Skip to content
CodeCheck app for identifying products of concern

Exposing questionable products with the CodeCheck app

The CodeCheck App helps our society to buy healthy and sustainable products. This is not so easy nowadays due to aggressive and often only half-true advertising and the many technical terms of the ingredients on the packaging. Today, I'll show you exactly how to get the app and how to use it optimally so that you only consume harmless products in the future. I also conducted an interview with Franziska Grammes, the Communications Manager of Codecheck, which I will share with you in the course of the article. Let's go!

What are the benefits of the CodeCheck app?

You can check microplastics in cosmetics!

The app makes it easier for you to spend a long time examining consumer goods for the quality of their ingredients. With the Codecheck app, consumers use the barcode on the back of an item to check within seconds whether it is healthy, socially and environmentally compatible. This makes the purchasing decision easier and doesn't leave us as buyers in the dark for long. Because too many products today contain microplastics, Palm oil or sugar additives and many other unhealthy or environmentally harmful additives. I personally think that CodeCheck can put companies under massive pressure with this app. Because the more people use this app, the more likely it is that responsible entrepreneurs will be pressured to manufacture their products more conscientiously. We consumers have it in our own hands and can make a big difference!


Interview with Franziska Grammes from CodeCheck

As promised, here is my interview with Franziska Grammes from CodeCheck. A great team, with environmentally conscious employees, in my opinion! And now have fun with the interview:

Why was CodeCheck created?

Similar to you, our founder Roman Bleichenbacher also got the idea for CodeCheck during a vacation: When he was traveling in Cuba in 1998 and, unfamiliar with the local offerings, bought a completely inedible mango, he asked himself for the first time what criteria we actually use to make our purchasing decisions. Back in Switzerland, he begins to build a database in which consumers can compile information about products themselves. This includes not only the origin of the product, but also the label, the price and the exact ingredients. All this information is stored and summarized via the barcode number. The idea is that once enough information has been gathered, people can make truly empowered decisions. Decisions that are not only good for their health, but also for the planet.

What are the major dangers lurking in consumer products. When is a product optimal and what aspects do you use to determine this?

An optimal product is neither harmful to health nor to the environment. However, it is impossible to make absolute statements here, because what is potentially "harmful" and what is not is sometimes very different from one individual to another or cannot really be determined at the present time. For example, one person may be allergic to certain fragrances, but another may not. Another wants to avoid palm oil from conventional cultivation, but makes exceptions for products with certified palm oil. Someone else wants to avoid microplastics, but another does not. Therefore, with the CodeCheck app, one can individually set on which factors the focus should be placed. CodeCheck itself is not an evaluating authority that makes statements. We just provide people with the appropriate information in a matter of seconds. For this purpose, we work with Greenpeace, WWF or BUND, among others. However, the decision is ultimately made by the user himself.

What are CodeCheck's goals for the next few years? What is being worked on?

After CodeCheck has only been available throughout the German-speaking world, it is now to be made accessible to an international audience. The next big step is therefore the launch in the USA this fall. We are also working on a "carbon footprint function" that will make it possible to identify which products are CO2-intensive and which are not.

Why should the consumer use CodeCheck?

CodeCheck should be used by anyone who wants to know more about the products they use every day.

What is the easiest way for consumers to use CodeCheck?

It really is child's play. Simply download the free app for iOS or Android, pick up a (packaged) food or cosmetic product, and scan the barcode. Within seconds, you can find out whether there's palm oil in your pizza or microplastics in your shower gel - and much more. In total, we rate more than 6,000 different ingredients. For foods, we also display a nutritional traffic light.

What does CodeCheck want future consumption to look like?

People are becoming increasingly concerned with the products they consume. Through their purchasing decisions, they send very clear signals to manufacturers, who must respond. Therefore, it will become much more transparent in the future where products come from, under what conditions they were produced and what exactly they contain. (see also Zero Waste Lifestyle)

Thank you very much for the pleasant interview!

