Skip to content
Crowdinvesting - What is it?

Crowdinvesting - What is that actually?

What is crowdinvesting? If you want to learn more about this form of financing and its opportunities for sustainable coexistence, you've come to the right place! Change can be achieved not only through a sustainable lifestyle in their own bubble, but also for society as a whole. Crowdinvesting is a great way to seize big opportunities with small resources.

In this article, I would like to give you all the information you need to know about so-called crowd funding. Let's go!

In advance you can find here already a short Table of contents about the contribution:

  1. Definition
  2. Features
  3. Advantages & Opportunities
  4. Examples
  5. Closing words

Definition - What is Crowdinvesting?

Crowdinvesting is understood to be a Form of financingCrowd financing is a form of financing in which many private investors (crowd) financially support a company or a business project and, in return, usually receive a return on their investment or otherwise participate in the success of the project. Such crowd funding usually enables the establishment or implementation of certain projects.

Difference from crowdfunding? Crowdinvesting is an extended form of crowdfunding in which the investor receives a financial stake in the economic success of the company in the form of interest, debt instruments or shares. Crowdfunding, on the other hand, is not fundamentally tied to a monetary consideration.

Characteristics - What makes crowdinvesting?

Crowdinvesting in solar energy

Is the term still not tangible enough for you? Then I would like to give you a few more, very decisive characteristics of crowdinvesting, which will paint a clearer picture of this future-oriented form of investment.

Procedure

First of all, founders and entrepreneurs look for a suitable platform on which they would like to launch their crowdfunding campaign. They then create a short description of the project, which should ideally be captivating. Then the platform checks the investment project and starts the crowdfunding in consultation with the company. Now investors can invest. After successful completion of the campaign, the companies receive the collected capital. The investors are kept informed about their investment - for example, through detailed updates and information about the progress of the project.

Here the Procedure at a glance:

  1. Search crowdfunding platform
  2. Provide personal data / project description
  3. Examination of the project is carried out (plausibility, financial plans, etc.)
  4. Launch of the campaign via the crowdinvesting platform
  5. Transfer of capital after successful investment phase
  6. Regular status reports for investors

Form of participation

As a rule, these are subordinated loansIn the event of the company's insolvency, other investors are given priority over the crowd investors. The capital is so-called mezzanine capital, in which both equity and debt capital are used. The issue volume to a total volume of up to 6 million euros is limited. This threshold is calculated for 12 months at a time.

Industries

Basically use both small startups as well as medium-sized companies from a wide range of industries are taking advantage of the opportunities offered by crowdinvesting. However, the alternative financing instrument is particularly popular in the field of Real Estate, the renewable energies.

Notice: Ecologically sustainable crowdfunding campaigns are primarily oriented towards solving the biggest environmental problems of our time.

Duration

Depending on the platform and the industry of the investment project, the term of the loans differs greatly. For example, the investment term is real estate projects on average at 2-3 years, while at StartUps about 5-8 years takes up. Investors usually do not have the possibility to terminate their investment, which makes it all the more important to absolutely deal with the favored crowdfunding campaign.

Taxes

As you may know from stocks, the returns from investments in crowdfunding projects are also subject to the Settlement tax, which is why they are taxed at 25 percent, church tax and the solidarity surcharge.

Advantages - Why is crowdinvesting worthwhile?

Advantages of crowdinvesting for investors and companies

Now you already know what crowdinvesting means and what it's all about. But why should you actually start a campaign or support crowdfunding projects and ideas with your own money? Here I would like to give you a brief overview of the most important advantages.

Advantages for companies

  • Refinancing: Freed-up equity can be used for the realization of further projects.
  • Supporters: Campaigns with socially or ecologically valuable ideas find many supporters among the broad mass of the population.
  • Identification: As a rule, the first investors are also the first customers, and they identify strongly with the project, which often leads to suggestions for optimization.
  • Decision-making power: With crowdfunding, companies retain full control over their visions and plans.
  • Pre-financing: Often difficulty in obtaining bank loans in advance. Campaign enables the start, which makes long-term financing more interesting for banks.
  • Viral effect: Meaningful crowdfunding campaigns are readily shared on the Internet, so the amount of time and money spent on advertising to attract new supporters is usually low.
  • StartUps: Financing from banks usually not possible and business angels often demand a say. The campaign helps to fully realize one's own vision.

