Skip to content
Vegan just a trend - will it soon be over again?

Vegan Trend - Why veganism is more than just a trend movement

Is veganism a trend or a real change in values? Again and again I hear the argument from meat eaters that "vegan is just a trend. A trend is a recognizable direction of a development - so my counterpart is not entirely wrong. But are there not almost infinitely many Reasons for veganism? There must be more behind the plant-based lifestyle than just a short-lived fashion trend.

Definitely! So in this post, I want to explain to you why veganism is not just a trend, but a forward-thinking movement. Let's go!

"Vegan is just a trend" is a weak argument

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

There are about 200 new vegans every day and also about 2,000 new vegetarians.₁ Sales of plant-based alternatives in food retail, for example, also increased by 30 percent from 2017 to 2018.₂ And the term veganism has been around since 1944, when the "Vegan Society" was founded.₃ So there's definitely a trend toward a plant-based diet. Nevertheless, the philosophy behind veganism is much more than just a trend in the long run, as the so many Challenges of our time with one stone.

Based on three aspects, I would like to explain to you in the following why veganism is developing from a trend to a world-changing movement.

Ethics

Thus, from an ethical point of view, veganism primarily counteracts the exploitation of animals, which has long since ceased to exist and was basically not in keeping with the times at any point in human development. Who eats vegan, contributes for example to the fact that in the egg industry no male chicks are no longer shredded or gassed immediately after birth or that cows are no longer raped and artificially impregnated so that they give milk continuously.

Environment

From an ecological point of view, as a vegan, you are primarily global warming and the likewise climate-impacting Deforestation of the rainforests against. Simply because your food no longer requires ruminants to graze on pastures that emit methane, a gas that affects the climate. But also, of course, because you no longer have to import soy meal as animal feed, the land-intensive cultivation of which is responsible for around 88 percent of the deforestation of the Amazon rainforest.₄

Society

Veganism also has its effect from a social point of view. For example, against world hunger, because we can use the plants that would otherwise be given to animals in the Factory farming simply eat them themselves. Don't you find it strange that we have enough food to feed 56 billion farm animals every year₅ - but that at the same time more than 800 million people in the world have to go hungry?₆.

Tip: You can find more facts under Veganism statistics.

Vegan is not a trend - it is a rousing movement!

Veganism just a trend or more?
This is how the popularity of the search term "vegan" in Google Trends has developed since 2004

At the latest with this chart from Google Trends, everyone should be aware that there is more to veganism than simply a trend to eat more plants.

All motives for veganism are future-oriented and focused on ensuring that our everyday behavior does not exploit animals, other people, or our planet. The movement is based on pillars such as Justice, non-violence and Freedom. It therefore makes no sense to relativize it as a passing fad just to justify continuing to eat meat. With it one makes it simply too easy for oneself not to have to concern oneself further with it. So if veganism is not a trend, what reason is there for continuing to eat the body parts of animals?

Do you have questions about the article? Or would you like to share your own experiences with the argument "vegan is just a trend"? Then, as always, feel free to write me a comment.

Stay sustainable,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS.: If you are just now becoming a vegan, be sure to check out the post for the Start into vegan life. And if you are not convinced yet, I recommend these vegan documentaries!

References:
₁,₂ ProVeg e.V.: Vegan-Trend - Zahlen und Fakten zum Veggie-Markt, available at https://t1p.de/jkx0. [15.07.2020].

₃ Leah Leneman: No Animal Food - The Road to Veganism in Britain, 1909-1944. In: Society & Animals. Vol. 7, No. 3, January 1, 1999, pp. 219 - 228.

₄ DEUTSCHER TIERSCHUTZBUND e.V.: du und das tier, Rinter als Klimasünder (offprint), available at https://t1p.de/zpkd. [07.05.2020].

₅ M. P. Rowland: 11 Facts About Your Food That Will Shock You (as of Jan. 03, 2017), available at https://t1p.de/2sr1. [14.07.2020].

₆ Deutsche Welthungerhilfe e.V.: Hunger: prevalence, causes & consequences (as of 04.05.2020). https://t1p.de/ijuj. [07.05.2020].

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Vegan nur ein Trend - ist er bald wieder vorbei?

Vegan Trend – Warum Veganismus mehr als nur eine Trend-Bewegung ist

Christoph Schulz Blog, Ernährung, Vegan Leave a Comment

Geändert am 21. Juli 2020

Ist Veganismus Trend oder ein echter Wertewandel? Immer wieder höre ich das Argument von Fleischessern, dass „Vegan nur ein Trend“ sei. Ein Trend ist eine erkennbare Richtung einer Entwicklung – demnach hat mein Gegenüber nicht ganz unrecht. Doch gibt es nicht fast unendlich viele Gründe für Veganismus? Hinter der pflanzenbasierten Lebensweise muss doch mehr stecken, als nur ein kurzlebiger Modetrend.

Definitiv! In diesem Beitrag möchte ich dir deshalb erklären, warum der Veganismus nicht nur ein Trend, sondern eine zukunftsorientierte Bewegung ist. Auf geht's!

