitamin B1 do you need?

Chickpeas as a source of vitamin B1 and thiamine

In principle, thiamine intake should be set in relation to calorie intake be taken, since vitamin B1 affects various metabolic processes and energy production. Based on this, a recommendation of 0.45 mg thiamine per 1,000 calories consumed is a good basis. The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) gives a slightly lower recommendation of 0.4 mg of thiamine per 1,000 calories, so that a daily requirement of 0.8 mg of vitamin B1 results from an intake of 2,000 calories.4 The Office of Dietary Supplements recommends 1.0-1.2 mg of thiamine per day from age 14, regardless of energy intake.3

Finally, here are the recommendations of the German Society for Nutrition (DGE) for aneurine and thiamine intake. You will also find the recommendations for Children and teenagers2:

Agemalefemale
1 to under 4 years0,60,6
4 to under 7 years0,70,7
7 to under 10 years0,90,8
10 to under 13 years1,00,9
13 to under 15 years1,21,0
15 to under 19 years1,41,1
19 to under 25 years1,31,0
25 to under 65 years1,21,0
65 years and older1,11,0
DGE reference values for the daily intake of thiamine in mg2

The three nutrition societies mentioned above also recommend increasing thiamine intake for pregnant and breastfeeding women. The recommended intake for pregnant and breastfeeding women is between 1.2 and 1.4 mg per day, so that the baby can also be supplied.2,3,4

Notice: The intake recommendations issued by nutrition societies are mostly focused on avoiding deficiency symptoms rather than on optimal health. It may therefore make sense to add more thiamine. The reference values therefore serve - as always - only as a rough guide.

The functions of thiamine

Vitamin B1 influences various Metabolic processes, especially are carbohydrate metabolism and thus the Energy generation dependent on thiamine. Thiamine works closely with vitamins B3 and B5 because together they contribute to energy production. The vitamin also influences the Lipid and amino acid metabolism and also the Nervous systemby being involved in the transmission of stimuli.

The Functions of vitamin B1 short and to the point:

  • Carbohydrate metabolism and energy production
  • Influence on lipid and amino acid metabolism
  • Stimulus transmission in the nervous system

Is it possible to overdose B1?

None of the above-mentioned nutrition societies have set a maximum intake limit for thiamine. The reason for this is the low toxicity of the vitamin and the fact that the body can Excrete excess thiamine in the urine can.1,3,5 This means you don't have to worry about any toxic effects from overdosing on the vitamin.

How does a thiamine deficiency manifest itself?

In 2012, Germany was described by the DGE as "not a vitamin deficient country" and the supply status of the population with nutrients was found to be good.7 In the National Consumption Study II the nutrition and nutrient supply of the German population was investigated on a large scale. The results showed that 21 percent of men and 32 percent of women do not reach the recommended vitamin B1 intake.8 While the lack of intake does not have to result in a deficiency, adverse health effects are possible.

A Deficiency of thiamine is manifested, among other things, by fatigue, loss of appetite, and impaired concentration and memory. More specific symptoms are cardiovascular and neurological disorders, and in severe cases the deficiency disease "Beri-Beri".

In addition to the above-mentioned symptoms, a deficiency of vitamin B1 is also said to increase the risk of Alzheimer's disease, as well as cardiac insufficiencies.3,6

Risk groups: Alcoholics, HIV/AIDS sufferers, seniors, diabetics, and people who have undergone bariatric surgery are particularly likely to be deficient.3 Similarly, drugs such as diuretics and chemotherapeutic agents can lead to an undersupply.6

The best vitamin B1 suppliers

Sunflower seeds are rich in vitamin B1

Now that you've read so much about potential deficiency symptoms, you're probably wondering which foods provide particularly high amounts of the valuable vitamin. One balanced diet rich in Whole grains, legumes, and nuts and seeds will usually provide sufficient amounts of vitamin B1.