Advantages for investors

  • Refinancing: You can invest in projects that are more advanced to minimize your risk.
  • Small amounts: Crowdfunding campaigns can be supported even with small, three-digit investment sums, and thus for the mass of the population.
  • Wealth building: Compared to traditional investment products, the higher risk associated with crowdfunding is also accompanied by significantly increased opportunities for high returns in times of low interest rates.
  • Selection: As an investor, you can choose from a variety of interesting and promising campaigns on different crowdfunding platforms.
  • StartUps: As an investor, you receive a share in the success of future-oriented companies with which you can fully identify.
  • Transparency: Decision-making is easier because the project company, project, project status, financing plan and other information are clearly communicated for individual projects. With an investment in shares, on the other hand, it is difficult to follow how the money invested is used.

And the disadvantages? As a rule, these are high-opportunity but also high-risk projects with mostly long terms, which can of course also mean a partial or total loss of the investment sum.

Examples of an ongoing crowdfunding investment from the field of sustainability

Lemonaid Crowdinvesting Example

Still not tangible enough? Then here is a detailed, practical example of meaningful and well-planned crowdinvesting for you, which I support myself. Lemonaid, the once small "juice store" on St. Pauli, has since its founding developed into a large social drinking plant that stands for fair trade and 100 percent organic. The proceeds from the sales of lemonades and teas are also used to support completely transparent charitable projects.

Important key facts of this sample campaign for investors:

  • Start: 02.11.2020 at 12.00 o'clock
  • Interest: 5% p.a.
  • plus bonus interest (pro rata 1% of earnings before interest and taxes)
  • Duration: Until 31.12.2026
  • Repayment at maturity (subject to early termination)
  • Investment amount: from 250 Euro
  • Product type: Digital security

You can find more info at the Crowdinvesting campaign for Lemonaid #sozialveranlagt on WIWIN, the platform for sustainable investing.

Warning: The acquisition of this security is associated with considerable risks and may lead to the complete loss of the invested assets. A basic information sheet has been published. This should be read by investors before making an investment decision and can be accessed without access restrictions on https://crowdinvesting.lemon-aid.de/ can be retrieved.

More examples

There are countless other great sustainable crowdinvesting campaigns on WIWIN, but also other platforms like Klimaschwarm, bettervest, Ecozins or GLS Crowd that are guaranteed to interest you. For example for sustainable banking, energy efficient living, solar project development or E-mobility. Just take a look around and search specifically for the companies and ideas that excite you.

Crowdinvesting - An opportunity for sustainable, future-oriented ideas

Ecologically minded companies and sustainable founders benefit above all from the opportunities offered by the Additional available capitalof the virality of the form of financing and the high level of identification of the financiers.

The Opportunity to participate in future-oriented projectsThe opportunity for investors to help shape the future and at the same time build their personal wealth is nowhere greater than with crowdinvesting. It is important that you fully understand your investment, the project and possible risks before crowdfunding a project with your money.

I hope that with this post I could bring you closer to the concept of crowdfunding. Do you have any questions, tips or your own experiences that you would like to share? Then feel free to write me a comment.

Stay sustainable,

Christoph from CareElite - Plastic-free living

PS.: Change can also be achieved through the Support or launch online petitions effect. You can find out exactly how this works in the linked article. Have fun!

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Zum Inhalt springen
Crowdinvesting - Was ist das?

Crowdinvesting – Was ist das eigentlich?

Was versteht man unter Crowdinvesting? Wenn du mehr über diese Finanzierungsform und ihre Chancen für ein nachhaltiges Zusammenleben erfahren willst, bist du hier genau richtig! Veränderung lässt sich nicht nur durch eine nachhaltige Lebensweise in der eigenen Bubble, sondern auch gesamtgesellschaftlich bewirken. Das Crowdinvesting stellt eine großartige Möglichkeit dazu dar, um große Chancen mit kleinen Mitteln zu ergreifen.

In diesem Artikel möchte ich dir jetzt alle wissenswerten Informationen rund um die sogenannte Schwarmfinanzierung an die Hand geben. Auf geht's!

Vorab findest du hier schon ein kurzes Inhaltsverzeichnis über den Beitrag:

  1. Definition
  2. Merkmale
  3. Vorteile & Chancen
  4. Beispiele
  5. Schlusswort

Defintion – Was ist Crowdinvesting?

Unter Crowdinvesting versteht man eine Finanzierungsform, bei der viele Privatanleger*innen (Crowd = Menge/Masse) ein Unternehmen oder ein Unternehmensprojekt finanziell unterstützen und als Gegenleistung dafür in der Regel eine Rendite erhalten oder anderweitig am Erfolg des Vorhabens beteiligt werden. Eine solche Schwarmfinanzierung ermöglicht in der Regel die Gründung oder Durchführung bestimmter Projekte.

