Skip to content
What is littering?

Littering - When people leave their trash in the environment

What is littering? If you're asking yourself this question right now, you've come to the right place! Who is familiar with the Plastic waste in the environment inevitably hears about the term "littering. Translated from English, it means nothing other than littering. However, littering does not mean the littering by mankind per se, but rather the action of an individual to simply leave his own garbage in public places or to throw it away carelessly.

In this article I want to give you everything you need to know about littering. From the definition, to statistics, locations, psychological reasons, typical items and the consequences for people, animals and nature. I'll also show you what you can easily do about littering. Let's go!

Here's another quick table of contents for you:

  1. Definition
  2. Locations
  3. Reasons
  4. Items
  5. Follow
  6. What to do?
  7. Closing words

What is littering?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Littering is the increasingly common habit of people to litter their homes. Carelessly throwing away or leaving litter in public areasinstead of disposing of it in the waste garbage cans provided for this purpose or, if necessary, taking it with you.

The embedded video already describes the problem pretty well. However, it is important to add that littering is NOT the illegal disposal of household or industrial waste in order to avoid having to pay disposal costs. Rather, littering refers to the careless actions or inactions of people in dealing with trash when they are in public spaces.

Facts and figures: According to the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, German cities and municipalities pay around 700 million euros each year to clear parks and streets of discarded waste. The disposal of cigarette butts alone costs around 225 million euros. Costs borne by the taxpayer.₁

Where does littering occur most frequently?

Even though people generally "dispose" of their trash everywhere, there are some places where littering is particularly common. I have compiled a list of these for you here:

  • Beaches, parks, riverbanks and lakes (e.g. after picnics)
  • Highways (e.g. at rest stops or behind the guard rail)
  • Railroad tracks and road ditches (e.g. after the careless throw out of the window).
  • Parking spaces (e.g. after the quick "de-trashing" of your own car).
  • Pedestrian zone (e.g. next to overfilled trash cans)
  • Major events (e.g. at festivals, where others also throw away their trash).
  • Generally in dirty places (where others make garbage, nobody seems to mind...)

Why do people just leave their trash lying around?

Littering types
Three typical types of "litterers" - Where do you order in? © IG Clean Environment₂

There are basically hundreds of motives for people carelessly throwing their trash into the environment. On the graphic of the IG clean environment you have already met some of them in combination with the typical "littering types" in our society. Here I would like to give you some more psychological reasons for littering:

  • Thoughtlessness
  • Ignorance
  • Stress
  • Hatred for the system
  • Low social control
  • Ignorance
  • Anonymity

Ultimately, however, littering is also a consequence of our present-day Disposable society, the high use of disposable products, increasing convenience and the lack of awareness of the importance of an intact nature.

What items contribute most to littering the environment?

In my own cleanups, I've found pretty quickly that people throw away basically EVERYTHING. Especially the things to which they attach no value. However, here I would like to list you some items that are particularly often "littered":

  • Cigarette butt
  • ToGo packaging
  • Plastic packaging
  • Beverage containers
  • Individual parts of packaging (e.g. lids, straws or broken glass)
  • Dog waste bags
  • Napkins
  • Chewing gums
  • Magazines & Flyers

What are the consequences of littering?

Littering has consequences for the environment

Maybe you too can remember throwing one or the other of these things into the environment. Don't worry, it can happen. But if you now learn about the consequences of littering, you will definitely avoid it in the future.

Here I present you now the damage that the littering from aesthetic, health, ecological, economic point of view causes:

  • Stench
  • Vermin
  • Soil poisoning
  • Risk of injury for children
  • Injured or killed animals
  • Expensive disposal services
  • Loss of reusable raw materials
  • Decreased habitat quality
  • Emergence of illegal dumps
  • Tourism slump due to littered destinations

It is unbelievably fatal to believe that "the one straw in the environment will already do no harm". Because if 7 billion other people also thought this way, our planet would be transformed within a very short time into a place that we and also future generations would only reluctantly want to inhabit. Fortunately, there are now also Fines for environmental offenders. A little extra motivation for those who are not yet fully aware of the consequences of littering!

