Skip to content
Vitamin D profile

Vitamin D - fact sheet, daily requirement, food & more

You want to know more about vitamin D? Then you are exactly right here. I would like to give you everything you need to know about the important sun vitamin. From a clear profile, about type, function, daily requirement, overdose and deficiency, to food and supplements. In addition, you will learn what vegans and vegetarians need to consider.

Here is in advance a short Overview for you:

  1. Profile
  2. Recording
  3. Daily requirement
  4. Meaning
  5. Overdose
  6. Deficiency
  7. Foods
  8. Vegan
  9. Food supplement
  10. FAQ

Notice: This article is not a substitute for medical advice, but provides general information about vitamin D only. Please consult your doctor if you feel unwell or want to prevent health problems with medical care.

Vitamin D PROFILE at a glance

Assignment: Group of fat-soluble vitamins that belong to the secosteroids
Synonyms: Sun vitamin, vitamin D3, calcitriol
Important for: Calcium absorption, bone structure, immune system
Daily requirement: 20 micrograms per day from the first year of life₁.
Recording: through food intake and sun exposure
Overdose: possible by taking high doses of vitamin D supplements
Deficiency symptoms: including fatigue, hair loss, mood swings
Food: Mushrooms, chanterelles and as an additive in margarine.
Nutritional supplement: As drops, powder, capsule or tablet

How can you absorb vitamin D?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Vitamin D is a very special vitamin because it is produced both by the Food recorded, but also by the Influence of sun exposure on the skin can be produced by the body itself. We humans cover around 10-20 percent of our daily vitamin D requirement through our diet. 80-90 percent with the help of sunlight.₂ For this, however, it is important to eat more frequently. being outside in nature and to leave the face, hands, legs and arms uncovered as far as possible.

What is the daily requirement of vitamin D?

In principle, the daily requirement of vitamin D covered by the regular stay in the sun be made. If this is not guaranteed, the German Nutrition Society (DGE) taking a vitamin D supplement.

According to the DGE, the daily requirement is 20 micrograms from the first year of life. A daily dose of 10 micrograms is recommended for infants under 12 months of age.₃ The desirable blood concentration of the marker 25-hydroxyvitamin D is 50 nanomoles per liter.₄

What is the importance and function of vitamin D in the body?

Sun promotes vitamin D production

Vitamin D has a great importance for our health. It supports the absorption of calcium and phosphate from the intestines and transports these nutrients to the bones. In addition, the sun vitamin is important for the Protein formation, the Control of many genes and the Promotion of metabolic processes Studies have also established links between vitamin D supply and high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes mellitus, and cardiovascular and cancer diseases. 

The functions of vitamin D briefly summarized:

  • Promotes calcium and phosphate balance
  • Supports bone formation
  • May prevent cancer
  • Important for a healthy immune system
  • May prevent high blood pressure or type 1 diabetes

Is an overdose with vitamin D possible?

Exposure of the skin to sunlight does not cause an oversupply of vitamin D in the body. This is also not to be expected via the diet, apart from the excessive consumption of foods with added vitamin D. However, acute vitamin D poisoning can occur if large amounts of high-dose vitamin D supplements are taken in a short period of time. This is the case because our body cannot excrete excess amounts of the fat-soluble vitamin. Chronic vitamin D intoxication can occur if you supply your body with more vitamin D than it needs over a long period of time. Symptoms include kidney damage, increased urination, and the feeling of weakness.₆

When does a deficiency occur?

The valuable vitamin is especially lacking when, when we spend too little time in the sun. Diseases, such as chronic inflammatory bowel diseases, can also inhibit the absorption and utilization of the vitamin and cause a deficiency.₇.

A typical consequence is then the disturbance of bone metabolism and the associated demineralization of the bones. How likely a deficiency is, however, also depends primarily on factors such as Residence, Season, Time of day, Body weight and Age ab.₈

Deficiency more common in: housebound people, seniors, vegans, people with dark skin.