Unterschied zum Crowdfunding? Das Crowdinvesting ist eine erweiterte Form des Crowdfundings, bei der der Kapitalgeber eine finanzielle Beteiligung am wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des Unternehmens in Form von Zinsen, Schuldinstrumenten oder Anteilen erhält. Das Crowdfunding ist hingegen nicht grundsätzlich an eine monetäre Gegenleistung gebunden.

Merkmale – Was macht Crowdinvesting aus?

Crowdinvesting in Solarenergie

Für dich ist der Begriff noch nicht greifbar genug? Dann möchte ich dir hier im folgenden noch ein paar weitere, ganz entscheidende Merkmale des Crowdinvestings an die Hand geben, die dir ein klareres Bild dieser zukunftsorientierten Form der Geldanlage malen werden.

Ablauf

Gründer*innen bzw. Unternehmer*innen suchen sich zunächst eine geeignete Plattform, auf der sie ihre Crowdfunding-Kampagne starten möchten. Im Anschluss erstellen sie eine im besten Falle mitreißende Kurzbeschreibung des Vorhabens. Dann prüft die Plattform das Investmentvorhaben und startet in Absprache mit dem Unternehmen das Crowdinvesting. Jetzt können Anleger*innen investieren. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Kampagne erhalten die Unternehmen das eingesammelte Kapital. Die Geldgeber*innen werden weiter über ihr Investment informiert – beispielsweise durch ausführliche Updates und Informationen über den Verlauf des Projektes.

Hier der Ablauf im Überblick:

  1. Crowdfunding-Plattform suchen
  2. Persönliche Daten / Projektbeschreibung bereitstellen
  3. Prüfung des Projekts wird durchgeführt (u.a. Plausibilität, Finanzpläne)
  4. Start der Kampagne über die Crowdinvesting-Plattform
  5. Überweisung des Kapitals nach erfolgreicher Investmentphase
  6. Regelmäßige Statusberichte für Investoren*innen

Beteiligungsform

Es handelt sich in der Regel um nachrangige Darlehen, bei denen andere Kapitalgeber im Falle einer Insolvenz des Unternehmens vorrangig gegenüber den Crowdinvestoren behandelt werden. Beim Kapital handelt es sich um sogenanntes Mezzanine-Kapital, bei dem gleichermaßen Eigen- als auch Fremdkapital eingesetzt wird. Das Emissionsvolumen auf ein Gesamtvolumen von bis zu 6 Millionen Euro begrenzt ist. Diese Schwelle wird jeweils für 12 Monate berechnet.

Branchen

Grundsätzlich nutzen sowohl kleine Startups als auch mittelständische Unternehmen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen die Chancen des Crowdinvestings. Besonders beliebt ist das alternative Finanzierungsinstrument aber vor allem im Bereich der Immobilien, der erneuerbaren Energien.

Hinweis: Ökologisch-nachhaltige Crowdfunding-Kampagnen orientieren sich vor allem an der Lösung der größten Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit.

Dauer

Je nach Plattform und Branche des Investitionsprojektes unterscheidet sich die Laufzeit der Darlehen sehr. Die Beteiligungsdauer liegt zum Beispiel bei Immobilien-Projekten durchschnittlich bei 2-3 Jahren, während sie bei StartUps etwa 5-8 Jahre in Anspruch nimmt. Investoren*Innen haben in der Regel keine Kündigungsmöglichkeit, weshalb es umso wichtiger ist, sich absolut mit der favorisierten Crowdfunding-Kampagne auseinander zu setzen.

Steuern

Wie du es vielleicht von Aktien kennst, unterliegen auch die Erträge aus Investitionen in Crowdfunding-Projekte der Abgeltungssteuer, weshalb sie mit 25 Prozent, der Kirchensteuer und dem Solidaritätszuschlag versteuert werden.

Vorteile – Warum lohnt sich das Crowdinvesting?

Vorteile des Crowdinvestings für Anleger und Unternehmen

Nun weißt du schon einmal, was Crowdinvesting bedeutet und worum es dabei genau geht. Aber warum sollte man eigentlich eine Kampagne starten oder Crowdfunding-Projekte, und -Ideen mit seinem eigenen Geld unterstützen? Hier möchte ich dir die wichtigsten Vorteile kurz übersichtlich zusammenstellen.

