Skip to content
Interview Shia Su Wastelandrebel - CareElite

Interview with Shia Su from Wasteland Rebel

Today I had an appointment for an interview with Zero Waste Expert Shia Su, who also gave me a lot of inspiration and motivation in the fight against plastic waste. Shia has been living according to the Zero Waste Lifestyle and has now cleared all the hurdles on the way to less waste. In this interview, she tells us how it all began, what motivates her, and where she sometimes reaches her limits. Have fun!

Hey Shia! Since when do you live Zero Waste and how did it come about?

In September 2014, my husband Hanno and I started to reduce our waste a bit more consistently. However, we didn't have zero waste as a goal. We thought the idea was great and very admirable, but like so many others, we thought that it couldn't be implemented in Germany. At the time, there was only one unpackaged store, and it was 500 kilometers away in Kiel. Another one in Berlin, also 500 km away, was just about to open. But given the distance, these aren't really shopping options (see also article Plastic free shopping) have been.

But when we started, we stumbled upon more and more options. We discovered home remedies for us instead of aggressive cleaners and body care products from the drugstore. However, I in particular, as a neurodermatitis and allergy-prone thing, was incredibly skeptical of this at first. However, it turned out to be the best thing I could do to my skin! And of course, the trial and error was sometimes really a bit messy and adventurous, but it was a lot of fun, because you rediscover the child in you who loves to tinker. Every single thing was also really much less complicated than we would have expected and somehow we were surprised ourselves when only so little garbage remained...

What does Zero Waste mean to you and what motivates you?

Zero Waste food storage - Interview Shia Su
Food is easily purchased and stored unpackaged in canning jars - Copyright ©wastelandrebel.com

For me personally, Zero Waste is primarily about looking at my own nose. I'm not a politician or a corporate executive. I can't pass laws or decide that from now on products everywhere will be packaged in less plastic. What I actually have direct control over as a consumer is my own consumption behavior. As a consumer, you only have direct control over the last step in the entire supply chain.

However, I must also note that I honestly have a small love-hate relationship with the name "Zero" Waste, because I have the feeling that the "Zero" in it leads to much frustration. It tempts you to look deficit-oriented at the things where it doesn't work out yet, instead of being happy about the things where it does work out! Many people then also start looking for the needle in the haystack instead of seeing the potential for savings somewhere. Regardless of the term, for me personally it's about simply opting for the most sustainable option on a small scale wherever possible. Zero waste, i.e. "zero" garbage, is not an option for me either and is not possible in the existing social structures. But I do try to move in the direction of minimizing waste as much as possible. Because I would like to minimize my ecological footprint. Waste avoidance is just one of many things. I also live vegan, avoid Palm oilI don't have a car, I reduce plastic, I'm very conscious of my Energy and also look where there is still room for better decisions. But I don't make any of it perfect, it's always all work in progress 😉

I can understand 100%! What things you no longer go out of the house without?

Cloth handkerchiefs, because I am allergic, my nose runs at any time of year. Plus a small cloth bag for used handkerchiefs. Otherwise, it is with me like with the umbrella, which I also only put in when I think it might rain. If I think I'm going to eat out today or buy something to eat, I just put in a can and possibly my cutlery set. If I don't, I don't. My Drinking bottle I also have only with me when I will be on the road all day. If I only run to the health food store to do the weekly shopping I need' no water bottle, but maybe my Nets for fruit and vegetables.

I heard that you also compost. How does it work, what about the smells and what is your motivation to compost?

We have in the kitchen a Worm box. This is a box in which with the help of compost worms odorless composts (note: see also article Proper composting) can be. Yes really! This is definitely the more pleasant option compared to the normal kitchen trash can or organic waste 😉.

A worm garbage can is especially interesting for city kids like me, who have no garden and/or no organic waste garbage can in the apartment building, but also for other people who not only want to dispose of their organic waste ecologically, but also want to upcycle it. Upcycling creates from waste something more valuable than before, and the worm hummus is a very valuable and in the trade rather expensive fertilizer.

Where did you really have trouble not making trash?

In the medical and health sector, it's generally difficult. Last year, I almost cut off a piece of my fingertip while cooking on New Year's Day. Of course, there was a bit of garbage in the emergency room, and I don't argue with that either.

But that's also perfectly fine. In my opinion, there are areas in which the use of Plastic its sense. Of course, I make sure that I use home remedies wherever possible. I don't need a medicine for every little ache and I don't need a plaster for every little scratch.