Get the CodeCheck app here

You can download CodeCheck's app for avoiding ingredients in consumer products that are harmful to health or the environment from either the Google Playstore (Android smartphones) or Apple's AppStore (iOS smartphones).

You can download the CodeCheck app here in the AppStore
Click here to download directly from the Google PlayStore

Download and installation are self-explanatory, as with all other apps.

Optimal use of the CodeCheck app when shopping

I have honestly rarely used an app that is so easy to use. Above all, within a few seconds you already have the result you want. No long waiting time and the result is clearly displayed on the cell phone. It's that simple:

  1. Switch on the app and scan the barcode of the item
  2. The evaluation circle shows you the assessment of the product in different colors: Red = Very alarming, because carcinogenic, environmentally harmful, etc.; Green = Harmless ingredients.

That's it. However, the app is basically a large product database where you can also search for individual brands or manufacturers without scanning the barcode. For each item, you get a lot of special information. If an item is very questionable, the app even recommends a suitable alternative product based on the data you searched for.

The CodeCheck app makes the world a little better

I am glad that Roman Bleichenbacher was traveling in Cuba and thus got the impetus to develop the app. Because the CodeCheck app makes it easier to plastic free life and generally the environmentally friendly everyday life, like basically no other app. Easy to use and effective in solving problems. The CodeCheck app shows you immediately whether an item is healthy, socially and environmentally compatible. This changes consumption in the long term, so that companies are forced to adapt their products accordingly due to the change in demand.

With this in mind, stay clean,

Living plastic-free - Less plastic waste in the environment

PS.: You are welcome to read the article Microplastics in cosmetics through if you're not 100% convinced of the need for this app yet 🙂 .

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

4 thoughts on “Mit der CodeCheck App bedenkliche Produkte entlarven”

  1. You provide here very helpful tricks that help me and I'm sure many others to ease their conscience by a plastic-poorer and more ecological way of life! Thanks for that you have helped me a lot. 🙂

    1. Hi Maximilian! Thanks for your feedback, that's really nice to hear 🙂 .
      Keep up the good work and best regards,
      Christoph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CodeCheck-App zum Erkennen bedenklicher Produkte

Mit der CodeCheck App bedenkliche Produkte entlarven

Christoph CareElite Blog, Lebensmittel, Natürliche Gesundheit, Plastikfrei leben, Umweltschutz Interviews 4 Comments

Die CodeCheck App hilft unserer Gesellschaft dabei, gesunde und nachhaltige Produkte einzukaufen. Das ist heutzutage aufgrund aggressiver und oft nur halb-wahrer Werbung und den vielen Fachbegriffen der Inhaltsstoffe auf den Verpackungen, gar nicht mehr so einfach. Ich zeige dir heute genau, wie du die App bekommst und optimal anwendest, sodass du in Zukunft nur noch unbedenkliche Produkte konsumierst. Außerdem habe für dich ein Interview mit Franziska Grammes, der Communications Managerin von Codecheck geführt, dass ich dir im Laufe des Artikels mit auf den Weg geben werde. Auf geht’s!

Was bringt die CodeCheck-App?

Die App erleichtert dir die lange Untersuchung von Konsumgütern auf Qualität der Inhaltsstoffe.  Mit der Codecheck-App prüft der Konsument innerhalb von Sekunden anhand des Barcodes auf der Rückseite eines Artikels, ob er gesund, sozial- und umweltverträglich ist. Das erleichtert die Kaufentscheidung und lässt uns als Käufer nicht lange im dunkeln tappen. Denn zu viele Produkte enthalten heute Mikroplastik, Palmöl oder auch Zuckerzusätze und viele andere ungesunde bzw. umweltbelastende Zusatzstoffe. Ich persönlich denke, dass CodeCheck mit dieser App die Unternehmen massiv unter Druck setzen kann. Denn je mehr Menschen diese App nutzen, desto eher werden Verantwortliche Unternehmer dazu gedrängt, ihre Produkte gewissenhafter herzustellen. Wir Verbraucher haben es selbst in der Hand und können viel bewegen!

Mikroplastik in Kosmetika kannst du checken!


