Skip to content
Greenwashing - definition, examples and avoidance

Greenwashing - How companies use environmental lies to make themselves look greener than they are

Do you know what Greenwashing is? It's a term that everyone should be familiar with. Companies use targeted marketing measures to present themselves as more sustainable and environmentally friendly than they actually are. Greenwashing is primarily practiced by companies that know full well that they are destroying our environment through their products and services.

In this article, I would like to show you how companies distract from their problem areas by greenwashing and how you can recognize and expose this scam. From the definition, to unprotected terms, to examples and tips for everyday life. Let's go!

Here is another short Table of contents for you:

  1. Definition
  2. Examples
  3. Recognize greenwashing
  4. Designations
  5. Closing words

Documentary Tip: Be sure to check out the documentation "The Green Lie" by Werner Boote. There you will get an even deeper insight into the work of greenwashing companies.

What is greenwashing exactly?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Greenwashing refers to a company's attempt to achieve a "green image" through marketing and PR measures, but without implementing corresponding measures as part of the value creation process. This suggests environmental friendliness and corporate responsibility to consumers.₁

In this way, a company disguises counteracting activities that are harmful to the environment. Many companies often really have the intention, green marketing to operate. But they often run the risk of slipping into a kind of greenwashing, for example because of cost savings.

Forms of greenwashing

Basically, all greenwashing has one thing in common: they distract from other problemscaused by the products of the advertising company. Here I have compiled some types of greenwashing for you:

1. environmentally friendly product belittles the entire range

For example, a fashion company that uses an organic sweater on offer to greenwash its own brand, even though 98 percent of its own range is not produced sustainably.

2. green assertion and vague statements distract from the core business

For example, an energy company that advertises wind power even though 99 percent of its energy comes from coal power.

3. advertising with self-evident facts

For example, a hairspray supplier that still advertises its products as "CFC-free" even though chlorofluorocarbons have been banned as a product ingredient since the 90s.₂

4. companies from environmentally harmful industry get involved

For example, an airline that advertises that CO2emissions of every in-house flight are offset by donations to climate protection projects. Certainly not classic greenwashing, but nevertheless a marketing measure that conveys to passengers that flying is then sustainable.

5. invented cachet

For example, when a company creates its own seal for "grain from controlled cultivation", which at first glance looks like an official, protected seal.

6. juggling technical data and unclear technical terms

For example, when companies print technical numbers of ISO standards on their product packaging. This looks professional, but at second glance it is often just trickery.

7. simply report on greenwashing or sustainability yourself

For example, a food company that privatizes water sources in arid regions (leading to Water shortage leads) and reports an article on the world's most sustainable companies on its company page and lists itself in it.₃

8. comparison with even more environmentally harmful products

For example, when a company uses a particularly environmentally harmful offering to put a slightly less harmful product in a better light.

9. influence on political decision-makers

For example, when a company persuades the Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture to relax environmental regulations.

Examples of greenwashing

Greenwashing at Bayer
With these posters, for example, the Bayer company is greenwashing / © M. Linn, https://www.facebook.com/groups/fridaysforfuturede

I've already given you examples that explain the different forms of "greenwashing" - but of course there's a more practical way. Here are some examples of companies that are greenwashing.

Bayer

In 2018, Bayer took over the globally controversial genetic engineering company Monsanto, which has a large share in the global insect die-off. The image of the Bayer Group has also suffered extremely as a result of the takeover.

Today, the company is again trying to portray itself as greener than it is through targeted greenwashing campaigns. The above is intended to convey to our society that Bayer and climate protection go hand in hand.

German Air Transport Association (BDL)

Air traffic contributes around 4.9 percent to climate change.₄ Nevertheless, the German Air Transport Association (BDL) used targeted greenwashing and the slogan "Air traffic is the most important factor in climate change. "Flying is the new eco" and the reference to the reduced fuel consumption of aircraft the opposite.

Adidas

Adidas makes shoes from ocean waste. At least that's what the term "ocean plastic" used by Adidas for the Parley collection conveys. But Adidas has already confirmed that this is not actually ocean trash at all, but trash that is collected from coastal regions or saved from the sea.₅ The company left open how high the proportion of trash from the environment actually is in shoes and other items of clothing.

Notice: At Fashion from recycled plastic waste I have written down a few more thoughts for you.

