Skip to content
Vitamin K fact sheet, daily requirement and more

Vitamin K - daily requirement, fact sheet & more

You want to learn about vitamin K? Then you will find here in this article the most important information about the fat-soluble vitamin.

We start with a short profile, continue with the intake, daily requirement, function, risk of overdose or deficiency, to the rich foods and supplements. Finally, we look at what to look for in a plant-based diet regarding vitamin K.

Here is in advance a short Overview for you:

  1. Profile
  2. Recording
  3. Daily requirement
  4. Meaning
  5. Overdose
  6. Mangel
  7. Foods
  8. Vegan
  9. Food supplement
  10. FAQ

Notice: This article is not a substitute for medical advice, but provides general information about vitamin K only. Please consult your doctor if you feel unwell or want to prevent health problems with medical care.

VITAMIN K PROFILE AT A GLANCE

Assignment: fat-soluble vitamins
Synonyms: Phylloquinone, menaquinone-n, menadione
Important for: Blood clotting, vascular health, bone metabolism
Daily requirement: 60-120 µg/day from the age of 15.1,2,3
Overdose: unlikely, no upper limit defined3,4
Deficiency symptoms: Including bleeding tendency, disturbed bone metabolism
Food: Natto, parsley, green leafy vegetables, barley grass juice, cabbage varieties.
Nutritional supplement: in the form of tablets, powder or drops

The vitamin K supply

Vitamin K includes the fat soluble vitamins K1, K2 and K3, which are also known as phylloquinone, menaquinone-n and menadione. Vitamin K1 is found in plants, while K2 is produced by microorganisms. K3 is a synthetic form.

The Bioavailability of vitamin K varies between 10 and 80 percent, depending on the food and the nature of the vitamin. You can increase absorption of the valuable nutrient by combining high-quality fats and vitamin K-containing foods in a meal. Likewise, liver health is important for absorption rates, as the liver provides enzymes to metabolize vitamin K.

Good to know: When cows eat grass, they absorb K1 from the plants, and vitamin K2 is formed by fermentation in the cows' digestive tract brought about by microorganisms.

What is the daily vitamin K requirement?

Pasta with kale provides a lot of VItamin K

The recommendations of various nutrition societies for daily vitamin K intake are quite a bit apart. The Office of Dietary Supplements has defined a gender-dependent intake. From the age of 19, men are recommended 120 µg/day and women 90 µg/day.2

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) recommends 1 µg K1 per kg body weight for adults regardless of gender and rounds this figure to 70 µg K1 per day.3 In my opinion, this way of working is highly questionable and the recommendation of 1 µg/kg daily is much more accurate. As well as a 90 kg man or 50 kg woman, one would come to more precise recommendations.

The feed recommendations of the German Society for Nutrition (DGE) differentiate between gender and age and are shown in the following table in µg/day1:

Agemalefemale
1 to under 4 years1515
4 to under 7 years2020
7 to under 10 years3030
10 to under 13 years4040
13 to under 15 years5050
15 to under 51 years7060
51 years and older8065
DGE reference values for daily vitamin K intake in µg1

All three of the aforementioned nutrition societies recommend no changes in intakes for pregnant and breastfeeding women.1,2,3

What are the functions of the vitamin in the body?

Vitamin K increases the Blood clotting because it is a cofactor for an enzyme that activates blood clotting factors. Furthermore, the fat-soluble vitamin is likewise important for the Vascular Health responsible by counteracting the calcification of blood vessels. Thereby the risk of cardiovascular diseases decreases. to suffer.5

Vitamin K supports the Bone Healthby promoting bone formation through the formation of osteocalcin. Furthermore inhibits it the Formation of kidney stones to suffer. In addition, the vitamin is believed to be involved in cell growth and signal transduction.

Presumably K2 can do the Reduce liver cancer risk. This was the conclusion of a study by the Journal of the American Medical Associationin which female subjects were provided with a K2 supplement. Compared with the control group, there were significantly fewer cases of liver cancer.6

The Importance of vitamin K for the human body can be summarized as follows:

  • Blood clotting
  • Vascular Health
  • Bone Health
  • Inhibits formation of kidney stones
  • Reduces liver cancer risk

Is there a risk of oversupply?