Especially B1 rich foods are:

  • Wheat Germ (2.01 mg per 100 gram)
  • Sunflower seeds (1.9 mg per 100 gram)
  • Pine nuts (1.3 mg per 100 gram)
  • Brazil nuts (1.0 mg per 100 gram)
  • Peanuts (0.9 mg per 100 gram)
  • Pecans (0.86 mg per 100 gram)
  • Sesame (0.8 mg per 100 gram)
  • Chickpeas (0.5 mg per 100 gram)
  • Whole spelt flour (0.5 mg per 100 gram)
  • Natural rice (0.41 mg per 100 gram)

Tip: Since the valuable thiamine in cereal products such as rice, flour or pasta is mainly found in the outer layers, you should As many whole grain products as possible use. This is because extract flours, polished rice or conventional pasta contain only a fraction of the thiamine content.

Vitamin B1 in a plant-based diet

Due to the many plant sources, vitamin B1 is considered in vegan diets according to DGE not considered a potentially critical nutrient.9 If you eat a plant-based diet and vegan life so vitamin B1 is not a major hurdle.

However, many people with a mixed diet cover a significant part of their thiamine requirements through meat.8 Therefore, when switching to a plant-based or vegetarian diet, care should always be taken to ensure sufficient Whole grain products to consume. Optimally, you supplement this with Legumes, and nuts and seeds.

Should vitamin B1 be supplemented?

The need for thiamine supplementation always depends on several factors: First, you should check your Check current nutrient supply. On the one hand, it helps to look at one's own diet and check whether sufficient good B1 sources are integrated. On the other hand, a blood test helps to create certainty. The best way to check your thiamine supply is via the Thoroughbred measure, since this is where most of the active B1 occurs.10

But who should supplement thiamine? Dietary supplementation is particularly suitable for the above-mentioned Risk groups, such as Seniors, diabetics and alcoholics an. In addition to at-risk groups, people who consume little whole grain products, legumes, nuts and seeds should consider supplementation, as this can quickly place them among the 21 percent of men and 32 percent of women who consume too little thiamine.8

Isolated thiamine preparations are one way to ensure the supply of the valuable vitamin. Alternatively, however, vitamin B complexes are often used to prevent a deficiency. Since vitamins B1, B3 and B5 work closely together, especially in the production of energy, combined supplementation makes perfect sense.

A good one, vegan vitamin B complex in Capsules you get here*.

Tip: For even more info regarding supplements for vegans, you can check out my post Nutritional supplementation for vegan diet drop by.

Thiamine FAQ: The most frequently asked questions

What does thiamine do?

Thiamine helps the body produce energy, metabolize carbohydrates, lipids and amino acids, and transmit stimuli in the nervous system.

In which foods is thiamine?

Basically, whole grain products, legumes, nuts and seeds are rich in vitamin B1. Particularly high amounts of thiamine are found in the following foods:

  • Wheat Germ
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Peanuts
  • Chickpeas
  • Whole spelt flour
  • Natural rice
Can vitamin B1 harm?

The body excretes excess vitamin B1 through the urine. Therefore, the vitamin has no toxic effect.

How does a B1 deficiency manifest itself?

Deficiency symptoms are fatigue, loss of appetite, concentration and memory disorders. More specific symptoms are cardiovascular and neurological disorders and in severe cases the disease "Beri-Beri".

Is thiamine a water-soluble or fat-soluble vitamin?

Thiamine, also called vitamin B1, belongs to the B vitamin complex and is therefore a water-soluble vitamin.

With whole grain products to the desirable thiamine supply!

Most people ensure a good supply of vitamin B1 through a balanced diet safe because they produce sufficient thiamine from Whole grains, legumes, and nuts and seeds eat. In addition, due to its water solubility, you should always continue to use the cooking water during preparation. Furthermore, the shorter the cooking time, the more thiamine remains in the food.

Since I am a big fan of a holistic approach to health am, I recommend you, in addition to a balanced, plant-based diet, other health measures such as cold shower, movement at the fresh air or Meditation try them out. Try out the measures over a longer period of time and feel for yourself how your Energy in everyday life rises.

I am happy to receive questions, suggestions and criticism about the article on vitamin B1. Please feel free to write me a comment.