Tip: Littering is one of the Environmental sins of everyday life. Which still belong, you will learn in the linked post!

What can each of us do about littering?

Sign with the inscription "Please don't litter".

First, it is important to be aware of the benefits that come with being more environmentally friendly. Cleaner landscapes, healthier soils and food, less animal suffering, less risk of injury to children, better tourism opportunities.... the list is basically endless. But in order to make our environment cleaner, we really have to sweep our own front door in the truest sense of the word: starting with the correct waste separation - ending with the conscious handling of waste generated along the way.

Live by Zero Waste

Littering can be avoided above all if the trash is not created in the first place. To do this, simply heed the Basic rules of the Zero Waste lifestyle, which include, for example, the Reuse, the Repair or the Borrow of commodities counts. Start best simply with my detailed contribution for Zero Waste Beginner. Even everyday helpers like a Pocket ashtray help you stop littering from cigarettes, for example.

Related articles:

Doing CleanUps and Plogging

You know places that are particularly littered? Then simply organize your own CleanUp and inspire others, yourself to support you in your cleanup. The feeling when the place is clean after the action is just great. Also on vacation you can pick up trash and, for example, prove on a beach that you are a mindful tourist. Feel free to use my Online community for CleanUps around the world.

A new trend sport in the fight against littering is the so-called Plogging. Thereby you jog and collect garbage from the environment as you pass by. This is a great way to combine environmental protection and physical exercise.

Read and share books

Education is an extremely important factor in the fight against the bad habit of leaving trash carelessly in nature. Therefore inform yourself in Books, magazines, blogs and other literature sources. I myself have written a book called "Plastic-free for beginners" with which you can take an important step towards a more waste- and plastic-free life. You can secure it here now*.

Attach signs and get creative

Do you know places in your immediate vicinity where litter is often left behind? Then put up a sign that encourages people to throw fewer cigarettes and disposable packaging carelessly in nature. A nice idea against Cigarette butts in the environment is, for example, a glass wall with two slits through which smokers can pass their Throw in butt butts to vote for something specific for example, as an answer to the question "Messi or Ronaldo? Just get a little creative!

Support targeted measures

Of course, you can do more than just live more consciously. For example, how about making a Online petition start or support against a societal grievance? Here are some types of actions that can help against littering:

Tip: You can get even more information around littering in the detailed report from the Federal Environmental Agency called "Status quo, potentials for action, instruments and measures to reduce littering„.

Littering - A social problem as a consequence of the litter society

Littering is a social and subsequently also an unmistakable ecological problem with an announcement! And we can only fight it if we work on ourselves and raise environmental awareness in our society. In any case, the motivation for this should be great enough for aesthetic, health, ecological, economic and also ethical reasons!

I hope that I could give you the necessary inspiration for this with this post. Do you have any questions or suggestions about littering? Or can you think of other items, consequences or tips? Then feel free to write me a comment!

Stay clean,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS.: Have a look at the Zero Waste Blog around! There I also present you, for example, the most rousing Documentaries about plastic waste before. Have fun!

References:
₁ German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety: Disposable plastic and cigarette butts in the environment cost municipalities 700 million euros annually (as of 20.08.2020), available at https://t1p.de/vbcq. [29.03.2021].

₂ IGSU, IG saubere Umwelt: Ursachen von Littering, available at https://t1p.de/5xbt. [29.03.2021].

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate links. If you click on it and buy something, you automatically and actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue - and of course the product price does not change. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Was ist Littering?

Littering – Wenn Menschen ihren müll in der Umwelt hinterlassen

Was ist Littering? Wenn du dir gerade diese Frage stellst, bist du hier genau richtig! Wer sich mit dem Plastikmüll in der Umwelt beschäftigt, hört unweigerlich auch von dem Begriff des Litterings. Aus dem Englischen übersetzt, bedeutet er nichts anderes als Vermüllung. Jedoch meint das Littering nicht die Vermüllung durch die Menschheit an sich, sondern vielmehr die Handlung eines Einzelnen, den eigenen Müll einfach an öffentlichen Orten liegen zu lassen oder achtlos wegzuwerfen.