Interview mit Franziska Grammes von CodeCheck

Wie versprochen folgt jetzt mein Interview mit Franziska Grammes von CodeCheck. Ein tolles Team, mit umweltbewussten Mitarbeitern, wie ich finde! Und jetzt viel Spaß mit dem Interview:

Warum wurde CodeCheck ins Leben gerufen?

Ähnlich wie bei dir, kam unserem Gründer Roman Bleichenbacher die Idee zu CodeCheck auch während eines Urlaubs: Als er 1998 in Kuba unterwegs ist und, des lokalen Angebots unkundig, eine völlig ungenießbare Mango kauft, fragt er sich erstmals, nach welchen Kriterien wir eigentlich unsere Kaufentscheidungen treffen. Zurück in der Schweiz beginnt er mit dem Aufbau einer Datenbank, in der die Konsumenten selbst Informationen zu Produkten zusammentragen können. Dazu gehören neben der Herkunft des Produktes auch Label. der Preis und die genauen Inhaltsstoffe. Gespeichert und zusammengefasst werden all diese Informationen über die Barcode-Nummer. Die Idee: wenn genügend Informationen zusammengetragen sind, können Menschen wirklich souveräne Entscheidungen treffen. Entscheidungen die nicht nur gut für die Gesundheit, sondern auch den Planeten sind.

Welche großen Gefahren lauern in den Konsumgütern. Wann ist ein Produkt optimal und anhand welcher Aspekte macht ihr das aus?

Ein optimales Produkt schadet weder der Gesundheit noch der Umwelt. Allerdings ist es hier unmöglich absolute Aussagen zu treffen, denn was potenziell “schädlich” ist und was nicht, ist teilweise individuell sehr verschieden oder zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt nicht wirklich feststellbar. So reagiert der eine eventuell allergisch auf bestimmte Duftstoffe, der andere jedoch nicht. Ein weiterer möchte Palmöl aus konventionellem Anbau meiden, macht aber bei Produkten mit zertifiziertem Palmöl Ausnahmen. Jemand anderes möchte Mikroplastik meiden, ein anderer jedoch nicht. Daher kann man mit der CodeCheck-App ganz individuell einstellen, auf welche Faktoren der Fokus gelegt werden soll. CodeCheck selbst ist keine bewertende Instanz, die Aussagen trifft. Wir stellen Menschen nur in sekundenschnelle die passenden Informationen zur Verfügung. Dafür arbeiten wir unter anderem mit Greenpeace, dem WWF oder dem BUND. Die Entscheidung trifft jedoch letzten Endes der Nutzer selbst.

Welche Ziele verfolgt CodeCheck in den nächsten Jahren? Woran wird gearbeitet?

Nachdem CodeCheck nur im gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum verfügbar ist, soll sie nun auch einem internationalen Publikum zugänglich gemacht werden. Der nächste große Step ist daher der Launch in den USA in diesem Herbst. Weiterhin arbeiten wir an einer “Carbon Footprint Funktion”, die es möglich machen soll, zu erkennen, welche Produkte CO2-intensiv sind, und welche nicht.

Warum sollte der Konsument CodeCheck benutzen?

CodeCheck sollte jeder nutzen, der mehr über die Produkte wissen möchte, die täglich genutzt werden.

Wie können Konsumenten CodeCheck am Einfachsten einsetzen?

Es ist wirklich kinderleicht. Einfach die kostenlose App für iOS oder Android herunterladen, ein (verpacktes) Lebensmittel oder Kosmetikprodukt zur Hand nehmen und den Barcode scannen. Binnen von Sekunden erfährt man, ob beispielsweise Palmöl in der Pizza oder Mikroplastik im Duschgel stecken – und noch vieles mehr: Insgesamt bewerten wir mehr als 6.000 verschiedene Inhaltsstoffe. Für Lebensmittel zeigen wir weiterhin eine Nährwertampel an.

Wie sieht der zukünftige Konsum nach Wunsch von CodeCheck aus?