All the best,

Julian from CareElite

P.S.: If you want to know even more about nutrients now, you are in our Nutrient database in good hands. If you want to read more about B vitamins, the articles on Vitamin B2 or Vitamin B12 a good start. Have fun!

References:

1 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Selected questions and answers on thiamine. https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/faqs/thiamin/#metab. [23.08.2021]

2 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Thiamin, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/thiamin/?L=0 [23.08.2021].

3 National Institutes of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements: Thiamine. Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/thiamin-healthprofessional/. [23.08.2021]

4 European Food Safety Authority: Scientific Opinion on Dietary reference values for thiamine, https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2016.4653 [23.08.2021].

5 European Food Safety Authority: Tolerable Upper Intake Levels for Vitamins and Minerals, https://www.efsa.europa.eu/sites/default/files/efsa_rep/blobserver_assets/ndatolerableuil.pdf. [23.08.2021]

6 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitamin B1 is the nerve vitamin, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/weitere-vitamine/vitamin-b1. [23.08.2021]

7 A. Bechthold, V. Albrecht, E. Leschik-Bonnet, H. Heseker (2012): DGE Opinion: Assessment of vitamin supply in Germany. In: Ernährungsumschau 59 (2012), pp. 324-336. Online: https://t1p.de/5c5r. [23.08.21]

8 Max Rubner Institute. J. Möhring, H. F. Erbersdobler (2008). National consumption study II - results report part 2. In: Lebensmittel-Warenkunde Für Einsteiger, (Springer), pp. 121-146. Online: https://www.mri.bund.de/de/institute/ernaehrungsverhalten/forschungsprojekte/nvsii/erg-verzehr-naehrstoffe. [23.08.2021]

9 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Supplement to the position of the German Nutrition Society with regard to population groups with special nutritional needs, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/dge-position/vegane-ernaehrung/?L=0 [Aug. 23, 2021].

10 Center of health: determine vitamin deficiency: the diagnosis, https://t1p.de/8drh. [23.08.2021]

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you automatically and actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue - and of course the product price does not change. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

Julian Hölzer

Julian Hölzer

Hi, my name is Julian and I am a trained vegan nutritionist. In 2016 I started to get involved with veganism and quickly learned how big an impact our diet has on the environment and how diverse plant-based diets can be. That's why I want to inspire you to get involved with veganism too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vitamin B1 - Steckbrief für Thiamin

Vitamin B1 – Steckbrief, Tagesbedarf & mehr

Du willst mehr über Vitamin B1 wissen? Dann findest du hier die wichtigsten Informationen zu dem wasserlöslichen Vitamin, das auch Thiamin oder Aneurin genannt wird.

Wir legen los mit einem kurzen Steckbrief und den wichtigsten Infos. Danach geht es weiter mit der Aufnahme, empfohlenem Tagesbedarf, physiologischer Funktion, Risiko von Überdosierung oder Mangel, bis zu den besten B1-Lieferanten und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln. Gegen Ende des Artikels gehe ich auch noch auf die Frage ein, was Veganer bezüglich der Versorgung mit Thiamin beachten sollten.

Hier ist vorab eine kurzes Inhaltsverzeichnis für dich:

  1. Steckbrief
  2. Aufnahme
  3. Tagesbedarf
  4. Bedeutung
  5. Überdosierung
  6. Mangel
  7. Lebensmittel
  8. Veganer
  9. Nahrungsergänzung
  10. Häufige Fragen

Hinweis: Dieser Artikel ersetzt keine medizinische Beratung, sondern stellt lediglich allgemeine Informationen über Thiamin bereit. Bitte suche deinen Arzt auf, wenn du dich unwohl fühlst oder gesundheitlichen Problemen mit medizinischer Betreuung vorbeugen willst.