An oversupply of vitamin K is rather unlikely in adults. Since no toxic effects have been demonstrated for the nutrient, neither DGE, EFSA nor the Office of Dietary Supplements defines a Tolerable Upper Intake Level or a maximum intake.1,2,4

Is it possible to suffer from a vitamin K deficiency?

German nutrition societies like to mention that Germany is not a vitamin deficient country and emphasize the sufficient supply of vitamins for the population.7 In contrast, a study by the University of Maastricht shows that children and adults can suffer from vitamin K deficiency on a regular basis.8

Causes of deficiency may be a diet low in vitamin K, absorption disorders of the vitamin, or fat absorption disorders that reduce vitamin K absorption. Likewise, coumarin derivatives may limit vitamin K action.

Especially for a lack at risk are older people, as they often suffer from gastrointestinal diseases or malnutrition.9 Another risk may be antibiotic treatments, as these kill vitamin K-producing bacteria in the gut, potentially reducing the respective status.2

Symptoms of deficiency are an increased bleeding tendency due to impaired blood clotting and impaired bone formation. Other symptoms may include increased bruising or regular nosebleeds.

What are the best suppliers of vitamin K among foods?

When it comes to nutrient supply, it is important to distinguish between K1 and K2. This is because K1 is mainly found in green leafy vegetables, while K2 is mainly found in fermented foods.

In principle, various green leafy vegetables and cabbage varieties are particularly good sources. However, there are a few other foods with particularly high vitamin K content. The following table contains the best sources of vitamin K:

  • Natto (880 μg per 100 gram)
  • Barley grass powder (860 µg per 100 gram)
  • Parsley (790 µg per 100 gram)
  • Nettle (600 µg per 100 gram)
  • Beef liver (263 µg per 100 gram)
  • Spinach (260 µg per 100 gram)
  • Kale (250 µg per 100 gram)
  • Brussels sprouts (250 µg per 100 gram)

Natto is fermented soybeans, a traditional Japanese food that is often eaten with sushi or rice dishes. Natto or barley grass powder can be used to supplement the supply of the fat-soluble vitamin in a very targeted manner. You can integrate nettles into your diet, for example, by mixing them into spinach in a 1:1 ratio.

K1 or K2? Previous studies only partially distinguish between the two forms. K1 is mainly absorbed and stored in the liver, while K2 is concentrated in bones, cartilage and vessel walls. It is also possible that a conversion of K1 to K2 takes place, although the rate is still unknown. The study situation does not yet allow any concrete conclusions to be drawn here, which is why most intake recommendations do not differentiate between K1 and K2.

Natto is one of the best sources of vitamin K

What do you have to consider regarding vitamin K in a vegan diet?

Vitamin K is recommended by the DGE not as potentially critical nutrient classified for vegans and vegetarians.10 The best suppliers of the fat-soluble vitamin are plant-based, which is why a deficiency is virtually impossible with a balanced diet of green leafy vegetables, cabbage varieties and, if necessary, targeted supplementation with natto and barley grass.

Should vitamin K be supplemented?

Because of the health benefits, a good supply of vitamin K is extremely important. But is supplementation also necessary? It can be useful from various points of view. Before you take the vitamin as a dietary supplement, it is recommended to first determine the current vitamin level with your family doctor or alternative practitioner.

When you Vitamin D supplementation, calcium absorption increases so that vessels can calcify more easily. In this case, an adequate supply of vitamin K is particularly important to ensure vascular health. Supplementation is a good idea. Therefore there are many Combination preparations with vitamin D and K.11

But you should pay attention to the particular form. The most usable form for humans is MK-7 all-trans. Another good option is Barley grass powderbecause it is a real nutritional bomb. With only 3 teaspoons, you get about 80 µg of vitamin K and many other vitamins and minerals.

Which dietary supplements are recommended?

If you want to be sure, a Multi-nutrient preparation an. The vegan multi-nutrient contains vitamin K and some other nutrients.

FAQ: The most frequently asked questions about vitamin K

Which foods contain vitamin K?

Extraordinary amounts of vitamin K can be found in natto and barley grass. Green cabbage (e.g. kale and Brussels sprouts) and green leafy vegetables (e.g. spinach) also contain large amounts of vitamin K.

Is vitamin K the same as potassium?