RWE

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

This advertising campaign by RWE depicted an energy giant planting wind turbines. This gave the impression that RWE was a green company. In fact, at the time, the company was only sourcing about 2 percent of its energy from renewable sources. At that time, only 0.1 percent of the company's electricity came from wind turbines.₆

Nestlé

At the Nestlé food company, it's hard to know which greenwashing measure to start with. Nestlé is one of the main companies responsible for the Plastic waste vortex in the seathat are now circling in our oceans. After massive criticism of the company, those responsible failed to announce clear targets for reducing single-use plastic packaging or doing without it. The vague target to calm tempers: Plastic packaging is to be made fully recyclable or reusable by 2025 and the proportion of recycled plastic in the company's own products is to be increased - but it was not defined how high the proportion is ultimately to be. The company is therefore greenwashing with vague and unmeasurable claims.

In June 2019, the company even convinced Julia Klöckner to release a joint video in which the German Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture praised Nestlé to the skies.₇

Nestlé even publishes articles on the world's most sustainable companies on its website and simply joins the ranks itself.₈

Tip: Check out the post about Nestle criticism to learn even more.

Starbucks

Every year, around 2.8 billion Coffee2Go cups are thrown away in Germany, which cannot be recycled due to the mixed plastic. The Starbucks coffee chain is a major contributor to this environmental problem, repeatedly attracting attention with greenwashing carried out through empty promises. In 2008, for example, the company promised to offer coffee cups that were 100 percent recyclable. In addition, 25 percent of the drinks that crossed the counter were to be sold in reusable cups. 10 years later, not even one of the two goals had been achieved.₉

Coca Cola

A survey by the Break Free From Plastic initiative showed that in 484 cleanup events conducted in more than 50 countries, Coca-Cola was identified as one of the top polluters of Plastic waste in the environment is.₁₀

Coca Cola engages in brazen greenwashing by boasting about a plastic bottle made of 25 percent marine plastic, thus legitimizing the pollution of the oceans.₁₁

McDonald's

Cheap meat, chemicals, exploitation₁₂ and lots of packaging waste. For example, in 2010 the company produced around 41,000 tons of beef, 3,300 tons of poultry and 3,500 tons of pork.₁₃ This alone has caused McDonald's to emit a massive CO2-emissions. The company makes its money simply because people want to get full quickly and pay little attention to what they eat.

As something like awareness is developing in our society, those responsible reacted in 2009 and changed the background color of the logo from red to green. Today, the stores also make a much more natural and environmentally friendly impression. Of course, this does not make the fast food chain sustainable.

BP (Beyond Petroleum)

For many years, the oil company declared toxic refinery residues as harmless industrial goods and engaged in illegal waste disposal - also in Germany.

BP tried to greenwash its bad image, for example, by changing its logo and name. The logo was redesigned to a sun surrounded by green biomass. Even the traditional name was changed from "British Petroleum" to "Beyond Petroleum". Greenwashing was also done with empty promises. The solar business was supposed to be "doubled" generating enough energy for 40,000 German households per year. BP, for example, had a turnover of over 25 billion US dollars in 2005 and earned only 0.13 percent of its sales from renewable energies.₁₄ These facts then make the elaborate greenwashing attempts fizzle out rather quickly.

Notice: You will certainly notice that they are usually large corporations. These companies generate incredible profits. If they were really interested in sustainability, they would invest their profits in the development of sustainable technologies instead of in brazen greenwashing. This would certainly also have a positive effect on the company's public image.

Recognize, report and avoid greenwashing

Corporate greenwashing

In order not to fall for greenwashing ourselves, we have to learn to question products and offers very specifically. But basically, we as consumers do not have it easy. After all, we can't control every company and every supplier in a supply chain. 

But there are some things we can do to detect greenwashing more quickly. Paying attention to the exact wording - that really helps immensely! And of course it's also worth taking a closer look at the advertising company. It is always a good sign when companies are transparent and provide insights into their work.

Tip: If you feel that a company is greenwashing and thus deceiving consumers, you can report this to the consumer advice center.

Commonly used for greenwashing but unprotected terms, images and tricks

If companies use these terms, images or tricks for their products, services and advertisements, then it could well be greenwashing:

"Ocean Plastic" / "Ozeanplastik"

The term suggests that a company manufactures products from marine waste. But often it is just cheap greenwashing, since the word can be used freely.

"Natural aroma"

Doesn't that sound nice? A strawberry yogurt with natural flavor is nothing other than a strawberry-flavored yogurt made from sawdust. The euphonious name is only permitted because sawdust is made from the natural raw material wood.₁₅

"Sustainable"

This term is also not protected and can simply be used freely without explanation. An ideal basis for greenwashing.

"Climate neutral" / "Climate friendly"

Especially since the Climate change has now arrived to the mainstream media, these terms pile up on products and advertisements. These are also not protected and therefore free to use.