What foods contain vitamin D?

Vitamin D is in many mushrooms

Even though our body produces the sun vitamin primarily through exposure to sunlight, there are definitely some plant foods₉ that contain the valuable vitamin. Here is an overview:

  • Mushrooms (1,90 μg per 100 gram)
  • Chanterelles (2.10 μg per 100 grams)
  • Porcini mushrooms (3.1 μg per 100 gram)
  • Shitaki (2 μg per 100 gram)
  • Margarine (as a supplement, 2.5 - 7.5 μg per 100 grams)

Notice: Especially herring, salmon and chicken egg yolk are rich in vitamin D. This is mainly because chickens, for example, produce the vitamin through exposure to sunlight.₁₀ However, since I want to live a life without Cruelty to animals prefer and get sufficient amounts of vitamin D even without them, I avoid these foods.

What do vegans and vegetarians have to consider regarding vitamin D?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The DGE considers vitamin D a critical nutrient not only in vegans, but also in the general population. But because vitamin D sources are quite limited in the plant-based diet, vegans are advised to take nutritional supplements especially in the winter months when there is little sunshine.₁₁ Also a Regular blood test at the family doctor is generally highly recommended in order to get to know one's own body better.

How does the supplementation with the sun vitamin work?

When you Vitamin D supplements you would like to take, you should Coordinate nutritional supplementation with your primary care physicianin order to avoid an overdose. If a supplement is useful, then the following preparations in drop or capsule form are recommended.

FAQ: The most frequently asked questions about vitamin D

What foods are rich in vitamin D?

Quantities of vitamin D that meet requirements are hardly found in food, which is why dietary supplementation makes sense. You can find small amounts in mushrooms and processed foods with added vitamin D (e.g. margarine).

Is it possible to absorb vitamin D in the shade?

No, for the formation of vitamin D you need direct sunlight. However, to check if the sun is coming in at the right angle, you can look at your shadow: It should be shorter than your actual height.

Is vitamin D good for the skin?

Yes, vitamin D helps to renew the skin and is also said to help with skin diseases such as psoriasis or neurodermatitis.

Is vitamin D a hormone?

Yes, vitamin D is basically a hormone. Strictly speaking, it is a prohormone that is converted by the body into the steroid hormone calcitriol.

Is vitamin D water-soluble or fat-soluble?

Vitamin D, which is also called the sun vitamin, belongs to the fat-soluble vitamins. Vitamins A, E and K also belong to the fat-soluble vitamins.

Ensure supply of vitamin D

Whether you're vegan or not, spend time outdoors regularly, and dress regularly so that the sun's rays reach your skin. Eat a balanced diet and have regular blood tests with your family doctor. In case of need, supplement your diet with vitamin supplements. In this way, you can specifically prevent a vitamin D deficiency.

Do you have any questions or suggestions about this post on the sun vitamin? Then feel free to write me a comment.

Stay healthy,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS.: You want to know, why i live vegan? In the linked article I give you my reasons.

References:
₁,₃ Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Vitamin D (Calciferole), https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/vitamin-d. [05.05.2021].

₂ S. Kelm: Vitamin D (as of 07/24/2018), https://www.apotheken-umschau.de/mein-koerper/haut-und-haare/vitamin-d-711907.html. [05.05.2021].

₄,₈,₉ German Nutrition Society: Selected Questions and Answers on Vitamin D, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/faqs/vitamin-d. [05.05.2021].

₅ Robert Koch Institute: What is vitamin D and what functions does it have in the body? (as of Jan. 25, 2019), https://www.rki.de/SharedDocs/FAQ/Vitamin_D/FAQ01.html

₆ M. Feichter: Vitamin D - Overdose (Accessed 03 Oct. 2019), https://www.netdoktor.de/ernaehrung/vitamin-d/ueberdosierung. [05.05.2021].