No, potassium is a quantity element and not a vitamin. Therefore, vitamin K and potassium are not the same. However, both nutrients are important for vascular and bone health.

What are the functions of vitamin K in the body?

Vitamin K helps keep blood vessels and bones healthy. It also inhibits the formation of kidney stones and probably reduces the risk of liver cancer.

Is vitamin K a blood thinner?

No, vitamin K does not have a blood-thinning effect. However, it does promote blood clotting and the decalcification of blood vessels, thus contributing to the health of the cardiovascular system.

What is the name of vitamin K?

Other names by which vitamin K is known are phylloquinone, menaquinone-n, menadione.

Vitamins K1 and K2 are healthy!

Whether you eat a vegan, vegetarian, or mixed-food diet, if you're enough green leafy vegetables and cabbage varieties in your diet and combine it with high quality fats, you will most likely get enough vitamin K. Supplementing with natto and barley grass can be a great option to provide you with the vitamin.

Now nothing should stand in the way of a sufficient supply of the valuable vitamin. The best way to supplement the healthy diet with a lot of movement in the fresh air and reduce your stress, for example through meditation. Thereby you promote your holistic health.

Do you have any questions, suggestions or criticism about this article on vitamin K? Then feel free to write me a comment.

All the best,

Julian from CareElite

PS.: In our Nutrient database you will find many more articles on nutrients and healthy eating. Next, for example, look at the article on Vitamin B6 on. Have fun!

References:

1 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Vitamin K, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/vitamin-k/?L=0. [12.08.2021].

2 National Institutes of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements: Vitamin K. Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminK-HealthProfessional/. [12.08.2021].

3 European Food Safety Authority: Scientific Opinion on Dietary reference values for Vitamin K, https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2017.4780. [12.08.2021].

4 European Food Safety Authority: Tolerable Upper Intake Levels for Vitamins and Minerals, https://www.efsa.europa.eu/sites/default/files/efsa_rep/blobserver_assets/ndatolerableuil.pdf. [12.08.2021].

5 Center for Health: Vitamin K. The Forgotten Vitamin, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/weitere-vitamine/vitamin-k. [12.08.2021].

6 Habu D et al (2004): Role of vitamin K2 in the development of hepatocellular carcinoma in women with viral cirrhosis of the liver, JAMA Jul 21;292(3): pp. 358-361. Online: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/199121 [Aug 12, 2021].

7 A. Bechthold, V. Albrecht, E. Leschik-Bonnet, H. Heseker (2012): DGE Opinion: Assessment of vitamin supply in Germany. In: Ernährungsumschau 59 (2012), pp. 324-336. Online: https://www.ernaehrungs-umschau.de/fileadmin/Ernaehrungs-Umschau/pdfs/pdf_2012/07_12/EU07_2012_396_401.qxd.pdf. [12.08.21].

8 E. Theuwissen, et al. (2014): Vitamin K status in healthy volunteers. In: Food Funct, February 2014. Online: https://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/articlelanding/2014/FO/C3FO60464K. [12.08.2021].

9 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitamin K - What you should look out for in old age, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/news/gesundheit/allgemein-gesundheit/vitamin-k-bei-aelteren-menschen-190705072. [12.08.2021].

10 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Supplement to the position of the German Nutrition Society regarding population groups with special nutritional needs, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/dge-position/vegane-ernaehrung/?L=0 [12.08.2021].

11 Center for Health: The Right Way to Take Vitamin D, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/vitamin-d-uebersicht/vitamin-d-die-richtige-einnahme. [12.08.2021].

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Julian Hölzer

Hi, my name is Julian and I am a trained vegan nutritionist. In 2016 I started to get involved with veganism and quickly learned how big an impact our diet has on the environment and how diverse plant-based diets can be. That's why I want to inspire you to get involved with veganism too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vitamin K Steckbrief, Tagesbedarf und mehr

Vitamin K – Tagesbedarf, Steckbrief & mehr

Du willst dich über Vitamin K informieren? Dann wirst du hier in diesem Artikel die wichtigsten Informationen zu dem fettlöslichen Vitamin finden.