In diesem Artikel möchten ich dir alles Wissenswerte über das Littering an die Hand geben. Von der Definition, über Statistiken, Standorte, psychologische Gründe, typische Gegenstände und die Folgen für Mensch, Tier und Natur. Außerdem zeige ich dir, was du ganz einfach gegen die Vermüllung tun kannst. Auf geht's!

Hier ist noch ein kurzes Inhaltsverzeichnis für dich:

  1. Definition
  2. Standorte
  3. Gründe
  4. Gegenstände
  5. Folgen
  6. Was tun?
  7. Schlusswort

Was ist Littering?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptierst du die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Unter Littering (deutsch: Vermüllung) versteht man die immer öfter zu beobachtende Unsitte von Menschen, ihre Abfälle im öffentlichen Raum achtlos wegzuwerfen oder liegenzulassen, anstatt ihn in den exakt dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimern zu entsorgen oder ihn gegebenenfalls mitzunehmen.

Das eingebettete Video beschreibt die Problematik schon ziemlich gut. Es ist allerdings noch wichtig zu ergänzen, dass man unter Littering NICHT die illegale Entsorgung von Haushalts- oder Industrieabfällen versteht, um keine Entsorgungskosten zahlen zu müssen. Das Littering bezieht sich vielmehr auf das achtlose Handeln bzw. Nicht-Handeln von Menschen im Umgang mit Müll, wenn sie sich im öffentlichen Raum bewegen.

Zahlen und Fakten: Laut des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit zahlen deutsche Städte und Gemeinden jedes Jahr rund 700 Millionen Euro, um Parks und Straßen von weggeworfenen Abfällen zu befreien. Allein für die Entsorgung von Zigarettenkippen fallen rund 225 Millionen Euro an. Kosten, die der Steuerzahlers trägt.₁

Wo kommt es besonders häufig zu Littering?

Auch wenn Menschenihren Müll grundsätzlich überall „entsorgen“, gibt es einige Orte, an denen besonders häufig Littering betrieben wird. Diese habe ich dir hier übersichtlich zusammengestellt:

  • Strände, Parks, Flussufer und Seen (z.B. nach Picknicks)
  • Autobahnen (z.B. an Raststätten oder hinter der Leitplanke)
  • Bahngleise und Straßengräben (z.B. nach dem achtlosen Wurf aus dem Fenster)
  • Parkplätze (z.B. nach der schnellen „Entmüllung“ des eigenen Autos)
  • Fußgängerzone (z.B. neben überfüllten Mülleimern)
  • Großevents (z.B. auf Festivals, wo auch andere ihren Müll wegwerfen)
  • Generell an schmutzigen Orten (wo andere Müll machen, scheint es niemanden zu stören…)

Warum lassen Menschen ihren Müll einfach liegen?

Littering Typen
Drei typische Arten von „Litterern“ – Wo ordert du dich ein? © IG saubere Umwelt₂

Es gibt im Grunde hunderte Motive dafür, dass Menschen ihren Müll achtlos in die Umwelt werfen. Auf der Grafik der IG saubere Umwelt hast du schon einige von Ihnen in Kombination mit den typischen „Littering-Typen“ in unserer Gesellschaft kennengelernt. Hier möchte ich dir noch einige weitere psychologische Gründe für das Littering an die Hand geben:

  • Gedankenlosigkeit
  • Ignoranz
  • Stress
  • Hass auf das System
  • Geringe soziale Kontrolle
  • Unwissenheit
  • Anonymität

Schlussendlich ist die Vermüllung aber auch eine Folge unserer heutigen Wegwerfgesellschaft, dem hohen Einsatz von Einwegprodukten, zunehmender Bequemlichkeit und dem fehlenden Bewusstsein für die Wichtigkeit einer intakten Natur.

Welche Gegenstände tragen besonders zur Vermüllung der Umwelt bei?