Menschen setzen sich immer mehr mit den Produkten auseinander, die sie konsumieren. Durch ihre Kaufentscheidungen senden sie sehr klare Signale an die Hersteller, die darauf reagieren müssen. Daher wird es in Zukunft sehr viel transparenter werden, woher Produkte kommen, unter welchen Bedingungen sie produziert wurden und was sie genau enthalten. (siehe auch Zero Waste Lebensstil)

Vielen Dank für das angenehme Interview!

Hier bekommst du die CodeCheck App

Du kannst die App von CodeCheck zur Vermeidung von gesundheits- oder umweltschädlichen Inhaltsstoffen in Konsumartikeln entweder im Google Playstore (Android-Smartphones) oder im AppStore von Apple (iOS-Smartphones) herunterladen.

Die CodeCheck App kannst du hier im AppStore herunterladen

Hier geht’s  direkt zum Download im Google PlayStore

Download und Installation sind wie bei allen anderen Apps selbsterklärend.

Optimale Anwendung der CodeCheck App beim Einkauf

Ich habe ehrlich gesagt selten eine App genutzt, die so einfach in der Anwendung ist. Vor allem hat man innerhalb von ein paar Sekunden schon das Ergebnis, das man haben will. Keine lange warte Zeit und das Ergebnis übersichtlich auf dem Handy. So einfach geht’s:

  1. App einschalten und Barcode des Artikels scannen
  2. Der Bewertungskreis zeigt dir die Einschätzung des Produktes in unterschiedlichen Farben: Rot = Sehr bedenklich, weil krebserregend, umweltbelastend usw.; Grün = Unbedenkliche Inhaltsstoffe

Das war’s schon. Die App ist aber im Grunde eine große Produktdatenbank, bei der du auch gezielt nach einzelnen Marken bzw. Herstellern suchen kannst, ohne den Barcode einzuscannen. Bei jedem Artikel bekommst du jede Menge Sonderinformationen zur Verfügung gestellt. Wenn ein Artikel sehr bedenklich ist, empfiehlt dir die App sogar ein passendes alternatives Produkt anhand der gesuchten Daten.

Die CodeCheck App macht die Welt ein bisschen besser

Ich bin froh, dass Roman Bleichenbacher in Kuba unterwegs war und so den Denkanstoß zur Entwicklung der App bekam. Denn die CodeCheck App erleichtert das plastikfreie Leben und allgemein den umweltfreundlichen Alltag, wie im Grunde keine andere App. Leicht in der Anwendung und effektiv in der Problemlösung. Die CodeCheck App zeigt dir sofort, ob ein Artikel gesund, sozial- und umweltverträglich ist. Das verändert den Konsum nachhaltig, sodass Unternehmen aufgrund der veränderten Nachfrage gezwungen werden, ihre Produkte dementsprechend anzupassen.

In diesem Sinne, bleib‘ sauber,

Plastikfrei leben - Weniger Plastikmüll in der Umwelt

 

 

PS.: Lies dir gerne einmal den Artikel Mikroplastik in Kosmetika durch, wenn du noch nicht 100% überzeugt von der Notwendigkeit dieser App bist. 🙂

CodeCheck App gegen Mikroplastik und Palmöl

Jetzt teilen!

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Auf CareElite.de gebe ich dir Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes Leben ohne Müll, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen. Mit jedem Einkauf, jedem Like und regelmäßigen Besuchen auf dem CareElite Blog unterstützt du mich unglaublich in meiner Arbeit für den Erhalt unserer Natur! Danke, dass du da bist! :)

Comments 4

    1. Post
      Author
  1. Du stellst hier sehr hilfreiche Tricks bereit die mir und bestimmt auch vielen anderen helfen, ihr Gewissen durch eine plastikärmere und ökologischer Lebensweise zu erleichtern! Danke dafür du hast mir sehr weitergeholfen. 🙂

    1. Post
      Author

      Moin Maximilian! Danke für dein Feedback, das ist wirklich schön zu hören! 🙂

      Mach‘ weiter so und viele Grüße,
      Christoph

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.