Vitamin B1 STECKBRIEF AUF EINEN BLICK

Zuordnung: wasserlösliche Vitamine
Synonyme: Thiamin, Thiaminchlorid, Aneurin, antineuritisches Vitamin
Wichtig für: Kohlenhydrat-, Lipid- und Aminosäurestoffwechsel, Energiegewinnung1
Tagesbedarf: 1,0-1,3 mg/Tag ab dem 19. Lebensjahr2,3,4
Überdosierung: keine Maximalzufuhr1,3,5
Mangelsymptome: u.a. neurologische und kardiovaskuläre Störungen, Müdigkeit, Gedächtnisschwäche, Appetitlosigkeit
Lebensmittel: Sonnenblumenkerne, Vollkornprodukte, Hülsenfrüchte, Nüsse
Nahrungsergänzung: meist als Vitamin-B-Komplex

Die Thiamin-Aufnahme

Thiamin, beziehungsweise Vitamin B1, ist ein wasserlösliches Vitamin. Es sollte möglichst regelmäßig aufgenommen werden, da es nur begrenzt speicherbar ist. B1 ist außerdem hitze- und oxidationsempfindlich.

Die Bioverfügbarkeit von Thiamin liegt bei 100 Prozent, wenn es in üblichen Dosen über die Ernährung zugeführt wird. Die Absorptionsrate ist abhängig vom B1-Status, weil die Absorption bei einem niedrigen Versorgungsstatus steigt und bei einem hohen Status sinkt.6

Zubereitungstipps: Beim Kochen B1-haltiger Lebensmittel kannst du das Kochwasser weiterverwenden und so das ins Wasser übergegangene Aneurin nutzen, statt es in den Abfluss zu schütten. Aufgrund der Hitzeempfindlichkeit bieten sich eine kurze Garzeit oder der rohe Verzehr an.

Wie viel Vitamin B1 braucht man?

Kichererbsen als Vitamin B1 und Thiamin Quelle

Grundsätzlich sollte die Thiaminzufuhr in Bezug zur Kalorienzufuhr gesetzt werden, da Vitamin B1 sich auf verschiedene Stoffwechselprozesse und die Energiegewinnung auswirkt. Darauf basierend ist eine Empfehlung von 0,45 mg Thiamin pro 1.000 zugeführten Kalorien eine gute Basis. Die European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) gibt mit 0,4 mg Thiamin pro 1.000 Kalorien eine geringfügig niedrigere Empfehlung aus, sodass bei einer Zufuhr von 2.000 Kalorien ein täglicher Bedarf von 0,8 mg Vitamin B1 entsteht.4 Das Office of Dietary Supplements empfiehlt ab einem Alter von 14 Jahren 1,0-1,2 mg Thiamin pro Tag und zwar unabhängig von der Energiezufuhr.3

Abschließend sind hier noch die Empfehlungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung (DGE) zur Aneurin- beziehungsweise Thiaminzufuhr aufgelistet. Dabei findest du auch die Empfehlungen für Kinder und Jugendliche2:

Altermännlichweiblich
1 bis unter 4 Jahre0,60,6
4 bis unter 7 Jahre0,70,7
7 bis unter 10 Jahre0,90,8
10 bis unter 13 Jahre1,00,9
13 bis unter 15 Jahre1,21,0
15 bis unter 19 Jahre1,41,1
19 bis unter 25 Jahre1,31,0
25 bis unter 65 Jahre1,21,0
65 Jahre und älter1,11,0
DGE-Referenzwerte für die tägliche Zufuhr von Thiamin in mg2

Die drei erwähnten Ernährungsgesellschaften empfehlen außerdem eine Erhöhung der Thiaminzufuhr für schwangeren und stillende Frauen. Die empfohlene Zufuhr für Schwangere und Stillende liegt zwischen 1,2 und 1,4 mg pro Tag, sodass das Baby mitversorgt werden kann.2,3,4

Hinweis: Die von Ernährungsgesellschaften ausgegebenen Zufuhrempfehlungen sind meist auf die Vermeidung von Mangelerscheinungen statt auf eine optimale Gesundheit ausgerichtet. Es kann deshalb sinnvoll sein mehr Thiamin zuzuführen. Die Referenzwerte dienen also – wie immer – nur zur groben Orientierung.