However, I would not speak of "problems" here, because we are back to the deficit-oriented perspective, which the name "zero" waste unfortunately quickly leads to. How much waste remains in the end and where you can avoid waste and where you can't depends on so many factors, including what kind of infrastructure you have access to. The point is to at least work towards minimizing the visible waste - and of course there will always be limits.

I saw your jar of plastic trash from a year ago. What was in it and why?

Shia Su from in Zero Waste Interview
Shia with her trash from a whole year - Copyright ©wastelandrebel.com

In it, for example, is my old medical card. You can't really avoid things like that. When you need a new bank card and the like. But we have cancelled our customer cards. Apart from that, we still have fruit and vegetable stickers and a whole lot of cash register receipts, because they are often printed automatically, even in organic food stores. Since the thermal paper of sales slips is BPA-coated, they also do not belong in the paper trash, because they contaminate the things that are made from the paper.

Then there are some lids of glass bottles in it, although we prefer metal lids because they are at least recyclable. Then a small plastic bottle of our vitamin B12 tablets. As vegans, we have to supplement vitamin B12.

And of course something breaks sometimes. I am a clumsy oaf! For example, in the glass is the broken handle of a cup. The cup is otherwise fortunately still intact and is still used for shaving soap.

Super cool! Give our readers another easy start to zero waste living. What are your best tips?

  1. Jute bag plug in, best to put under the key
  2. To the unpacked Fruit & Vegetables grab, put loosely on the belt
  3. Glass and paper packaging prefer plastic
  4. Reusable instead of disposable: dishcloth/washing sponge, cloth/kitchen roll, cotton pads/washable pads
  5. Ask yourself: Do I really need this? Put it back and tell yourself: If I still want it in a week, I'll buy it. You'll most likely forget about it a few hours later.

Great. Thank you the Shia and see you soon!

Shia belongs with her blog Wasteland Rebel Shia Su is one of the Zero Waste pioneers and knows exactly where the hurdles lie in the Zero Waste life. I hope that the interview with Shia Su will also help you with your goal, to make less plastic waste and live in the spirit of the Zero Waste lifestyle. 

Stay clean,

Replace things Zero Waste

PS.: In the Environmental protection blog you will find many more expert tips, such as my Interview with Dr. Bernhard Bauske, the plastics expert from WWF.

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interview Shia Su Wastelandrebel - CareElite

Interview mit Shia Su von Wasteland Rebel

Christoph CareElite Blog, Plastikfrei leben, Umweltschutz Interviews Leave a Comment

Heute war ich zum Interview mit der Zero Waste Expertin Shia Su verabredet, die auch mir sehr viel Inspiration und Motivation im Kampf gegen den Plastikmüll gegeben hat. Shia lebt schon länger nach dem Zero Waste Lebensstil und hat mittlerweile alle Hürden auf dem Weg zu weniger Müll genommen. Im Interview verrät sie uns jetzt, wie alles angefangen hat, was sie motiviert und wo auch sie schon einmal an ihre Grenzen stößt. Viel Spaß!

Hey Shia! Seit wann lebst du Zero Waste und wie kam es dazu?

September 2014 haben mein Mann Hanno und ich angefangen, unseren Müll mal etwas konsequenter zu reduzieren. Zero Waste hatten wir allerdings gar nicht als Ziel. Wir fanden die Idee klasse und sehr bewundernswert, aber dachten wie so viele andere auch, dass sich das ja nicht in Deutschland umsetzen lässt. Es gab damals auch nur einen einzigen Unverpackt-Laden, und der war 500km weiter weg in Kiel. Ein Weiterer im ebenfalls 500km entfernten Berlin war gerade dabei, aufzumachen. Aber bei der Entfernung sind das doch keine richtigen Einkaufsoptionen (siehe auch Artikel Plastikfrei Einkaufen) gewesen.

Als wir aber anfingen, stolperten wir über immer mehr Möglichkeiten. Wir entdeckten Hausmittel für uns statt aggressiver Reiniger und Körperpflegeprodukte aus der Drogerie. Gerade ich als neurodermitis- und allergiegeplagtes Ding stand dem anfangs allerdings unglaublich skeptisch gegenüber. Es stellte sich allerdings heraus, dass das beste war, was ich meiner Haut antun konnte! Und klar, das Herumprobieren war zum Teil echt etwas chaotisch und abenteuerlich, hat aber irre Spaß gemacht, da entdeckt man wieder das bastelfreudige Kind in sich. Jede einzelne Sache war auch echt viel unkomplizierter als wir es erwartet hätten und irgendwie waren wir selbst überrascht, als nur noch so wenig Müll übrig blieb…

Was bedeutet Zero Waste für dich und was motiviert dich?