"Environmentally friendly"

It is also easy to claim that a product is environmentally friendly. As long as this is not professionally controlled and consumers do not intervene, there is no trouble for greenwashing companies.

"Organic" / "Ecological

These two terms are not protected. The terms "Bio" and "Öko", on the other hand, are protected. Here it is particularly important to pay attention to the choice of words.

"Regional" / "From here

The terms can be used without explanation. For there is neither a definition of where regionality begins, nor where it ends.

"CFC-free"

The substance has been banned by law since 1991, but even today there are still products on which, for example, the lid is decorated with this claim.

"100% environmentally friendly"

This designation is used with pleasure. But 100% environmentally friendly is fundamentally not possible! Every product has a value chain in which, for example, CO2 is emitted. This is therefore a popular phrase used for greenwashing.

Fake seals and certificates

The self-designed environmental seal "grain from controlled contract farming", for example, is not an official seal, even though it certainly gives the impression of being one.

Green color scheme

The color green usually stands for sustainability. That is why it is often used for products and services that are absolutely not sustainable.

Beautiful pictures

Notice and question the imagery! Chickens or cattle on a fresh green meadow, fresh flower meadows, baby kittens and butterflies make an impression and distract from greenwashing.

Question: Can you think of any other terms that can be misleading? Then feel free to leave me a comment.

What proprietary terms avoid greenwashing?

Most greenwashing conveys to the consumer that it is okay to buy the products and not to have a guilty conscience. But you can't be fobbed off that easily. Companies may only use the following terms if all underlying guidelines are adhered to:

"Organic" / "Eco

The terms are protected by law and may only be used in compliance with all underlying guidelines.

"From controlled organic cultivation"

This term is also protected and may not be used without verified proof.

So, to avoid inadvertently supporting greenwashing, you should be deliberate in your choice of words.

Tip: Use the NABU seal check app! It shows you by a simple photo of the product whether food is ecologically recommendable or not. For the purchase is also worth the CodeCheck app. At a glance you can see, for example, whether food contains palm oil or Microplastics contain

No chance for greenwashing!

Somehow it is already indicative and very sadhow much companies are concerned with concealing activities that are Ecologically or ethically unclean and thus are also simply no longer up to date. In my opinion, those responsible for greenwashing are also disrespectful. Not only towards consumers, but above all towards their own children, who, if everyone were like their parents, would have to grow up and live in a destroyed world.

Is it worth it? Is it really worth it to work for a company that is destroying our environment and dividing our society? At this point I would like to refer once again to the sustainable job portal point out. There you will find a job with added value for you, our environment and our society 😉 Otherwise, all we can do is keep speaking up, signing petitions and, if necessary, triggering a "shitstorm".

Do you have any questions or suggestions about the greenwashing article? Then feel free to write me a comment below this post.

Stay sustainable,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS.: Be sure to check out my article on sustainable documentations on. There you can get even more input about the Environmental problems of our time and get their potential solutions.

References:
₁ N. Lin-Hi: Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon - Greenwashing, available at https://wirtschaftslexikon.gabler.de/definition/greenwashing-51592 [23.11.2019].

₂ n-tv Nachrichtenfernsehen GmbH: Inadmissible advertising - "CFC-free" is not an advantage, available at https://www.n-tv.de/ratgeber/FCKW-frei-ist-kein-Vorteil-article901667.html. [22.11.2019].

₃,₈ Nestlé Deutschland AG: The World's Most Sustainable Companies, available at https://www.nestle.de/storys/djsi-nachhaltigste-unternehmen-der-welt. [23.11.2019].

₄ David S. Lee, David W. Fahey, Piers M. Forster; et al.Aviation and global climate change in the 21st century, available at https://elib.dlr.de/59761/1/lee.pdf. [24.11.2019].

₅ ARD (2019): Greenwashing with "Ocean Plastic" | REPORT MAINZ, YouTube, Jul. 31, 2019, web, Nov. 24, 2019 at 09:40 AM, in: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=267&v=kny_XT5EZvM&feature=emb_logo.

₆ GREENALITY e.K.: Es Grünt So Grün: "Best Of" Greenwashing, available at https://www.greenality.de/blog/es-gruent-so-gruen-best-of-greenwashing. [25.11.2019].

₇ ZEIT ONLINE GmbH: Julia Klöckner criticized for video with Nestlé boss (as of Jun 05, 2019), available at https://www.zeit.de/politik/deutschland/2019-06/lobbyismus-julia-kloeckner-nestle-vorwurf-pr [24 Nov 2019].