Die Funktionen von Thiamin

Vitamin B1 beeinflusst verschiedene Stoffwechselprozesse, vor allem sind Kohlenhydratstoffwechsel und somit die Energiegewinnung von Thiamin abhängig. Thiamin arbeitet eng mit den Vitaminen B3 und B5 zusammen, weil diese gemeinsam zur Energiegewinnung beitragen. Das Vitamin beeinflusst außerdem den Lipid- und Aminosäurestoffwechsel und auch das Nervensystem, indem es an der Reizweiterleitung beteiligt ist.

Die Funktionen von Vitamin B1 kurz und knapp:

  • Kohlenhydratstoffwechsel und Energiegewinnung
  • Einfluss auf den Lipid- und Aminosäurestoffwechsel
  • Reizweiterleitung im Nervensystem

Kann man B1 überdosieren?

Keine der oben erwähnten Ernährungsgesellschaften hat eine maximale Zufuhrgrenze für Thiamin festgelegt. Der Grund dafür ist die niedrige Toxizität des Vitamins und die Tatsache, dass der Körper überschüssiges Thiamin über den Urin ausscheiden kann.1,3,5 Das heißt, dass du dir keine Gedanken über eine toxische Wirkung bei einer Überdosierung des Vitamins machen musst.

Wie zeigt sich ein Thiaminmangel?

2012 wurde Deutschland von der DGE als „kein Vitaminmangelland“ bezeichnet und der Versorgungsstatus der Bevölkerung mit Nährstoffen für gut befunden.7 In der Nationalen Verzehrsstudie II untersuchte man die Ernährung, sowie die Nährstoffversorgung der deutschen Bevölkerung großflächig. Dabei kam heraus, dass 21 Prozent der Männer und 32 Prozent der Frauen die empfohlene Vitamin B1-Zufuhr nicht erreichen.8 Die mangelnde Zufuhr muss zwar nicht in einem Mangel resultieren, gesundheitliche Nachteile sind jedoch möglich.

Ein Mangel an Thiamin zeigt sich unter anderem durch Müdigkeit, Appetitlosigkeit, Konzentrations- sowie Gedächtnisstörungen. Spezifischere Symptome sind kardiovaskuläre und neurologische Störungen, sowie in schweren Fällen die Mangelerkrankung „Beri-Beri“.

Neben den genannten Symptomen soll bei einem Mangel an Vitamin B1 auch das Risiko von Alzheimer-Erkrankungen, sowie Herzinsuffizienzen steigen.3,6

Risikogruppen: Besonders häufig sind Alkoholiker, HIV/AIDS-Kranke, Senioren, Diabetiker, sowie Menschen, die sich bariatrischen Eingriffen unterzogen haben, von einem Mangel betroffen.3 Ebenso können Medikamente wie Diuretika und Chemotherapeutika zu einer Unterversorgung führen.6

Die besten Vitamin B1-Lieferanten

Sonnenblumenkerne sind reich an Vitamin B1

Weil du jetzt schon so viel von potenziellen Mangelerscheinungen gelesen hast, fragst du dich bestimmt, welche Lebensmittel besonders viel von dem wertvollen Vitamin liefern. Eine ausgewogene Ernährung reich an Vollkornprodukten, Hülsenfrüchten, sowie Nüssen und Samen wird in der Regel ausreichende Mengen Vitamin B1 liefern.

Besonders B1-reiche Lebensmittel sind:

  • Weizenkeime (2,01 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Sonnenblumenkerne (1,9 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Pinienkerne (1,3 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Paranüsse (1,0 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Erdnüsse (0,9 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Pekannüsse (0,86 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Sesam (0,8 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Kichererbsen (0,5 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Dinkelvollkornmehl (0,5 mg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Naturreis (0,41 mg pro 100 Gramm)

Tipp: Da das wertvolle Thiamin in Getreideprodukten, wie Reis, Mehl oder Nudeln hauptsächlich in den äußeren Randschichten vorkommt, solltest du möglichst viele Vollkornprodukte verwenden. Denn Auszugsmehle, polierter Reis oder herkömmliche Nudeln enthalten nur einen Bruchteil des Thiamingehalts.