Zero Waste Lebensmittel aufbewahren - Interview Shia Su

Lebensmittel werden ganz einfach in Einmachgläsern unverpackt gekauft und aufbewahrt – Copyright ©wastelandrebel.com

Bei Zero Waste geht es mir persönlich darum, mir in erster Linie an die eigene Nase zu fassen. Ich bin keine Politikerin oder Konzernchefin. Ich kann keine Gesetze erlassen oder entscheiden, dass ab jetzt überall die Produkte in weniger Plastik verpackt werden. Worüber ich als Konsumentin tatsächlich direkte Kontrolle habe, ist mein eigenes Konsumverhalten. Direkte Kontrolle hat man als Konsument eben nur auf den letzten Schritt in der ganzen Lieferkette.

Ich muss allerdings auch anmerken, dass ich ehrlich gesagt eine kleine Hassliebe mit dem Namen “Zero” Waste, weil ich das Gefühl habe, dass das “Zero” darin zu viel Frustration führt. Es verleitet dazu, dass man defizitorientiert auf das guckt, wo es noch nicht klappt, anstatt sich über die Sachen zu freuen, wo es klappt! Viele Leute fangen dann auch erst mal an, nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen zu suchen, statt zu sehen, was für Mülleinsparungspotential irgendwo ist. Unabhängig vom Begriff geht es mir persönlich darum, mich einfach im Kleinen wo es geht für die nachhaltigste Option zu entscheiden. Zero Waste, also “null” Müll ist es ja bei mir auch nicht und geht auch in den vorhandenen gesellschaftlichen Strukturen gar nicht. Aber ich versuche schon, mich in die Richtung zu bewegen, den Müll zumindest so gut es geht zu minimieren. Denn ich möchte meinen ökologischen Abdruck gerne minimieren. Müllvermeidung ist nur eins von vielen Dingen dabei. Ich lebe außerdem vegan, vermeide Palmöl, habe kein Auto, reduziere Plastik, gehe sehr bewusst mit Energie um und gucke auch sonst, wo noch Luft für bessere Entscheidungen ist. Perfekt mache ich aber nix davon, das ist immer alles Work in Progress. 😉

Kann ich 100% nachvollziehen! Ohne welche Dinge gehst du nicht mehr aus dem Haus?

Stofftaschentücher, denn ich bin Allergikerin, meine Nase läuft zu jeder Jahreszeit. Plus einen kleinen Stoffbeutel für benutzte Taschentücher. Ansonsten ist es bei mir wie mit dem Regenschirm, den ich auch nur einstecke, wenn ich denke, es könnte regnen. Wenn ich denke, ich werde heute essen gehen oder mit was zu essen kaufen, stecke ich mir halt eine Dose ein und eventuell mein Besteck-Set. Wenn nicht, dann nicht. Meine Trinkflasche hab ich auch nur dabei, wenn ich den ganzen Tag unterwegs sein werde. Wenn ich nur zum Bioladen laufe, um den Wocheneinkauf zu machen brauch‘ ich ja keine Trinkflasche, aber vielleicht meine Netze für Obst und Gemüse.

Ich habe gehört, dass du auch kompostierst. Wie funktioniert das, wie ist das mit den Gerüchen und was ist deine Motivation zu Kompostieren?

Wir haben in der Küche eine Wurmkiste. Das ist eine Kiste, worin mit Hilfe von Kompostwürmern geruchlos kompostiert (Anm.: siehe auch Artikel Richtig Kompostieren) werden kann. Ja echt! Das ist definitiv die angenehmere Option im Vergleich zum normalen Küchenmülleimer oder Biomüll. 😉

Eine Wurmkiste ist vor allem für Stadtkinder wie mich interessant, die keinen Garten und/oder im Mietshaus keine Biomülltonne haben, aber auch für andere Menschen, die ihre organischen Abfälle ökologisch nicht nur entsorgen, sondern upcyceln wollen. Beim Upcyceln entsteht nämlich aus Abfall etwas Wertvolleres als vorher, und der Wurmhummus ist ein sehr wertvoller und im Handel eher teurer Dünger.

Wo hattest du richtig Probleme, keinen Müll zu machen?

Im medizinischem und gesundheitlichen Bereich wird’s generell schwierig. Letztes Jahr hab ich mir Neujahr beim Kochen fast ein Stück meiner Fingerkuppel abgeschnitten. In der Notaufnahme fiel dann natürlich ein bisschen Müll an und da diskutiere ich auch nicht.