₉ K. Martinho: Starbucks promises, yet again, to make a recyclable coffee cup, available at https://www.treehugger.com/corporate-responsibility/starbucks-promises-yet-again-make-recyclable-coffee-cup.html. [24.11.2019].

₁₀,₁₁ Deutsche Umwelthilfe (2019): Deutsche Umwelthilfe criticizes Coca-Cola for brazen greenwashing with single-use bottles made of marine plastic (as of 25 October 2019), available at https://www.duh.de/presse/pressemitteilungen/pressemitteilung/deutsche-umwelthilfe-kritisiert-coca-cola-wegen-dreistem-greenwashing-mit-einwegflaschen-aus-meeresp [24 November 2019].

₁₂ DER SPIEGEL GmbH & Co. KG: Employees sue McDonald's for "theft" (accessed March 14, 2014), available at http://www.spiegel.de/wirtschaft/unternehmen/mcdonald-s-mitarbeiter-in-den-usa-klagen-wegen-ausbeutung-a-958571.html. [23.11.2019].

₁₃ DER SPIEGEL GmbH & Co. KG, "McDonald's is not green!" (as of Dec. 31, 2011), available at https://www.spiegel.de/wirtschaft/unternehmen/fast-food-kette-mcdonald-s-ist-nicht-gruen-a-804272.html.

₁₄ BUND - Regionalverband Südlicher Oberrhein: Greenwash bei British Petroleum - Der BP-Schwindel (as of 17 December 2016), available at http://www.bund-rvso.de/bp-schwindel.html. [24.11.2019].

₁₅ Greensurance® Für Mensch und Umwelt UG: Caution! "Greenwashing," available at https://www.greensurance.de/einkaufsratgeber/vorsicht-greenwashing/#1485534683302-84af1a33-57f5. [23.11.2019].

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

2 thoughts on “Greenwashing – Wie Unternehmen sich mit Umweltlügen grüner machen, als sie sind”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Greenwashing - Definiton, Beispiele und Vermeidung

Greenwashing – Wie Unternehmen sich mit Umweltlügen grüner machen, als sie sind

Christoph Arbeit & Beruf, CareElite Blog, Nachhaltig leben, Wissen Leave a Comment

Weißt du, was Greenwashing ist? Es ist ein Begriff, den jeder kennen sollte. Unternehmen zielen dabei nämlich durch gezielte Marketing-Maßnahmen darauf ab, sich nachhaltiger und umweltfreundlicher darzustellen, als sie tatsächlich sind. Greenwashing betreiben vor allem die Unternehmen, die ganz genau wissen, dass sie unsere Umwelt durch ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen zerstören.

In diesem Artikel möchte ich dir jetzt zeigen, wie Unternehmen durch Greenwashing von ihren Problemzonen ablenken und wie du diese Masche erkennen und entlarven kannst. Von der Definition, über ungeschützte Bezeichnungen, bis hin zu Beispielen und Tipps für den Alltag. Auf geht’s!

Hier ist noch ein kurzes Inhaltsverzeichnis für dich:

  1. Definition
  2. Beispiele
  3. Greenwashing erkennen
  4. Bezeichnungen
  5. Schlusswort

Doku-Tipp: Schaue dir unbedingt die Dokumentation „Die Grüne Lüge“ von Werner Boote an. Dort erhältst du einen noch tieferen Einblick in die Arbeit von Unternehmen, die Greenwashing betreiben.

Was ist Greenwashing genau?

Greenwashing bezeichnet den Versuch eines Unternehmen, durch Marketing- und PR-Maßnahmen ein „grünes Image“ zu erlangen, ohne allerdings entsprechende Maßnahmen im Rahmen der Wertschöpfung zu implementieren. Dadurch wird Verbrauchern Umweltfreundlichkeit und Unternehmensverantwortung suggeriert.1)

Auf diese Weise verschleiert ein Unternehmen gegenläufige, umweltbelastende Aktivitäten. Viele Unternehmen haben häufig wirklich die Intention, grünes Marketing zu betreiben. Doch sie laufen oft Gefahr, zum Beispiel aufgrund von Kostenersparnissen, in eine Art von Greenwashing abzurutschen.

Formen von Greenwashing

Eins haben im Grunde alle Greenwashing-Maßnahmen gemeinsam: sie lenken von anderen Problemen ab, die durch die Produkte des werbetreibenden Unternehmens verursacht werden. Hier habe ich dir einige Arten von Greenwashing zusammengestellt:

1. Umweltfreundliches Produkt verharmlost gesamtes Sortiment

Zum Beispiel ein Mode-Unternehmen, dass einen angebotenen Bio-Pullover zum Greenwashing der eigenen Marke nutzt, obwohl 98 Prozent des eigenen Sortiments nicht nachhaltig produziert wird.