Bei meinen eigenen Aufräumaktionen habe ich ziemlich schnell festgestellt, dass die Menschen grundsätzlich ALLES wegwerfen. Vor allem die Dinge, denen sie keinen Wert zumessen. Hier möchte ich dir jedoch einige Gegenstände auflisten, die besonders häufig „gelittert“ werden:

  • Zigarettenstummel
  • ToGo-Verpackungen
  • Plastikverpackungen
  • Getränkebehältnisse
  • Einzelteile von Verpackungen (z.B. Deckel, Strohhalme oder Scherben)
  • Hundekotbeutel
  • Servietten
  • Kaugummis
  • Zeitschriften & Flyer

Was sind die Folgen des Litterings?

Littering hat Folgen für die Umwelt

Vielleicht kannst auch du dich daran, erinnern, mal das ein oder andere der genannten Dinge in die Umwelt geworfen zu haben. Mach dir keinen Kopf, das kann passieren. Wenn du nun aber die Folgen der Vermüllung kennenlernst, wirst du das in Zukunft garantiert vermeiden.

Hier stelle ich dir jetzt die Schäden vor, die das Littering aus ästhetischer, gesundheitlicher, ökologischer, ökonomischer Sicht anrichtet:

  • Gestank
  • Ungeziefer
  • Bodenvergiftung
  • Verletzungsgefahr für Kinder
  • Verletzte oder getötete Tiere
  • Teure Entsorgungsleistungen
  • Verlust wiederverwendbarer Rohstoffe
  • Verminderte Lebensraumqualität
  • Entstehung illegaler Müllhalden
  • Tourismus-Einbruch durch vermüllte Reiseziele

Es ist unglaublich fatal zu glauben, dass „der eine Strohhalm in der Umwelt schon keinen Schaden anrichten wird“. Denn wenn 7 Milliarden andere Menschen auch so denken würden, würde sich unser Planet innerhalb kürzester Zeit zu einem Ort verwandeln, den wir und auch zukünftige Generationen nur ungern bewohnen möchten. Glücklicherweise gibt es mittlerweile auch Bußgelder für Umweltsünder. Eine kleine zusätzliche Motivation für alle, die sich der Folgen des Litterings noch nicht ganz bewusst sind!

Tipp: Littering zählt zu den Umweltsünden des Alltags. Welche noch dazugehören, erfährst du im verlinkten Beitrag!

Was kann jeder von uns gegen Littering tun?

Schild mit der Aufschrift "Please don't litter"

Zunächst ist es wichtig, sich die Vorteile bewusst zu machen, die mit einem umweltfreundlicheren Verhalten einhergehen. Saubere Landschaften, gesündere Böden und Lebensmittel, weniger Tierleid, geringere Verletzungsgefahr für Kinder, bessere Tourismus-Chancen… die Liste ist im Grunde unendlich lang. Doch damit unsere Umwelt sauberer wird, müssen wir im wahrsten Sinne wirklich vor der eigenen Haustür kehren: beginnend mit der richtigen Mülltrennung – endend mit dem bewussten Umgang mit Müll, der unterwegs entsteht.

Nach Zero Waste leben

Littering kann vor allem vermieden werden, wenn der Müll gar nicht erst entsteht. Beherzige dafür einfach die Grundregeln des Zero Waste Lebensstils, zu denen beispielsweise das Wiederverwenden, das Reparieren oder das Leihen von Gebrauchsgegenständen zählt. Starte am besten einfach mit meinem ausführlichen Beitrag für Zero Waste Anfänger. Auch alltägliche Helfer wie ein Taschenaschenbecher helfen dir beispielsweise dabei, das Littering durch Zigaretten zu stoppen.

Weiterführende Artikel:

CleanUps machen und Plogging betreiben

Du kennst Stellen, die besonders vermüllt sind? Dann organisiere einfach dein eigenes CleanUp und begeistere andere, dich bei deiner Aufräumaktion zu unterstützen. Das Gefühl, wenn der Ort nach der Aktion sauber ist, ist einfach großartig. Auch im Urlaub kannst du Müll aufsammeln und beispielsweise an einem Strand beweisen, dass du ein achtsamer Tourist bist. Nutze dafür gerne meine Online-Community für CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt.