Wir beginnen mit einem kurzen Steckbrief, weiter geht's mit der Aufnahme, Tagesbedarf, Funktion, Risiko von Überdosierung oder Mangel, bis zu den reichhaltigen Lebensmitteln und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln. Abschließend betrachten wir noch, was bei einer pflanzlichen Ernährungsweise bezüglich Vitamin K zu beachten ist.

Hier ist vorab eine kurze Übersicht für dich:

  1. Steckbrief
  2. Aufnahme
  3. Tagesbedarf
  4. Bedeutung
  5. Überdosierung
  6. Mangel
  7. Lebensmittel
  8. Veganer
  9. Nahrungsergänzung
  10. Häufige Fragen

Hinweis: Dieser Artikel ersetzt keine medizinische Beratung, sondern stellt lediglich allgemeine Informationen über Vitamin K bereit. Bitte suche deinen Arzt auf, wenn du dich unwohl fühlst oder gesundheitlichen Problemen mit medizinischer Betreuung vorbeugen willst.

VITAMIN K STECKBRIEF AUF EINEN BLICK

Zuordnung: fettlösliche Vitamine
Synonyme: Phyllochinon, Menachinon-n, Menadion
Wichtig für: Blutgerinnung, Gefäßgesundheit, Knochenstoffwechsel
Tagesbedarf: 60-120 µg/Tag ab dem 15. Lebensjahr1,2,3
Überdosierung: unwahrscheinlich, kein Upper Limit definiert3,4
Mangelsymptome: u.a. Blutungsneigung, gestörter Knochenstoffwechsel
Lebensmittel: Natto, Petersilie, grünes Blattgemüse, Gerstengrassaft, Kohlsorten
Nahrungsergänzung: in Form von Tabletten, Pulver oder Tropfen

Die Vitamin-K-Zufuhr

Vitamin K beinhaltet die fettlöslichen Vitamine K1, K2 und K3, die auch als Phyllochinon, Menachinon-n und Menadion bezeichnet werden. Vitamin K1 ist in Pflanzen enthalten, während K2 von Mikroorganismen gebildet wird. K3 ist eine synthetische Form.

Die Bioverfügbarkeit von Vitamin K schwankt zwischen 10 und 80 Prozent, je nach Lebensmittel und Beschaffenheit des Vitamins. Du kannst die Absorption des wertvollen Nährstoffs erhöhen, indem du hochwertige Fette und Vitamin-K-haltige Lebensmittel in einer Mahlzeit kombinierst. Ebenso ist die Lebergesundheit für die Absorptionsrate wichtig, da die Leber Enzyme zur Verstoffwechslung von Vitamin K bereitstellt.

Gut zu wissen: Wenn Kühe Gras fressen, nehmen sie das K1 aus den Pflanzen auf und durch die von Mikroorganismen herbeigeführte Fermentierung im Verdauungstrakt der Kühe wird Vitamin K2 gebildet.

Wie hoch ist der tägliche Vitamin-K-Bedarf?

Pasta mit Grünkohl liefert viel VItamin K

Die Empfehlungen verschiedener Ernährungsgesellschaften für die tägliche Vitamin-K-Zufuhr liegen ein gutes Stück auseinander. Das Office of Dietary Supplements hat eine geschlechterabhängige Zufuhr definiert. Ab dem 19. Lebensjahr werden Männern 120 µg/Tag empfohlen und Frauen 90 µg/Tag.2

Die European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) empfiehlt Erwachsenen geschlechtsunabhängig 1 µg K1 pro kg Körpergewicht und rundet diese Angabe auf 70 µg K1 am Tag.3 Meiner Meinung nach ist diese Arbeitsweise äußerst fragwürdig und die Empfehlung von täglich 1 µg/kg wesentlich genauer. Sowie als 90 kg schwerer Mann oder 50 kg schwere Frau, käme man nämlich zu präziseren Empfehlungen.

Die Zufuhrempfehlungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung (DGE) differenzieren zwischen Geschlecht und Alter und sind in der folgenden Tabelle in µg/Tag abgebildet1:

Altermännlichweiblich
1 bis unter 4 Jahre1515
4 bis unter 7 Jahre2020
7 bis unter 10 Jahre3030
10 bis unter 13 Jahre4040
13 bis unter 15 Jahre5050
15 bis unter 51 Jahre7060
51 Jahre und älter8065
DGE-Referenzwerte für die tägliche Vitamin K-Zufuhr in µg1

Alle drei erwähnten Ernährungsgesellschaften empfehlen keine Veränderungen in der Zufuhr für schwangere und stillende Frauen.1,2,3

Welche Funktionen hat das Vitamin im Körper?