Das ist aber auch vollkommen in Ordnung so. Es gibt meines Erachtens Bereiche, da hat auch der Einsatz von Plastik seinen Sinn. Wobei ich natürlich zusehe, dass ich, wo es geht, auf Hausmittel zurückgreife. Ich brauche nicht für jedes Wehwehchen ein Medikament und nicht für jeden kleinsten Kratzer ein Pflaster.

Von “Problemen” würde ich da allerdings nicht sprechen, da sind wir wieder bei der defizitorientierten Perspektive, wozu dieser Name “Zero” Waste leider schnell verleitet. Wie viel Müll am Ende bleibt und wo man Müll vermeiden kann und wo nicht, hängt von so vielen Faktoren ab, u.a. eben zu was für einer Infrastruktur du Zugang hast. Es geht darum, zumindest darauf hinzuarbeiten den für einen sichtbaren Müll zu minimieren – und Grenzen wird es da selbstverständlich immer geben.

Ich habe dein Glas mit dem Plastikmüll aus einem Jahr gesehen. Was war da drin und warum?

Shia Su von im Zero Waste Interview

Shia mit ihrem Müll aus einem ganzen Jahr – Copyright ©wastelandrebel.com

Darin ist z.B. meine alte Krankenkarte. Solche Sachen kann man auch eigentlich nicht vermeiden. Wenn man dann mal eine neue Bankkarte und Ähnliches braucht. Aber unsere Kundenkarten haben wir gekündigt. Ansosten noch Obst- und Gemüsesticker und eine ganze Menge Kassenbons, denn häufig werden die selbst in Bioläden automatisch gedruckt. Da das Thermopapier von Kassenzetteln BPA-beschichtet ist gehören sie auch nicht in den Papiermüll, weil sie damit die Sachen kontaminieren, die aus dem Papier hergestellt werden.

Dann sind darin noch einige Deckel von Glasflaschen, wobei wir Metalldeckel bevorzugen, weil diese zumindest recyclebar sind. Dann eine kleine Plastikflasche unserer Vitamin B12 Tabletten. Als Veganer müssen wir Vitamin B12 supplementieren.

Und natürlich geht auch mal etwas kaputt. Ich bin ein Trampeltier! Im Glas ist z.B. der abgebrochene Griff einer Tasse. Die Tasse ist ansonsten zum Glück noch intakt und wird noch für Rasierseife weiterbenutzt.

Supercool! Ermögliche unseren Lesern noch einen einfachen Start ins Zero Waste Leben. Was sind deine besten Tipps?

  1. Jutebeutel einstecken, am besten unter den Schlüssel legen
  2. Zum unverpackten Obst & Gemüse greifen, lose aufs Band legen
  3. Glas und Papierverpackungen Plastik vorziehen
  4. Mehrweg statt Einweg: Spüllappen/Spülschwamm, Lappen/Küchenrolle, Wattepads/waschbare Pads
  5. Sich mal fragen: Brauche ich das wirklich? Leg’s zurück und sag dir: Wenn ich es in einer Woche noch möchte, kaufe ich es. Du wirst es höchstwahrscheinlich wenige Stunden später schon vergessen haben.

Großartig. Danke die Shia und bis bald!

Shia gehört mit ihrem Blog Wasteland Rebel zu den Zero Waste Pionieren und weiß genau, wo die Hürden im Zero Waste Leben liegen. Ich hoffe, dass dir das Interview mit Shia Su auch bei deinem Ziel weiterhilft, weniger Plastikmüll zu machen und im Sinne des Zero Waste Lebensstils zu leben. 

Bleib‘ sauber,

Dinge ersetzen Zero Waste

 

 

PS.: In den Umweltschutz Interviews findest du viele weitere Experten-Tipps, wie zum Beispiel mein Interview mit Dr. Bernhard Bauske, dem Plastikexperten vom WWF.

Shia Su Interview - Zero Waste Fragen

Interview mit Shia Su von Wasteland Rebel
5 (100%) 8 Stimmen

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Bei CareElite gebe ich dir zusammen mit anderen umweltbewussten Bloggern Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes Leben ohne Müll, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen.Wenn du möchtest, dass wir weiter mit voller Kraft an CareElite arbeiten, kannst du uns gern ein paar Taler für die technische Verbesserung der Webseite, CleanUp-Material und neue aufklärende Blogbeiträge in unsere Kaffeekasse werfen. So oder so - danke, dass du da bist! :-)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.