2. Grüne Behauptung und vage Aussagen lenken vom Kerngeschäft ab

Zum Beispiel ein Energie-Unternehmen, dass mit Windkraft wirbt, obwohl 99 Prozent seiner Energie aus Kohlekraft stammt.

3. Werbung mit Selbstverständlichkeiten

Zum Beispiel ein Haarspray-Anbieter, der noch mit „FCKW-frei“ auf seinen Produkten wirbt, obwohl Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffe als Produktbestandteil bereits seit den 90ern verboten sind.2)

4. Unternehmen aus umweltschädlicher Branche engagieren sich

Zum Beispiel eine Airline die damit wirbt, dass der CO2-Ausstoß jedes hauseigenen Fluges per Spende an Klimaschutzprojekte kompensiert wird. Sicher kein klassisches Greenwashing, aber dennoch eine Marketing-Maßnahme, die Fluggästen vermittelt, dass das Fliegen dann nachhaltig ist.

5. Erfundene Gütesiegel

Zum Beispiel, wenn ein Unternehmen ein eigenes Siegel für „Getreide aus kontrolliertem Anbau“ kreiert, das auf den ersten Blick wie ein offizielles, geschütztes Siegel aussieht.

6. Mit technischen Daten und unklaren Fachbegriffen jonglieren

Zum Beispiel, wenn Unternehmen technische Nummern von ISO-Normen auf ihre Produkt-Verpackung drucken. Das sieht professionell aus, ist aber auf den zweiten Blick oft nur Trickserei.

7. Einfach selbst über Greenwashing bzw. Nachhaltigkeit berichten

Zum Beispiel ein Lebensmittel-Konzern, der Wasserquellen in trockenen Regionen privatisiert (was zu Wasserknappheit führt) und auf seiner Unternehmensseite einen Beitrag über die nachhaltigsten Unternehmen der Welt berichtet und sich selbst darin auflistet.3)

8. Vergleich mit noch umweltschädlicherem Produkten

Zum Beispiel, wenn ein Unternehmen ein besonders umweltschädliches Angebot nutzt, um ein ein etwas weniger schädliches Produkt in ein besseres Licht zu stellen.

9. Einfluss auf politische Entscheidungsträger

Zum Beispiel, wenn ein Unternehmen die Bundesministerin für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft dazu bewegt, Umweltvorgaben zu lockern.

Beispiele für Greenwashing

Greenwashing bei Bayer
Mit diesen Plakaten betreibt zum Beispiel das Unternehmen Bayer Greenwashing / © M. Linn, https://www.facebook.com/groups/fridaysforfuturede

Ich habe dir bereits Beispiele genannt, die dir die unterschiedlichen Formen des „Grünwaschens“ erläutern – doch es geht natürlich noch praktischer. Hier sind einige Beispiele für Unternehmen, die Greenwashing betreiben.

Bayer

Im Jahr 2018 hat Bayer den weltweit umstrittenen Gentechnik-Konzern Monsanto übernommen, der großen Anteil am globalen Insektensterben hat. Unter der Übernahme hat auch das Image des Bayer-Konzerns extrem gelitten.

Heute versucht sich das Unternehmen durch gezielte Greenwashing-Kampagnen wieder grüner darzustellen, als es ist. Das oben aufgeführte soll unserer Gesellschaft vermitteln, dass Bayer und Klimaschutz Hand in Hand gehen.

Bundesverband der Deutschen Luftverkehrswirtschaft (BDL)

Der Luftverkehr trägt mit etwa 4,9 Prozent zum Klimawandel bei.4) Dennoch vermittelte der Luftfahrtverband BDL in einem Werbespot durch gezieltes Greenwashing und dem Spruch „Fliegen ist das neue Öko“ und dem Bezug auf den gesunkenen Kraftstoffverbrauch von Flugzeugen das Gegenteil.

Adidas

Adidas stellt Schuhe aus Meeresmüll her. Das vermittelt zumindest der Begriff „Ozeanplastik“, der von Adidas für die Parley-Kollektion genutzt wird. Doch Adidas bestätigte bereits, dass es sich dabei eigentlich gar nicht um Meeresmüll handelt, sondern um Müll, der an den Küstenregionen eingesammelt wird bzw. vor dem Meer bewahrt wird.5) Wie hoch der Anteil des Mülls aus der Umwelt an Schuhen und anderen Kleidungsstücken tatsächlich ist, lies das Unternehmen offen.