₇ C. Felchner; M. Feichter: Vitamin D - Deficiency (Accessed 03 Oct. 2019), https://www.netdoktor.de/ernaehrung/vitamin-d/mangel. [05.05.2021].

₁₀ Federal Ministry of Education and Research: Easter eggs - More vitamin D thanks to sunlight (as of 27.03.2018), https://www.bmbf.de/de/ostereier-mehr-vitamin-d-dank-sonnenlicht-5914.html. [05.05.2021].

₁₁ German Nutrition Society. (DGE, 2016): DGE Position "Vegan Nutrition," https://t1p.de/1uw2, p.95.

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vitamin D Steckbrief

Vitamin D – Steckbrief, Tagesbedarf, Lebensmittel & mehr

Du willst mehr über Vitamin D wissen? Dann bist du hier genau richtig. Ich möchte dir in diesem alles Wissenswerte rund um das wichtige Sonnenvitamin mit an die Hand geben. Vom übersichtlichen Steckbrief, über Art, Funktion, Tagesbedarf, Überdosierung und Mangel, bis hin zu Lebensmitteln und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln. Außerdem erfährst du, was Veganer und Vegetarier beachten müssen.

Hier ist vorab eine kurze Übersicht für dich:

  1. Steckbrief
  2. Aufnahme
  3. Tagesbedarf
  4. Bedeutung
  5. Überdosierung
  6. Mangel
  7. Lebensmittel
  8. Veganer
  9. Nahrungsergänzung

Hinweis: Dieser Artikel ersetzt keine medizinische Beratung, sondern stellt lediglich allgemeine Informationen über Vitamin D bereit. Bitte suche deinen Arzt auf, wenn du dich unwohl fühlst oder gesundheitlichen Problemen mit medizinischer Betreuung vorbeugen willst.

Vitamin D STECKBRIEF auf einen Blick

Zuordnung: Gruppe fettlöslicher Vitamine, die zu den Secosteroiden gehören
Synonyme: Sonnenvitamin, Vitamin D3, Calcitriol
Wichtig für: Kalziumaufnahme, Knochenstruktur, Immunsystem
Tagesbedarf: 20 Mikrogramm am Tag ab dem ersten Lebensjahr₁
Aufnahme: durch Nahrungsaufnahme und Sonnenbestrahlung
Überdosierung: durch Einnahme hochdosierter Vitamin-D-Präparate möglich
Mangelsymptome: u.a. Müdigkeit, Haarausfall, Stimmungsschwankungen
Lebensmittel: Champignons, Pfifferlinge und als Zusatz in Margarine
Nahrungsergänzung: Als Tropfen, Pulver, Kapsel oder Tablette

Wie kann man Vitamin D aufnehmen?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptierst du die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vitamin D ist ein sehr besonderes Vitamin, weil es sowohl durch die Ernährung aufgenommen, aber auch durch den Einfluss von Sonnenbestrahlung auf der Haut durch den eigenen Körper produziert werden kann. Etwa 10-20 Prozent unseres Tagesbedarfs an Vitamin D decken wir Menschen durch unsere Ernährung ab. 80-90 Prozent mit Hilfe des Sonnenlichts.₂ Dafür ist es jedoch wichtig, häufiger draußen in der Natur zu sein und Gesicht, Hände, Beine und Arme möglichst unbedeckt zu lassen.

Wie ist der Tagesbedarf an Vitamin D?

Grundsätzlich kann der Tagesbedarf an Vitamin D durch den regelmäßigen Aufenthalt in der Sonne gedeckt werden. Ist das nicht gewährleistet, empfiehlt die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung (DGE) die Einnahme eines Vitamin-D-Präparats.

Der Tagesbedarf liegt laut DGE bei 20 Mikrogramm ab dem ersten Lebensjahr. Säuglingen im Alter von unter 12 Monaten wird eine Tagesdosis von 10 Mikrogramm empfohlen.₃ Die wünschenswerte Blutkonzentration des Markers 25-Hydroxyvitamin-D liegt bei 50 Nanomol pro Liter.₄

Welche Bedeutung und Funktion hat Vitamin D im Körper?