Vitamin B1 bei pflanzlicher Ernährung

Aufgrund der vielen pflanzlichen Quellen gilt Vitamin B1 laut DGE bei veganer Ernährung nicht als potenziell kritischer Nährstoff.9 Wenn du dich pflanzlich ernähren und vegan leben möchtest, stellt Vitamin B1 also keine große Hürde dar.

Viele Mischköstler decken jedoch einen wesentlichen Teil ihres Thiaminbedarfs durch Fleisch.8 Deshalb sollte bei einem Umstieg auf eine pflanzliche oder vegetarische Ernährung stets darauf geachtet werden, ausreichend Vollkornprodukte zu verzehren. Im Optimalfall ergänzt du diese mit Hülsenfrüchten, sowie Nüssen und Samen.

Sollte man Vitamin B1 supplementieren?

Die Notwendigkeit einer Nahrungsergänzung mit Thiamin hängt stets von mehreren Faktoren ab: Zuerst solltest du deine aktuelle Nährstoffversorgung prüfen. Dazu hilft es einerseits die eigene Ernährung anzuschauen und abzugleichen, ob ausreichend gute B1-Quellen integriert sind. Andererseits hilft ein Bluttest dabei, Gewissheit zu schaffen. Die Thiaminversorgung kannst du am besten über das Vollblut messen, da hier der Großteil des aktiven B1 vorkommt.10

Doch wer sollte Thiamin supplementieren? Eine Nahrungsergänzung bietet sich vor allem für die oben erwähnten Risikogruppen, wie beispielsweise Senioren, Diabetiker und Alkoholiker an. Neben den Risikogruppen sollten vor allem Menschen, die wenig Vollkornprodukte, Hülsenfrüchte, Nüsse und Samen verzehren über eine Supplementierung nachdenken, da sie dadurch schnell zu den 21 Prozent der Männer und 32 Prozent der Frauen gehören können, die zu wenig Thiamin zuführen.8

Isolierte Thiaminpräparate sind eine Möglichkeit die Zufuhr mit dem wertvollen Vitamin sicherzustellen. Alternativ werden jedoch oft auch Vitamin-B-Komplexe verwendet, um einem Mangel vorzubeugen. Da die Vitamine B1, B3 und B5 insbesondere bei der Energiegewinnung eng zusammenarbeiten, ist eine kombinierte Supplementierung durchaus sinnvoll.

Einen guten, veganen Vitamin-B-Komplex in Kapseln bekommst du hier*.

Tipp: Für noch mehr Infos bezüglich Supplements für Veganer, kannst du in meinen Beitrag Nahrungsergänzung bei veganer Ernährung vorbeischauen.

Thiamin FAQ: Die häufigsten Fragen

Was bewirkt Thiamin?

Thiamin hilft dem Körper bei der Energiegewinnung, dem Stoffwechsel von Kohlenhydraten, Lipiden und Aminosäuren und der Reizweiterleitung im Nervensystem.

In welchen Lebensmitteln ist Thiamin?

Grundsätzlich sind Vollkornprodukte, Hülsenfrüchte, Nüsse und Samen reich an Vitamin B1. Besonders viel Thiamin ist in den folgenden Lebensmitteln enthalten:

  • Weizenkeime
  • Sonnenblumenkerne
  • Erdnüsse
  • Kichererbsen
  • Dinkelvollkornmehl
  • Naturreis
Kann Vitamin B1 schaden?

Der Körper scheidet überschüssiges Vitamin B1 über den Urin aus. Deshalb hat das Vitamin keine toxische Wirkung.

Wie äußert sich ein B1-Mangel?

Mangelerscheinungen sind Müdigkeit, Appetitlosigkeit, Konzentrations- und Gedächtnisstörungen. Spezifischere Symptome sind kardiovaskuläre und neurologische Störungen und in schweren Fällen die Erkrankung „Beri-Beri“.

Ist Thiamin ein wasserlösliches oder fettlösliches Vitamin?