Hinweis: Unter Mode aus recyceltem Plastikmüll habe ich dir dazu noch ein paar weitere Überlegungen niedergeschrieben.

RWE

Diese Werbekampagne von RWE stelle einen Energieriesen dar, der Windräder pflanzte. Dadurch wurde der Eindruck vermittelt, dass RWE ein grünes Unternehmen sei. Tatsächlich bezog das Unternehmen zu diesem Zeitpunkt nur etwa 2 Prozent seiner Energie aus erneuerbaren Energien. Von Windrädern stammten da sogar nur 0,1 Prozent des Stromanteils des Konzerns.6)

Nestlé

Beim Lebensmittelkonzern Nestlé weiß man gar nicht, mit welcher Greenwashing-Maßnahme man anfangen sollte. Nestlé gehört zu den hauptverantwortlichen Unternehmen für die Plastikmüllstrudel im Meer, die heute in unseren Ozeanen kreisen. Nach massiver Kritik an dem Unternehmen, verpassten die Verantwortlichen es, klare Ziele zur Reduktion von Einwegplastikverpackungen bzw. einen Verzicht auf diese bekanntzugeben. Die schwammige Zielsetzung um die Gemüter zu beruhigen: Plastikverpackungen sollen bis 2025 vollumfänglich recycelbar oder wiederverwendbar gemacht und der Anteil von recyceltem Plastik an den eigenen Produkten erhöht werden – doch es wurde nicht definiert, wie hoch der Anteil schlussendlich werden soll. Das Unternehmen betreibt hier also Greenwashing mit vagen und nicht messbaren Behauptungen.

Im Juni 2019 überzeugte das Unternehmen sogar Julia Klöckner dazu bewegt, ein gemeinsames Video zu veröffentlichen, bei dem die deutsche Bundesministerin für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft Nestlé in den Himmel lobte.7)

Nestlé veröffentlicht auf seiner Internetseite sogar Artikel über die nachhaltigsten Unternehmen der Welt und reiht sich dabei einfach selbst mit in die Riege ein.8) Diese Dreistigkeit fand ich dann auch noch sehr beeindruckend.

Tipp: Schaue dir den Beitrag über Nestle Kritik an, um noch mehr zu erfahren.

Starbucks

Jährlich werden in Deutschland etwa 2,8 Milliarden Coffee2Go-Becher weggeworfen, die aufgrund des Mischkunststoffs nicht recycelt werden können. Die Kaffee-Kette Starbucks trägt wesentlich zu dieser Umweltproblematik bei und fiel dabei immer wieder mit durch leere Versprechungen durchgeführtes Greenwashing auf. Im Jahr 2008 hat das Unternehmen beispielsweise versprochen, Kaffeebecher anzubieten, die 100 Prozent recycelbar sind. Zudem sollten 25 Prozent der Getränke, die über den Tresen wandern, in wiederverwendbaren Bechern verkauft werden. 10 Jahre später war noch nicht einmal eines der beiden Ziele erreicht.9)

Coca Cola

Eine Untersuchung der Initiative Break Free From Plastic hat gezeigt, dass in 484 durchgeführten Aufräumaktionen in über 50 Ländern Coca-Cola als einer der Hauptverursacher von Plastikmüll in der Umwelt ist.10)

Coca Cola betreibt dreistes Greenwashing, indem sich das Unternehmen mit einer Plastikflasche aus 25 Prozent Meeresplastik brüstet und die Verschmutzung der Meere damit legitimiert.11)

McDonald’s

Billigfleisch, Chemikalien, Ausbeutung12) und jede Menge Verpackungsmüll. Das Unternehmen produzierte beispielsweise im Jahr 2010 etwa 41.000 Tonnen Rind-, 3.300 Tonnen Geflügel- und 3.500 Tonnen Schweinefleisch.13) Allein dadurch hat McDonald’s einen massiven CO2-Ausstoß. Das Unternehmen verdient sein Geld einfach nur damit, dass Menschen schnell satt werden wollen und wenig darauf achten, was sie essen.

Da sich in unserer Gesellschaft so etwas wie ein Bewusstsein entwickelt, reagierten die Verantwortlichen im Jahr 2009 und änderten die Hintergrundfarbe des Logos von Rot zu Grün. Auch die Filialen machen heute einen deutlich natürlicheren und umweltfreundlicheren Eindruck. Nachhaltig ist die Fastfood-Kette deshalb natürlich nicht.

Buchtipp Nachhaltig leben für Einsteiger

BP (Beyond Petroleum)

Der Ölkonzern deklarierte über viele Jahre giftige Raffinerierückstände als harmloses Industriegut und betrieb illegale Müllentsorgung – auch in Deutschland.