Sonne fördert die Vitamin D Produktion

Für unsere Gesundheit hat Vitamin D eine große Bedeutung. Es unterstützt die Aufnahme von Kalzium und Phosphat aus dem Darm und transportiert diese Nährstoffe zu den Knochen. Außerdem ist das Sonnenvitamin wichtig für die Bildung von Proteinen, die Steuerung vieler Gene und die Förderung von Stoffwechselprozessen im Körper.₅ In Studien konnten zudem Zusammenhänge zwischen der Vitamin D-Versorgung und Bluthochdruck, Diabetes mellitus Typ 2 sowie kardiovaskulären- und Krebskrankheiten festgestellt werden. 

Die Funktionen von Vitamin D kurz zusammengefasst:

  • Fördert den Kalzium- und Phosphathaushalt
  • Unterstützt die Knochenbildung
  • Kann Krebs vorbeugen
  • Wichtig für ein gesundes Immunsystem
  • Kann Bluthochdruck oder Diabetes Typ 1 verhinden

Ist eine Überdosierung mit Vitamin D möglich?

Durch Sonneneinstrahlung auf der Haut ist keine Überversorgung des Körpers mit Vitamin D möglich. Auch über die Ernährung ist dies, abgesehen vom übermäßigen Verzehr von Lebensmitteln mit zugesetztem Vitamin-D, nicht zu erwarten. Jedoch kann es zu einer akuten Vitamin-D-Vergiftung kommen, wenn man in kurzer Zeit große Mengen hochdosierter Vitamin-D-Präparate einnimmt. Das ist der Fall, da unser Körper überschüssige Mengen des fettlöslichen Vitamins nicht ausscheiden kann. Zu einer chronischen Vitamin-D-Intoxikation kann es kommen, wenn man seinen Körper über einen längeren Zeitraum mit mehr Vitamin D versorgt, als er benötigt. Zu den Symptomen zählen Nierenschäden, vermehrter Wasserlassen und das Schwächegefühl.₆

Wann kommt es zu einem Mangel?

An dem wertvollen Vitamin mangelt es vor allem dann, wenn wir uns zu wenig in der Sonne aufhalten. Auch Krankheiten, wie z.B. chronisch-entzündliche Darmerkrankungen, können die Aufnahme und Verwertung des Vitamins hemmen und einen Mangel verursachen.₇

Eine typische Folge ist dann die Störung des Knochenstoffwechsels und die damit verbundene Demineralisierung der Knochen. Wie wahrscheinlich ein Mangel ist, hängt aber auch vor allem von Faktoren wie Wohnort, Jahreszeit, Tageszeit, Körpergewicht und Alter ab.₈

Mangel häufiger bei: ans Haus gebundenen Menschen, Senioren, Veganer, Menschen mit dunkler Haut.

Welche Lebensmittel enthalten Vitamin D?

Vitamin D steckt in vielen Champignons

Auch wenn unser Körper das Sonnenvitamin vorrangig über die Sonneneinstrahlung selbst produziert, gibt durchaus einige pflanzliche Lebensmittel₉, die das wertvolle Vitamin enthalten. Hier eine Übersicht:

  • Champignons (1,90 μg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Pfifferlinge (2,10 μg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Steinpilze (3,1 μg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Shitaki (2 μg pro 100 Gramm)
  • Margarine (als Zusatz, 2,5 – 7,5 μg pro 100 Gramm)

Hinweis: Vor allem Heringe, Lachs und Hühnereigelb sind reicht an Vitamin D. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass z.B. Hühner das Vitamin über die Sonneneinstrahlung herstellen.₁₀ Da ich jedoch ein Leben ohne Tierquälerei bevorzuge und auch ohne sie ausreichende Mengen Vitamin D erhalte, verzichte ich auf diese Lebensmittel.

