Skip to content
Veganuary - How to start the new year vegan

Veganuary 2023 – How to Master the Vegan Challenge in January!

What actually is the Veganuary? If you want to know and learn more about it, you've come to the right place. For some time now, I have been eating a vegan diet. For the planet, for the animals, and for people - including myself and my own health. But I've also noticed how hard it can be to break out of habits that have lasted for years or decades. So the turn of the year and New Year's resolutions represent a great opportunity to make a difference in your own life.

In this article, I would like to tell you more about the Veganuary campaign. From its definition, to its purpose, to valuable tips and tricks for a good start. Let's go!

  1. Definition
  2. Targets
  3. Tips
  4. Registration
  5. Closing words

Notice: If January has begun or has long since passed when you read this text, that's no problem. You can also make it a Vebruary or a Veptember and basically try the vegan diet for a month at any time 😉.

What is Veganuary actually?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Veganuary refers to a campaign run by the organization of the same name that Would like to encourage people around the world to eat vegan in the first month of the new year. According to the Company website has Veganuary since 2014 has already helped more than one million people in 192 countries try an all-plant-based diet in January.

Supporters of the campaign also include countless celebritiessuch as Mayim Bialik (from The Big Bang Theory), Hollywood star Joaquin Phoenix and singer Paul McCartney. German celebrities such as Ralf Möller, Ariane Sommer and Kaya Yanar are also calling for support for the future-oriented campaign.

Motivation: What is the purpose of Veganuary?

Why Veganuary? Cows

What's the point of the Veganuary, why should you even take the Vegan Challenge? The Factory farming, or the consumption of animal foods, is partly responsible for a large number of the biggest environmental problems of our time. These range from climate change, to deforestation of rainforests, to groundwater pollution.

Social problems, such as world hunger or the formation of antibiotic resistance, can also be traced back to factory farming. But most people also use Veganuary to stop their consumption of animal foods for ethical reasons - that is, to protect innocent, sentient animals.

"Animals are my friends and I don't eat my friends."

George Bernard Shaw (more at Veganism Quotes)

The campaign to kick off the year offers a great opportunity to be seen as a sustainable new year resolution existing Prejudices against the vegan diet to take off. It's basically a trial month, after which you can judge for yourself whether you feel fitter, healthier, more alert, more rested and more awake than before.

Here again the most important advantages at a glance:

  • Live healthier
  • End animal exploitation
  • Stop factory farming
  • Save rainforests
  • Protect climate
  • Fighting world hunger
  • Mastering a new challenge

Tip: Under "Why live vegan?"I have you again listed all the important reasons why the Veganuary or the vegan life can be a real gamechanger for you.

Where can you register for the Veganuary?

You can basically just plan the month freely for yourself. My absolute recommendation is that you sign up for the great online course "Going Vegan Made Easy*.

There you benefit from valuable recipes and countless tips around the vegan diet - a steep learning curve is guaranteed. The alternative is the direct registration with the organizers from Veganuary.

Tip: If you are strong-willed, willing to learn and independent, you can of course make the month vegan manually. But if you are easily distracted and prefer to get tips and tricks from experienced vegans, then I advise you to register. The success and perseverance rate is significantly higher. 🙂

5 tips for a successful start to the Veganuary

Vegan burger in paper

Now you know what the Veganuary is, why it exists, and that with an accompanying Start online course in vegan cuisine* should.

Then you're ready to go. Here are some tips for you to make it even easier to master your vegan month with flying colors, too:

1. provide sufficient motivation

For example, check out the free Documentation Dominion on YouTube. After that, I personally went vegan immediately. Just realize the many benefits of being vegan.

2. make a weekly meal plan for yourself

Every change is hard. Just let yourself be inspired by vegan recipes on the Internet. What would you like? Vegan lasagna with plant-based mince or pizza with spinach and sun-dried tomatoes? If your meals are set, shopping will also be easier. You're guaranteed to get off to a good start with this vegan scrambled eggs recipe!