Sein schlechtes Image versuchte BP beispielsweise durch eine Logo- und Namensänderung grün zu waschen. Das Logo wurde zu einer Sonne umgeben von grüner Biomasse umdesigned. Sogar der traditionelle Name wurde von „British Petroleum“ zu „Beyond Petroleum“ geändert. Mit leeren Versprechung wurde ebenfalls Greenwashing betrieben. Das Solargeschäft sollte „verdoppelt“ werdend genug Energie für 40.000 deutsche Haushalte pro Jahr erzeugen. BP hat beispielsweise im Jahr 2005 über 25 Milliarden US-Dollar umgesetzt und nur 0,13 Prozent des Umsatzes mit erneuerbaren Energien verdient.14) Diese Fakten lassen die aufwendigen Greenwashing-Versuche dann doch ziemlich schnell verpuffen.

Hinweis: Dir wird sicher auffallen, dass es sich in der Regel um große Konzerne handelt. Diese Unternehmen erwirtschaften unglaubliche Gewinne. Wenn sie wirklich an Nachhaltigkeit interessiert wären, würden sie ihren Profit in die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Technologien, anstatt in dreistes Greenwashing investieren. Das würde sicherlich auch einen positiven Effekt auf das Unternehmensimage in der Öffentlichkeit haben.

Greenwashing erkennen, melden und vermeiden

Greenwashing von Unternehmen

Um nicht selbst auf Greenwashing hereinzufallen, muss man lernen, Produkte und Angebote ganz gezielt zu hinterfragen. Doch grundsätzlich haben wir es als Konsument schon nicht leicht. Wir können schließlich nicht jedes Unternehmen und jeden Zulieferer einer Lieferkette kontrollieren. 

Doch es gibt einige Dinge, mit denen wir Greenwashing schneller erkennen können. Auf den genauen Wortlaut zu achten – das hilft wirklich ungemein! Und selbstverständlich lohnt es sich auch, das werbende Unternehmen genauer zu beleuchten. Ein gutes Zeichen ist immer, wenn sich Unternehmen transparent zeigen und Einblicke in ihre Arbeit gewähren.

Tipp: Wenn du das Gefühl hast, dass ein Unternehmen Greenwashing und damit Verbrauchertäuschung betreibt, kannst du dies der Verbraucherzentrale melden.

Häufig für Greenwashing genutzte aber ungeschützte Bezeichnungen, Bilder und Tricks

Wenn Unternehmen diese Begriffe, Bilder oder Tricks für ihre Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Werbeanzeigen nutzen, dann könnte es sich durchaus um Greenwashing handeln:

»Ocean Plastic« / »Ozeanplastik«

Der Begriff suggeriert, dass ein Unternehmen Produkte aus Meeresmüll herstellt. Doch oft handelt es sich nur um billiges Greenwashing, da das Wort frei verwendbar ist.

»Natürliches Aroma«

Klingt das nicht schön? Ein Erdbeerjoghurt mit natürlichem Aroma ist nichts anderes als ein Joghurt mit Erdbeeraroma aus Sägemehl. Die wohlklingende Bezeichnung ist nur erlaubt, weil Sägemehl aus dem natürlichen Ausgangsstoff Holz entsteht.15)

»Nachhaltig«

Auch dieser Begriff ist nicht geschützt und kann ohne Erklärung einfach frei verwendet werden. Eine ideale Grundlage für Greenwashing.

»Klimaneutral« / »Klimafreundlich«

Vor allem, seit der Klimawandel nun zu den Hauptthemen der Mainstream-Medien angekommen ist, häufen sich diese Begriffe auf Produkten und Werbeanzeigen. Auch diese sind nicht geschützt und deshalb frei verwendbar.

»Umweltschonend«

Auch, dass ein Produkt umweltschonend ist, kann erst einmal einfach behauptet werden. Solange das nicht fachlich kontrolliert wird und Konsumenten nicht eingreifen, gibt es für grünwaschende Unternehmen auch keinen Ärger.

»Biologisch« / »Ökologisch«

Diese beiden Begriffe sind nicht geschützt. Die Bezeichnungen »Bio« und »Öko« sind hingegen geschützt. Hier gilt es ganz besonders, auf die Wortwahl zu achten.

»Regional« / »Von hier«

Die Begriffe können unerklärt verwendet werden. Denn es gibt weder eine Definition dafür, wo Regionalität anfängt, noch wo sie aufhört.

»FCKW-frei«

Der der Stoff ist bereits seit 1991 per Gesetz verboten, dennoch gibt es selbst heute noch Produkte, bei denen zum Beispiel der Deckel mit diesem Claim verziert ist.