Thiamin, auch Vitamin B1 genannt, gehört zum B-Vitamin-Komplex und ist somit ein wasserlösliches Vitamin.

Mit Vollkornprodukten zur wünschenswerten Thiamin-Versorgung!

Die meisten Menschen stellen eine gute Versorgung mit Vitamin B1 durch eine ausgewogene Ernährung sicher, weil sie ausreichend Thiamin aus Vollkornprodukten, Hülsenfrüchten, sowie Nüssen und Samen essen. Außerdem solltest du durch die Wasserlöslichkeit bei der Zubereitung das Kochwasser immer weiterverwenden. Weiterhin gilt: Je kürzer die Garzeit, desto mehr Thiamin bleibt in den Lebensmitteln enthalten.

Da ich ein großer Fan von einem ganzheitlichen Gesundheitsansatz bin, empfehle ich dir neben einer ausgewogenen, pflanzlichen Ernährung weitere Gesundheitsmaßnahmen wie kaltes Duschen, Bewegung an der frischen Luft oder Meditation auszuprobieren. Probiere die Maßnahmen über einen längeren Zeitraum aus und spüre dabei selbst, wie deine Energie im Alltag steigt.

Über Fragen, Anregungen und Kritik zu dem Beitrag zu Vitamin B1 freue ich mich. Schreibe mir dazu gerne einen Kommentar.

Alles Gute,

Julian von CareElite

P.S.: Falls du jetzt noch mehr über Nährstoffe wissen möchtest, bist du in unserer Nährstoff-Datenbank gut aufgehoben. Falls du mehr über B-Vitamine lesen möchtest, sind die Artikel zu Vitamin B2 oder Vitamin B12 ein guter Start. Viel Spaß!

Quellenangaben:

1 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Ausgewählte Fragen und Antworten zu Thiamin. https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/faqs/thiamin/#metab. [23.08.2021]

2 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Thiamin, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/thiamin/?L=0. [23.08.2021]

3 National Institutes of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements: Thiamin. Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/thiamin-healthprofessional/. [23.08.2021]

4 European Food Safety Authority: Scientific Opinion on Dietary reference values for thiamin, https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2016.4653. [23.08.2021]

5 European Food Safety Authority: Tolerable Upper Intake Levels for Vitamins and Minerals, https://www.efsa.europa.eu/sites/default/files/efsa_rep/blobserver_assets/ndatolerableuil.pdf. [23.08.2021]

6 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitamin B1 ist das Nervenvitamin, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/weitere-vitamine/vitamin-b1. [23.08.2021]

7 A. Bechthold, V. Albrecht, E. Leschik-Bonnet, H. Heseker (2012): DGE-Stellungnahme: Beurteilung der Vitaminversorgung in Deutschland. In: Ernährungsumschau 59 (2012), S. 324-336. Online: https://t1p.de/5c5r. [23.08.21]

8 Max Rubner-Institut. J. Möhring, H. F. Erbersdobler (2008). Nationale Verzehrs Studie II – Ergebnisbericht Teil 2. In: Lebensmittel-Warenkunde Für Einsteiger, (Springer), pp. 121–146. Online: https://www.mri.bund.de/de/institute/ernaehrungsverhalten/forschungsprojekte/nvsii/erg-verzehr-naehrstoffe. [23.08.2021]

9 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Ergänzung der Position der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung hinsichtlich Bevölkerungsgruppen mit besonderen Bedarf an die Nährstoffversorgung, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/dge-position/vegane-ernaehrung/?L=0. [23.08.2021]

10 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitaminmangel feststellen: die Diagnose, https://t1p.de/8drh. [23.08.2021]

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Julian Hölzer

Hi, mein Name ist Julian und ich bin ausgebildeter veganer Ernährungsberater. 2016 habe ich angefangen mich mit Veganismus zu beschäftigen und habe schnell gelernt, wie groß der Einfluss unserer Ernährung auf die Umwelt ist und wie vielfältig pflanzliche Ernährung sein kann. Deshalb möchte ich auch dich inspirieren, dich mit Veganismus zu befassen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.