Tip: At "What do vegans:inside eat and what not?"you can find out exactly what you need to watch out for. Don't worry, it's not that complicated 🙂 .

3. learn about vegan alternatives

A few classics for you - for example, replace butter with vegetable margarine, dairy yogurt with soy yogurt, cow's milk with oat or almond milk, and cheese? You can also find plant-based cheese in any well-stocked supermarket.

4. use apps like HappyCow and Vanilla Bean

Many restaurants offer a large selection or even only vegan dishes. With the two apps, you can find the corresponding restaurants directly - without a long search. In a separate article, however, you will also learn once again how you can basically eat vegan in any restaurant can.

5. exchange with others

It's best to do the Veganuary with a friend. It's twice as much fun and increases the likelihood of success. Also feel free to swap in our great Facebook community with others if you have questions.

You can find even more tips at Start into vegan life and in the Vegan Blog.

By the way: If you look in your refrigerator or pantry, you'll quickly find that many of the foods are already vegan. Kidney beans, pasta, rice, chickpeas, tomato paste and so on. It's not like you're starting from scratch 🙂 .

Veganuary: A great opportunity for positive change in your life

I hope that I could also inspire you to take a vegan month and try out the animal-friendly, eco-friendly and, with a balanced diet, healthy lifestyle for yourself. Please don't be too hard on yourself - no one has to do everything perfectly. If you start Veganuary with this attitude, you will master it! In any case, you make the beginning with the participation in this, vegan online course.*. I wish you much success!

Do you have any questions or suggestions about this article or the vegan trial month? Then feel free to write me a comment.

Stay sustainable,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS: I am sure that the Veganuary will enrich your life. Need a little more motivation? Then check out this, extremely effective, vegan commercials an.

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate links. If you click on it and buy something, you automatically and actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue - and of course the product price does not change. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

2 thoughts on “Veganuary 2023 – So klappt deine Vegan-Challenge im Januar!”

  1. Hi Christoph, I am just so happy to have found your blog. I have also been vegan for over 4 years and I love it. What I find even more awesome is that you care about our environment. Thank you thank you thank you for existing, please keep up the good work and get your message out there. <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zum Inhalt springen
Veganuary - So startest du vegan ins neue Jahr

Veganuary 2023 – So klappt deine Vegan-Challenge im Januar!

Was ist eigentlich der Veganuary? Wenn du mehr darüber wissen und lernen willst, bist du hier an der richtigen Adresse. Seit einiger Zeit ernähre ich mich vegan. Für den Planeten, für die Tiere und für Menschen – einschließlich mich und meiner eigenen Gesundheit. Aber ich habe auch gemerkt, wie schwer es sein kann, aus jahre- oder jahrzehntelangen Gewohnheiten auszubrechen. Der Jahreswechsel und die Neujahrsvorsätze stellen deshalb eine großartige Chance dar, etwas im eigenen Leben zu verändern.

In diesem Artikel möchte ich dir deshalb mehr über die Veganuary Kampagne erzählen. Von ihrer Definition, über ihren Sinn und Zweck, bis hin zu wertvollen Tipps und Tricks für einen guten Start. Auf geht's!

  1. Definition
  2. Ziele
  3. Tipps
  4. Anmeldung
  5. Schlusswort

Hinweis: Sollte der Januar angebrochen oder längst vorüber sein, wenn du diesen Text liest, ist das kein Problem. Du kannst auch einen Vebruary oder einen Veptember daraus machen und grundsätzlich jeder Zeit für einen Monat die vegane Ernährung ausprobieren. 😉

Was ist Veganuary eigentlich?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptierst du die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Unter Veganuary versteht man eine Kampagne der gleichnamigen Organisation, die Menschen auf der ganzen Welt dazu ermutigen möchte, sich im ersten Monat des neuen Jahres vegan zu ernähren. Laut der Unternehmenswebseite hat Veganuary seit 2014 bereits über eine Million Menschen in 192 Ländern dabei unterstützt, im Januar eine rein pflanzliche Ernährung auszuprobieren.