»100% umweltfreundlich«

Diese Bezeichnung wird gern verwendet. Doch 100% umweltfreundlich geht grundsätzlich nicht! Jedes Produkt hat eine Wertschöpfungskette, in der beispielsweise CO2 ausgestoßen wird. Es handelt sich also um eine gern genutzt Floskel, um Greenwashing zu betreiben.

Fake-Siegel und -Zertifikate

Das selbst-designte Umweltsiegel »Getreide aus kontrolliertem Vertragsanbau« ist beispielsweise kein offizielles Siegel, auch wenn es durchaus den Eindruck macht.

Grüne Farbgebung

Die Farbe Grün steht in der Regel für Nachhaltigkeit. Deshalb wird sie häufig auch bei Produkten und Dienstleistungen eingesetzt, die absolut nicht nachhaltig sind.

Schöne Bilder

Beachte und hinterfrage die Bildsprache! Hühner oder Rinder auf einer frischen grünen Wiese, frische Blumenwiesen, Baby-Kätzchen und Schmetterlinge machen Eindruck und lenken vom Greenwashing ab.

Frage: Fallen dir weitere Begriffe ein, die irreführend sein können? Dann hinterlasse mir gern einen Kommentar.

Welche geschützten Begriffe vermeiden Greenwashing?

Die meisten Greenwashing-Maßnahmen vermittelt dem Verbraucher, dass man die Produkte ruhig kaufen kann und kein schlechtes Gewissen haben muss. Doch so einfach darf man sich nicht abspeisen lassen. Die folgenden Begriffe dürfen Unternehmen nur nutzen, wenn alle zu Grunde liegenden Richtlinien eingehalten werden:

»Bio« / »Öko«

Die Begriffe sind gesetzlich geschützt und dürfen nur bei Einhaltung aller zu Grunde liegenden Richtlinien verwendet werden.

»Aus kontrolliert biologischem Anbau«

Auch dieser Begriff ist geschützt und darf nicht ohne geprüften Nachweis verwendet werden.

Um Greenwashing nicht aus Versehen zu unterstützen, solltest du also bewusst auf die genaue Wortwahl achten.

Tipp: Nutze die NABU-Siegel-Check-App! Sie zeigt dir durch ein einfaches Foto des Produktes, ob Lebensmittel ökologisch empfehlenswert sind oder nicht. Für den Einkauf lohnt sich auch die CodeCheck-App. Auf einen Blick siehst du beispielsweise, ob Lebensmittel Palmöl oder Mikroplastik enthalten.

Keine Chance für Greenwashing!

Irgendwie ist es schon bezeichnend und sehr traurig, wie sehr Unternehmen darum bemüht sind, Tätigkeiten zu verschleiern, die ökologisch oder ethisch unsauber und damit auch einfach nicht mehr zeitgemäß sind. Verantwortliche, die Greenwashing sind meiner Meinung nach auch respektlos. Nicht nur gegenüber den Verbrauchern, sondern vor allem gegenüber ihren eigenen Kindern, die, wenn alle so wären wie ihre Eltern, in einer zerstörten Welt aufwachsen und leben müssten.

Ist es das wert? Ist es das wirklich wert, für Unternehmen zu arbeiten, dass unsere Umwelt zerstört und unsere Gesellschaft spaltet? An dieser Stelle möchte ich noch einmal auf das nachhaltige Jobportal hinweisen. Dort findest du einen Job mit Mehrwert für dich, unsere Umwelt und unsere Gesellschaft. 😉 Ansonsten bleibt uns einfach nur, weiter den Mund aufzumachen, Petitionen zu unterschreiben und im Notfall auch, einen „Shitstorm“ auszulösen.

Hast du Fragen oder Anregungen zum Greenwashing-Artikel? Dann schreibe mir gern einen Kommentar unter diesem Beitrag.

Bleib‘ nachhaltig,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Schaue dir unbedingt meinen Artikel über nachhaltige Dokumentationen an. Dort kannst du dir noch mehr Input über die Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit und ihre potentiellen Lösungen holen.

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Bei CareElite gebe ich dir zusammen mit anderen umweltbewussten Bloggern Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes und vor allem nachhaltiges Leben, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen.Wenn du möchtest, dass wir weiter mit voller Kraft an CareElite arbeiten, kannst du uns gern ein paar Taler für die technische Verbesserung der Webseite, CleanUp-Material und neue aufklärende Blogbeiträge in unsere Kaffeekasse werfen. So oder so - danke, dass du da bist!

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

Einzelnachweise   [ + ]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.