Durch Vitamin K wird die Blutgerinnung gesteuert, weil es Cofaktor für ein Enzym ist, das Blutgerinnungsfaktoren aktiviert. Weiterhin ist das fettlösliche Vitamin ebenso für die Gefäßgesundheit zuständig, indem es der Verkalkung von Blutgefäßen entgegenwirkt. Dadurch sinkt das Risiko an Krankheiten des Herz-Kreislauf zu leiden.5

Vitamin K unterstützt die Knochengesundheit, indem es durch die Bildung von Osteokalzin den Knochenaufbau fördert. Weiterhin hemmt es die Bildung von Nierensteinen zu leiden. Außerdem wird vermutet, dass das Vitamin am Zellwachstum und der Signaltransduktion beteiligt ist.

Vermutlich kann K2 das Leberkrebsrisiko reduzieren. Zu diesem Ergebnis kam eine Untersuchung des Journal of the American Medical Association, in der weiblichen Probanden mit einem K2-Supplement versorgt wurden. Im Vergleich mit der Kontrollgruppe kam es zu signifikant weniger Leberkrebserkrankungen.6

Die Bedeutung von Vitamin K für den menschlichen Körper lässt sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Blutgerinnung
  • Gefäßgesundheit
  • Knochengesundheit
  • Hemmt Bildung von Nierensteinen
  • Reduziert Leberkrebsrisiko

Besteht das Risiko einer Überversorgung?

Eine Überversorgung mit Vitamin K ist bei Erwachsenen eher unwahrscheinlich. Da bei dem Nährstoff keine toxischen Effekte nachgewiesen wurden, haben weder DGE, EFSA noch das Office of Dietary Supplements ein Tolerable Upper Intake Level beziehungsweise eine maximale Zufuhr definiert.1,2,4

Kann man einen Mangel an Vitamin K erleiden?

Deutsche Ernährungsgesellschaften erwähnen gerne, dass Deutschland kein Vitaminmangelland sei und betonen die ausreichende Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit Vitaminen.7 Demgegenüber steht eine Studie der Universität Maastricht, die belegt, dass durchaus regelmäßig Kinder und Erwachsene an einem Vitamin-K-Mangel leiden können.8

Ursachen für einen Mangel können eine Vitamin-K-arme Ernährung, Absorptionsstörungen des Vitamins oder Fettabsorptionsstörungen, die die Vitamin-K-Absorption reduzieren sein. Ebenso können Cumarin-Derivate die Vitamin-K-Wirkung einschränken.

Besonders für einen Mangel gefährdet sind ältere Menschen, da sie oft an Magen-Darm-Erkrankungen oder Mangelernährung leiden.9 Ein weiteres Risiko können Antibiotikabehandlungen sein, da diese die Vitamin-K-produzierenden Bakterien im Darm abtöten, was potenziell den jeweiligen Status reduzieren kann.2

Mangelsymptome sind eine erhöhte Blutungsneigung aufgrund der gestörten Blutgerinnung und ein gestörter Knochenaufbau. Weitere Symptome können vermehrte blaue Flecke oder regelmäßiges Nasenbluten sein.

Was sind die besten Lieferanten für Vitamin K unter den Lebensmitteln?

Wenn es um die Nährstoffversorgung geht, gilt es zwischen K1 und K2 zu unterscheiden. Denn K1 ist vor allem in grünem Blattgemüse zu finden, während K2 vor allem in fermentierten Lebensmitteln vorkommt.

Grundsätzlich sind verschiedene grüne Blattgemüse und Kohlsorten besonders gute Quellen. Es gibt allerdings noch ein paar weitere Lebensmittel, mit besonders hohem Vitamin-K-Gehalt. Die folgende Tabelle enthält die besten Vitamin-K-Quellen:

  • Natto (880 μg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Gerstengraspulver (860 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Petersilie (790 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Brennnessel (600 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Rinderleber (263 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Spinat (260 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Grünkohl (250 µg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Rosenkohl (250 µg pro 100 Gramm)

Bei Natto handelt es sich um fermentierte Sojabohnen, ein traditionelles japanisches Lebensmittel, das oft zu Sushi oder Reisgerichten gegessen wird. Mit Natto oder Gerstengraspulver kann die Versorgung mit dem fettlöslichen Vitamin sehr gezielt ergänzt werden. Brennnesseln kannst du beispielsweise in deine Ernährung integrieren, wenn du sie im Verhältnis 1:1 mit in den Spinat mischst.