Eine neue Trendsportart im Kampf gegen das Littering ist das sogenannte Plogging. Dabei joggst du und sammelst im Vorbeigehen Müll aus der Umwelt. So lassen sich Umweltschutz und körperliche Bewegung super miteinander kombinieren.

Bücher lesen und weitergeben

Bildung ist ein extremer wichtiger Faktor im Kampf gegen die Unsitte, Müll einfach achtlos in der Natur zu hinterlassen. Informiere dich deshalb in Büchern, Magazinen, Blogs und weiteren Literaturquellen. Ich habe selbst ein Buch namens „Plastikfrei für Einsteiger“ geschrieben, mit dem du einen wichtigen Schritt in ein müll- und plastikfreieres Leben machen kannst. Hier kannst du es dir jetzt sichern*.

Schilder anbringen und kreativ werden

Du kennst Orte in deiner unmittelbaren Umgebung, an denen oft Müll hinterlassen wird? Dann bringe ein Schild an, dass Menschen dazu bewegt, weniger Zigaretten und Einwegverpackungen achtlos in der Natur zu werfen. Eine schöne Idee gegen Zigarettenstummel in der Umwelt ist zum Beispiel eine Glaswand mit zwei Schlitzen, durch die Raucher ihre Kippenstummel einwerfen und damit für etwas Bestimmtes abstimmen können: zum Beispiel als Antwort auf die Frage „Messi oder Ronaldo?“. Werde einfach ein bisschen kreativ!

zielführender Massnahmen unterstützen

Selbstverständlich kannst du noch mehr tun, als einfach nur bewusster zu leben. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel, wenn du eine Online-Petition gegen einen gesellschaftlichen Missstand startest oder unterstützt? Hier sind einige Typen von Maßnahmen, die gegen das Littering helfen können:

Tipp: Noch mehr Informationen rund um das Littering bekommst du im ausführlichen Bericht des Umweltbundesamtes namens „Status Quo, Handlungspotentiale, Instrumente und Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung des Litterings„.

Littering – Ein Gesellschaftliches Problem als Folge der Wegwefgesellschaft

Littering ist ein gesellschaftliches und in der Folge auch ein unverkennbar ökologisches Problem mit Ansage! Und wir können es nur bekämpfen, wenn wir an uns selbst arbeiten und das Umweltbewusstsein in unserer Gesellschaft schärfen. Die Motivation dafür sollte aus ästhetischen, gesundheitlichen, ökologischen, ökonomischen und auch ethischen Gründen jedenfalls groß genug sein!

Ich hoffe, dass ich dir mit diesem Beitrag die notwendige Inspiration dafür mit auf den Weg geben konnte. Hast du Fragen oder Anregungen zum Littering? Oder fallen dir weitere Gegenstände, Folgen oder Tipps ein? Dann schreibe mir gerne einen Kommentar!

Bleib‘ sauber,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Schau dich ruhig noch etwas im Zero Waste Blog um! Dort stelle ich dir zum Beispiel auch die mitreißendsten Dokumentationen über Plastikmüll vor. Viel Spaß!

Quellenangaben:
₁ Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit: Einwegplastik und Zigarettenkippen in der Umwelt kosten Kommunen jährlich 700 Millionen Euro (Stand: 20.08.2020), abrufbar unter https://t1p.de/vbcq. [29.03.2021].

₂ IGSU, IG saubere Umwelt: Ursachen von Littering, abrufbar unter https://t1p.de/5xbt. [29.03.2021].

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

Ich bin Christoph, Umweltwissenschaftler und Autor - und setze mich hier bei CareElite gegen den Plastikmüll in der Umwelt, den Klimawandel und alle anderen großen Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit ein. Gemeinsam mit weiteren, umweltbewussten Bloggern will ich dir Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes, nachhaltiges Leben sowie deine persönliche Weiterentwicklung an die Hand geben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.