„Vegan ist nur ein Trend“ ist ein schwaches Argument

Täglich kommen etwa 200 neue Veganer und auch ca. 2.000 neue Vegetarier dazu.₁ Auch der Umsatz mit pflanzlichen Alternativen im Lebensmitteleinzelhandel ist beispielsweise von 2017 bis 2018 um 30 Prozent gestiegen.₂ Und den Begriff Veganismus gibt es bereits seit 1944, als die „Vegan Society“ gegründet wurde.₃ Da ist also definitiv ein Trend zur pflanzlichen Ernährung zu erkennen. Dennoch ist die Philosophie hinter dem Veganismus auf lange Sicht viel mehr als nur ein Trend, da der so viele Herausforderungen unserer Zeit mit einer Klappe schlägt.

Anhand von drei Aspekten möchte ich dir im Folgenden erklären, warum sich der Veganismus vom Trend zur weltverändernden Bewegung entwickelt.

Ethik

So wirkt der Veganismus aus ethischer Sicht vor allem der längst nicht mehr und im Grunde zu keinem Zeitpunkt der menschlichen Entwicklung zeitgemäßen Ausbeutung von Tieren entgegen. Wer sich vegan ernährt, trägt beispielsweise dazu bei, dass in der Eierindustrie keine männlichen Küken mehr unmittelbar nach ihrer Geburt geschreddert oder vergast werden – oder das Kühe nicht mehr vergewaltigt und künstlich geschwängert werden, damit sie ununterbrochen Milch geben.

Umwelt

Aus ökologischer Sicht wirkst du als Veganer vor allem der globalen Erwärmung und der ebenfalls klimawirksamen Abholzung der Regenwälder entgegen. Ganz einfach, da für deine Ernährung keine Wiederkäuer mehr auf den Weiden stehen müssen, die das klimawirksame Gas Methan ausstoßen.  Aber natürlich auch, weil für dich kein Sojaschrot als Tierfutter mehr importiert werden muss, dessen flächenintensiver Anbau für etwa 88 Prozent der Abholzung des Amazonas-Regenwaldes verantwortlich ist.₄

Gesellschaft

Auch aus sozialer Sicht entfaltet der Veganismus seine Wirkung. Zum Beispiel gegen den Welthunger, da wir die Pflanzen, die sonst an Tiere in der Massentierhaltung verfüttert werden, einfach selbst essen. Findest du es nicht auch merkwürdig, dass wir genügend zu Essen haben, um jährlich 56 Milliarden Nutztiere zu füttern₅ – aber dass gleichzeitig mehr als 800 Millionen Menschen auf der Welt hungern müssen?₆

Tipp: Mehr Fakten findest du unter Veganismus Statistiken.

Vegan ist kein Trend – es ist eine mitreißende Bewegung!

Veganismus nur ein Trend oder mehr?
So verläuft die Beliebtheit des Suchbegriffs „vegan“ in den Google Trends seit dem Jahr 2004

Spätestens mit dieser Grafik aus den Google Trends sollte jedem bewusst sein, dass mehr hinter dem Veganismus steckt, als ein einfach nur ein Trend, mehr Pflanzen zu essen.

Alle Motive für den Veganismus sind zukunftsorientiert und darauf ausgerichtet, dass wir durch unser alltägliches Verhalten weder Tiere, noch andere Menschen, noch unseren Planeten ausbeuten. Die Bewegung basiert auf Säulen wie Gerechtigkeit, Gewaltlosigkeit und Freiheit. Es macht deshalb keinen Sinn, sie als kurzweilige Modeerscheinung zu relativieren, nur um damit zu rechtfertigen, weiterhin Fleisch zu essen. Damit macht man es sich einfach zu leicht, sich nicht weiter damit beschäftigen zu müssen. Wenn Veganismus also kein Trend ist: welchen Grund hat man jetzt noch dafür, weiterhin die Körperteile von Tieren zu essen?

Hast du Fragen zum Artikel? Oder möchtest du eigene Erfahrungen mit dem Argument „Vegan ist nur ein Trend“ teilen? Dann schreibe mir wie immer gern einen Kommentar.

Bleib‘ nachhaltig,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Falls du jetzt erst zum Veganer wirst, dann schaue unbedingt in den Beitrag für den Start ins vegane Leben. Und falls du noch nicht überzeugt bist, empfehle ich dir diese veganen Dokumentationen!

Quellenangaben:
₁,₂ ProVeg e.V.: Vegan-Trend – Zahlen und Fakten zum Veggie-Markt, abrufbar unter https://t1p.de/jkx0. [15.07.2020].

₃ Leah Leneman: No Animal Food – The Road to Veganism in Britain, 1909-1944. In: Society & Animals. Band 7, Nr. 3, 1. Januar 1999, S. 219 – 228.

₄ DEUTSCHER TIERSCHUTZBUND e.V.: du und das tier, Rinter als Klimasünder (Sonderdruck), abrufbar unter https://t1p.de/zpkd. [07.05.2020].

₅ M. P. Rowland: 11 Facts About Your Food That Will Shock You (Stand: 03.01.2017), abrufbar unter https://t1p.de/2sr1. [14.07.2020].

₆ Deutsche Welthungerhilfe e.V.: Hunger: Verbreitung, Ursachen & Folgen (Stand: 04.05.2020). https://t1p.de/ijuj. [07.05.2020].

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Bei CareElite gebe ich dir zusammen mit anderen umweltbewussten Bloggern Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes und vor allem nachhaltiges Leben, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen.Wenn du möchtest, dass wir weiter mit voller Kraft an CareElite arbeiten, kannst du uns gern ein paar Taler für die technische Verbesserung der Webseite, CleanUp-Material und neue aufklärende Blogbeiträge in unsere Kaffeekasse werfen. So oder so - danke, dass du da bist!

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.