K1 oder K2? Bisherige Studien unterscheiden nur teilweise zwischen den beiden Formen. K1 wird hauptsächlich in der Leber aufgenommen und gespeichert, während K2 sich in Knochen, Knorpeln und Gefäßwänden konzentriert. Womöglich findet auch eine Umwandlung von K1 in K2 statt, wobei die Rate noch unbekannt ist. Die Studienlage lässt hier noch keine konkreten Schlüsse zu, weshalb die meisten Zufuhrempfehlungen nicht zwischen K1 und K2 differenzieren.

Natto ist eine der besetn Vitamin K Quellen

Was muss man bezüglich Vitamin K bei veganer Ernährung beachten?

Vitamin K wird von der DGE nicht als potentiell kritischer Nährstoff für Veganer und Vegetarier eingeordnet.10 Die besten Lieferanten für das fettlösliche Vitamin sind pflanzlich, weshalb bei einer ausgewogenen Ernährung mit grünem Blattgemüse, Kohlsorten und gegebenenfalls gezielter Ergänzung durch Natto und Gerstengras ein Mangel nahezu ausgeschlossen ist.

Sollte man Vitamin K supplementieren?

Aufgrund der gesundheitlichen Vorteile, ist eine gute Versorgung mit Vitamin K äußerst wichtig. Aber ist auch eine Supplementierung notwendig? Unter verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten kann sie sinnvoll sein. Bevor du das Vitamin als Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln zu dir nimmst, ist zu empfehlen, zunächst den aktuellen Vitaminspiegel bei deinem Hausarzt oder Heilpraktiker festzustellen.

Wenn du Vitamin D supplementierst, steigt die Kalziumaufnahme, sodass Gefäße leichter verkalken können. Dann ist eine ausreichende Zufuhr von Vitamin K besonders wichtig, um die Gefäßgesundheit sicherzustellen. Eine Supplementierung bietet sich an. Deshalb gibt es viele Kombipräparate mit Vitamin D und K.11

Du solltest aber auf die jeweilige Form achten. Die für den Menschen am besten nutzbare Form ist MK-7 all-trans. Eine weitere gute Option ist Gerstengraspulver, weil es eine echte Nährstoffbombe ist. Mit nur 3 Teelöffeln, führst du ungefähr 80 µg Vitamin K und viele weitere Vitamine und Mineralstoffe zu.

Welche Nahrungsergänzungsmittel sind zu empfehlen?

Wenn du sichergehen willst, bietet sich ein Multi-Nährstoff-Präparat an. Der vegane Multi-Nährstoff enthält Vitamin K und einige weitere Nährstoffe.

FAQ: Die häufigsten Fragen zu Vitamin K

In welchen Lebensmitteln steckt Vitamin K?

Außerordentlich viel Vitamin K findest du in Natto und Gerstengras. Grüne Kohlsorten (z. B. Grünkohl und Rosenkohl) und grüne Blattgemüse (z. B. Spinat) enthalten ebenfalls große Mengen an Vitamin K.

Ist Vitamin K dasselbe wie Kalium?

Nein, Kalium ist ein Mengenelement und kein Vitamin. Deshalb sind Vitamin K und Kalium nicht dasselbe. Beide Nährstoffe sind jedoch wichtig für die Gefäß- und Knochengesundheit.

Welche Aufgaben hat Vitamin K im Körper?

Vitamin K hilft die Gefäße und Knochen gesundzuhalten. Außerdem hemmt es die Bildung von Nierensteinen und reduziert vermutlich das Risiko an Leberkrebs zu erkranken.

Ist Vitamin K ein Blutverdünner?

Nein, Vitamin K wirkt nicht Blut verdünnend. Allerdings fördert es die Blutgerinnung und die Entkalkung der Blutgefäße und trägt so zur Gesundheit des Herz-Kreislauf-Systems bei.