Zu den Unterstützern der Kampagne gehören auch unzählige Promis, wie zum Beispiel Mayim Bialik (aus The Big Bang Theory), Hollywood-Star Joaquín Phoenix oder Sänger Paul McCartney. Auch deutsche Promis wie Ralf Möller, Ariane Sommer oder Kaya Yanar rufen zur Unterstützung der zukunftsorientierten Aktion auf.

Motivation: Was ist der Sinn und Zweck von Veganuary?

Warum Veganuary? Kühe

Was bringt der Veganuary, warum solltest du die Vegan-Challenge überhaupt annehmen? Die Massentierhaltung, beziehungsweise der Konsum tierischer Lebensmittel, ist mitverantwortlich für eine Vielzahl der größten Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit. Diese reichen vom Klimawandel, über die die Abholzung der Regenwälder, bis hin zur Grundwasserverschmutzung.

Auch gesellschaftliche Probleme, wie den Welthunger oder die Bildung von Antibiotikaresistenzen, sind auf die Massentierhaltung zurückzuführen. Die meisten Menschen nutzen den Veganuary aber auch, um ihren Konsum tierischer Lebensmittel aus ethischen Gründen – also zum Schutz unschuldiger, fühlender Tiere – zu stoppen.

„Tiere sind meine Freunde und ich esse meine Freunde nicht.“

George Bernard Shaw (mehr unter Veganismus Zitate)

Die Kampagne zum Jahresstart bietet eine großartige Chance, als nachhaltiger Neujahrsvorsatz bestehende Vorurteile gegenüber der veganen Ernährung abzulegen. Es ist im Grunde ein Probemonat, nach dem man selbst beurteilen kann, ob man sich fitter, gesünder, aufmerksamer, ausgeschlafener und wacher fühlt, als zuvor.

Hier noch einmal die wichtigsten Vorteile im Überblick:

  • Gesünder leben
  • Tierausbeutung beenden
  • Massentierhaltung stoppen
  • Regenwälder retten
  • Klima schützen
  • Welthunger bekämpfen
  • Neue Herausforderung meistern

Tipp: Unter „Warum vegan leben?“ habe ich dir noch einmal alle wichtigen Gründe dafür aufgelistet, warum der Veganuary bzw. das vegane Leben ein echter Gamechanger für dich sein kann.

Wo kann man sich für den Veganuary anmelden?

Du kannst den Monat grundsätzlich einfach frei für dich selbst planen. Meine absolute Empfehlung ist, dass du dich zum großartigen Online-Kurs „Vegan werden leicht gemacht“ anmeldest*.

Dort profitierst du von wertvollen Rezepten und unzähligen Tipps rund um die vegane Ernährungsweise – eine steile Lernkurve ist garantiert. Die Alternative ist die direkte Registrierung bei den Organisator:innen von Veganuary.

Tipp: Wenn du willensstark, lernwillig und selbstständig bist, kannst du den Monat natürlich auch manuell vegan gestalten. Wenn du dich aber leicht ablenken lässt und dir lieber von erfahrenen Veganer:innen Tipps und Tricks abholen willst, dann rate ich dir zur Anmeldung. Da ist die Erfolgs- und Durchhaltequote deutlich höher. 🙂

5 Tipps für einen erfolgreichen Start in den Veganuary

Veganer Burger in Papier

Jetzt weißt du, was der Veganuary ist, warum es ihn gibt und dass du mit einem begleitenden Online-Kurs in die vegane Küche starten* solltest.

Dann kann es jetzt losgehen. Hier sind einige Tipps für dich, um es dir noch leichter zu machen, deinen veganen Monat auch mit Bravour zu meistern:

1. Sorge für ausreichend Motivation

Schaue beispielsweise die kostenlose Dokumentation Dominion auf YouTube. Danach war ich persönlich sofort vegan. Mache dir einfach die vielen Vorteile davon bewusst, vegan zu sein.