Was müssen Veganer und Vegetarier bezüglich Vitamin D beachten?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptierst du die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die DGE betrachtet das Vitamin D nicht nur bei Veganern, sondern auch in der Allgemeinbevölkerung als kritischen Nährstoff. Doch da die Vitamin-D-Quellen in der pflanzlichen Ernährungsweise nur recht eingeschränkt zur Verfügung stehen, wird Veganern besonders in den sonnenarmen Wintermonaten zur Einnahme von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln geraten.₁₁ Auch ein regelmäßiger Bluttest beim Hausarzt ist grundsätzlich sehr zu empfehlen, um den eigenen Körper besser kennenzulernen.

Wie funktioniert die Nahrungsergänzung mit dem Sonnenvitamin?

Wenn du Vitamin-D-Präparate einnehmen möchtest, solltest du die Nahrungsergänzung mit deinem Hausarzt abstimmen, um eine Überdosierung zu vermeiden. Ist eine Ergänzung sinnvoll, dann sind die folgenden Präparate in Tropfen- oder Kapselform zu empfehlen.

Versorgung mit Vitamin D gewährleisten

Egal ob Veganer oder nicht: halte dich regelmäßig draußen im Freien auf und kleide dich auch regelmäßig so, dass die Sonnenstrahlen deine Haut erreichen. Ernähre dich ausgewogen und nehme regelmäßig Blutuntersuchungen bei deinem Hausarzt vornehmen. Im Falle der Fälle ist dann eine Nahrungsergänzung mit Vitaminpräparaten zu empfehlen. So kannst du einem Mangel an Vitamin D gezielt vorbeugen.

Hast du Fragen oder Anregungen zu diesem Beitrag über das Sonnenvitamin? Dann schreibe mir gerne einen Kommentar.

Bleib‘ gesund,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Du willst wissen, warum ich vegan lebe? Im verlinkten Artikel nenne ich dir meine Gründe.

Quellenangaben:
₁,₃ Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Vitamin D (Calciferole), https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/referenzwerte/vitamin-d. [05.05.2021].

₂ S. Kelm: Vitamin D (Stand: 24.07.2018), https://www.apotheken-umschau.de/mein-koerper/haut-und-haare/vitamin-d-711907.html. [05.05.2021].

₄,₈,₉ Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V.: Ausgewählte Fragen und Antworten zu Vitamin D, https://www.dge.de/wissenschaft/weitere-publikationen/faqs/vitamin-d. [05.05.2021].

₅ Robert Koch-Institut: Was ist Vitamin D und welche Funktionen hat es im Körper? (Stand: 25.01.2019), https://www.rki.de/SharedDocs/FAQ/Vitamin_D/FAQ01.html

₆ M. Feichter: Vitamin D – Überdosierung (Stand: 03.10.2019), https://www.netdoktor.de/ernaehrung/vitamin-d/ueberdosierung. [05.05.2021].

₇ C. Felchner; M. Feichter: Vitamin D – Mangel (Stand: 03.10.2019), https://www.netdoktor.de/ernaehrung/vitamin-d/mangel. [05.05.2021].

₁₀ Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung: Ostereier – Mehr Vitamin D dank Sonnenlicht (Stand: 27.03.2018), https://www.bmbf.de/de/ostereier—mehr-vitamin-d-dank-sonnenlicht-5914.html. [05.05.2021].

₁₁ Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e.V. (DGE, 2016): DGE-Position „Vegane Ernährung“, https://t1p.de/1uw2, S.95.

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

Ich bin Christoph, Umweltwissenschaftler und Autor - und setze mich hier bei CareElite gegen den Plastikmüll in der Umwelt, den Klimawandel und alle anderen großen Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit ein. Gemeinsam mit weiteren, umweltbewussten Bloggern will ich dir Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes, nachhaltiges Leben sowie deine persönliche Weiterentwicklung an die Hand geben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.