Wie heißt Vitamin K noch?

Weitere Namen unter denen Vitamin K bekannt ist sind Phyllochinon, Menachinon-n, Menadion.

Die Vitamine K1 und K2 sind gesund!

Egal, ob du dich vegan, vegetarisch oder mischköstlich ernährst: wenn du ausreichend grünes Blattgemüse und Kohlsorten in deinen Speiseplan integrierst und mit hochwertigen Fetten kombinierst, wirst du dich sehr wahrscheinlich ausreichend mit Vitamin K versorgen. Ergänzend können Natto und Gerstengras eine tolle Option sein, um dich mit dem Vitamin zu versorgen.

Einer ausreichenden Versorgung mit dem wertvollen Vitamin sollte jetzt nichts mehr im Wege stehen. Am besten ergänzt du die gesunde Ernährung mit viel Bewegung an der frischen Luft und reduzierst deinen Stress, zum Beispiel durch Meditation. Durch diesen ganzheitlichen Ansatz kannst du schon viel für deine Gesundheit tun.

Hast du Fragen, Anregungen oder Kritik zu diesem Artikel zu Vitamin K? Dann schreibe mir gerne einen Kommentar.

Alles Gute,

Julian von CareElite

PS.: In unserer Nährstoff-Datenbank findest du viele weitere Artikel zu Nährstoffen und gesunder Ernährung. Sieh dir als nächstes zum Beispiel den Beitrag zu Vitamin B6 an. Viel Spaß!

Quellenangaben:

1 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Vitamin K, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/vitamin-k/?L=0. [12.08.2021].

2 National Institutes of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements: Vitamin K. Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminK-HealthProfessional/. [12.08.2021].

3 European Food Safety Authority: Scientific Opinion on Dietary reference values for Vitamin K, https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2017.4780. [12.08.2021].

4 European Food Safety Authority: Tolerable Upper Intake Levels for Vitamins and Minerals, https://www.efsa.europa.eu/sites/default/files/efsa_rep/blobserver_assets/ndatolerableuil.pdf. [12.08.2021].

5 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitamin K. Das vergessene Vitamin, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/weitere-vitamine/vitamin-k. [12.08.2021].

6 Habu D et al. (2004): Role of vitamin K2 in the development of hepatocellular carcinoma in women with viral cirrhosis of the liver, JAMA Jul 21;292(3): S. 358-361. Online: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/199121 [12.08.2021].

7 A. Bechthold, V. Albrecht, E. Leschik-Bonnet, H. Heseker (2012): DGE-Stellungnahme: Beurteilung der Vitaminversorgung in Deutschland. In: Ernährungsumschau 59 (2012), S. 324-336. Online: https://www.ernaehrungs-umschau.de/fileadmin/Ernaehrungs-Umschau/pdfs/pdf_2012/07_12/EU07_2012_396_401.qxd.pdf. [12.08.21].

8 E. Theuwissen, et al. (2014): Vitamin K status in healthy volunteers. In: Food Funct, Februar 2014. Online: https://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/articlelanding/2014/FO/C3FO60464K. [12.08.2021].

9 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Vitamin K – Worauf Sie im Alter achten sollten, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/news/gesundheit/allgemein-gesundheit/vitamin-k-bei-aelteren-menschen-190705072. [12.08.2021].

10 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Ergänzung der Position der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung hinsichtlich Bevölkerungsgruppen mit besonderen Bedarf an die Nährstoffversorgung, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/dge-position/vegane-ernaehrung/?L=0. [12.08.2021].

11 Zentrum der Gesundheit: Die richtige Einnahme von Vitamin D, https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/ernaehrung/vitamine/vitamin-d-uebersicht/vitamin-d-die-richtige-einnahme. [12.08.2021].

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Julian Hölzer

Hi, mein Name ist Julian und ich bin ausgebildeter veganer Ernährungsberater. 2016 habe ich angefangen mich mit Veganismus zu beschäftigen und habe schnell gelernt, wie groß der Einfluss unserer Ernährung auf die Umwelt ist und wie vielfältig pflanzliche Ernährung sein kann. Deshalb möchte ich auch dich inspirieren, dich mit Veganismus zu befassen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.