2. Mache dir einen wöchentlichen Essensplan

Jede Umstellung ist schwer. Lasse dich einfach im Internet von veganen Rezepten inspirieren. Was darf's sein? Vegane Lasagne mit Pflanzenhack oder Pizza mit Spinat und sonnengetrockneten Tomaten? Stehen deine Mahlzeiten fest, wird dir auch der Einkauf leichter fallen. Einen guten Start bekommst du garantiert mit diesem veganen Rührei-Rezept!

Tipp: Unter „Was essen Veganer:innen und was nicht?“ erfährst du ganz genau, worauf du achten musst. Keine Sorge, so kompliziert ist das nicht! 🙂

3. Lerne vegane Alternativen kennen

Ein paar Klassiker für dich – Butter ersetzt du beispielsweise durch Pflanzenmargarine, Milchjogurt durch Sojajogurt, Kuhmilch durch Hafer- oder Mandelmilch und Käse? Den gibt es auch auf Pflanzenbasis in jedem gut ausgestatteten Supermarkt.

4. Nutze Apps wie HappyCow und Vanilla Bean

Viele Restaurants bieten eine große Auswahl oder sogar nur ausschließlich vegane Gerichte an. Mit den beiden Apps findest du die entsprechenden Restaurants direkt – ohne lange Suche. In einem separaten Beitrag lernst du aber auch noch einmal, wie du grundsätzlich in jedem Restaurant vegan essen kannst.

5. Tausche dich mit anderen aus

Am besten ist es, wenn du den Veganuary mit einem Freund oder einer Freundin durchziehst. Das macht gleich doppelt so viel Spaß und erhöht die Erfolgswahrscheinlichkeit. Tausche dich auch gern in unserer großartigen Facebook-Community mit anderen aus, wenn du Fragen hast.

Noch mehr Tipps findest du unter Start ins vegane Leben und im Vegan Blog.

Übrigens: Wenn du in deinen Kühl- oder Vorratsschrank schaust, wirst du schnell feststellen, dass viele der Lebensmittel bereits vegan sind. Kidneybohnen, Nudeln, Reis, Kichererbsen, Tomatenmark und so weiter. Es ist ja nicht so, dass du bei Null anfängst. 🙂

Veganuary: Eine große Chance für eine positive Veränderung in deinem Leben

Ich hoffe, dass ich dich auch dafür begeistern konnte, einen veganen Monat einzulegen und den tierfreundlichen, umweltfreundlichen und bei einer ausgewogenen Ernährung auch gesunden Lebensstil selbst auszuprobieren. Sei bitte nicht zu streng mit dir selbst – niemand muss alles perfekt machen. Wenn du mit dieser Einstellung in den Veganuary startest, wirst du ihn auch meistern! Den Anfang machst jedenfalls du mit der Teilnahme an diesem, veganen Online-Kurs*. Ich wünsche dir viel Erfolg!

Hast du Fragen oder Anregungen zu diesem Artikel oder dem veganen Probemonat? Dann schreibe mir gern einen Kommentar.

Bleib‘ nachhaltig,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Ich bin mir sicher, dass der Veganuary dein Leben bereichern wird. Brauchst du noch etwas mehr Motivation? Dann schau dir jetzt diese, äußerst effektiven, veganen Werbespots an.

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du automatisch und aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte – und am Produkt-Preis ändert sich dabei selbstverständlich nichts. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

Ich bin Christoph, Umweltwissenschaftler und Autor - und setze mich hier bei CareElite gegen den Plastikmüll in der Umwelt, den Klimawandel und alle anderen großen Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit ein. Gemeinsam mit weiteren, umweltbewussten Bloggern will ich dir Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes, nachhaltiges Leben sowie deine persönliche Weiterentwicklung an die Hand geben.

2 Gedanken zu „Veganuary 2023 – So klappt deine Vegan-Challenge im Januar!“

  1. Hallo Christoph, ich bin gerade so glücklich deinen Blog gefunden zu haben. Ich bin auch seit über 4 Jahren vegan und ich liebe es. Was ich noch toller finde ist, dass du dich für unsere Umwelt einsetzt. Danke Danke Danke das es dich gibt, bitte mach weiter so und bring deine Message nach draußen. <3

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.