Vorteile für Unternehmen

  • Refinanzierung: Freigewordenes Eigenkapital ist für die Realisierung weiterer Vorhaben einsetzbar.
  • Unterstützer*innen: Kampagnen mit sozial- oder ökologisch-wertvollen Ideen finden in der breiten Masse der Bevölkerung viele Unterstützer.
  • Identifikation: Die Erstinvestor*innen sind in der Regel auch die ersten Kund*innen und bringen eine hohe Identifikation mit dem Vorhaben und damit oft auch Optimierungsvorschläge mit.
  • Entscheidungsgewalt: Unternehmen behalten beim Crowdfunding die volle Kontrolle über ihre Visionen und Vorhaben.
  • Vorfinanzierung: Oft Schwierigkeiten, vorab Bankkredite zu bekommen. Kampagne ermöglicht den Start, der die langfristige Finanzierung für Banken interessanter macht.
  • Viraler Effekt: Sinnvolle Crowdfunding-Kampagnen werden im Internet gerne geteilt, sodass der zeitliche und finanzielle Werbeaufwand zum Gewinn neuer Unterstützer in der Regel gering ist.
  • StartUps: Finanzierung von Banken in der Regel nicht möglich und Business-Angels fordern oft Mitspracherecht. Die Kampagne trägt dazu bei, die eigene Vision gänzlich zu realisieren.

Vorteile für Anleger*innen

  • Refinanzierung: Du kannst in Projekte investieren, die schon weiter fortgeschritten sind, um dein Risiko zu minimieren.
  • Kleine Beträge: Die Unterstützung von Crowdfunding-Kampagnen ist auch mit kleinen, Dreistelligen Investitionssummen und damit für die Masse der Bevölkerung möglich.
  • Vermögensaufbau: Mit dem höheren Risiko gehen im Vergleich zu klassischen Anlageprodukten beim Crowdfunding auch deutlich gesteigerte Chancen auf hohe Renditen in zinsschwachen Zeiten einher.
  • Auswahl: Als Anleger*in kannst du auf unterschiedlichen Crowdfunding-Plattformen aus einer Vielzahl von interessanten und vielversprechenden Kampagnen auswählen.
  • StartUps: Als Investor*in erhältst du eine Beteiligung am Erfolg zukunftsorientierter Unternehmen, mit denen du dich voll und ganz identifizieren kannst.
  • Transparenz: Die Entscheidungsfindung ist einfacher, weil Projektgesellschaft, Vorhaben, Projektstand, Finanzierungsplan und weitere Informationen bei einzelnen Projekten klar kommuniziert werden. Bei einer Investition in Aktien lässt sich hingegen schwer mitverfolgen, wie das investierte Geld eingesetzt wird.

Und die Nachteile? Es handelt sich in der Regel um sehr- chancen- aber eben auch risikoreiche Projektvorhaben mit meist langen Laufzeiten, die natürlich auch einen Teil -oder Totalverlust der Investitionssumme bedeuten können.

Beispiele für ein laufendes Crowdinvestment aus dem Bereich Nachhaltigkeit

Lemonaid Crowdinvesting Beispiel

Immer noch nicht greifbar genug? Dann ist hier zunächst ein ausführliches, praktisches Beispiel für sinnstiftendes und gut geplantes Crowdinvesting für dich, das ich selbst unterstütze. Lemonaid, der einst kleine „Saftladen“ auf St. Pauli, hat sich seit Gründung zu einem großen sozialen Trinkwerk entwickelt, das für fairen Handel und 100 Prozent bio steht. Mit den Einnahmen aus den Verkäufen von Limonaden und Tees werden außerdem völlig transparent gemeinnützige Projekte gefördert.

Wichtige Keyfacts dieser Beispiel-Kampagne für Anleger:

  • Start: 02.11.2020 um 12.00 Uhr
  • Zinsen: 5% p.a.
  • zzgl. Bonuszins (quotal 1% vom Ergebnis der Geschäftstätigkeit vor Zinsen und Steuern)
  • Laufzeit: Bis 31.12.2026
  • Rückzahlung zum Laufzeitende (vorbehaltlich der vorzeitigen Beendigung)
  • Investitionsbetrag: ab 250 Euro
  • Produktart: Digitales Wertpapier

Mehr Infos findest du unter der Crowdinvesting-Kampagne für Lemonaid #sozialveranlagt auf WIWIN, der Plattform für nachhaltiges Investieren.

Warnhinweis: Der Erwerb dieses Wertpapiers ist mit erheblichen Risiken verbunden und kann zum vollständigen Verlust des eingesetzten Vermögens führen. Es wurde ein Basisinformationsblatt veröffentlicht. Dieses sollte von den Anlegern vor der Anlageentscheidung gelesen werden und kann ohne Zugangsbeschränkungen auf https://crowdinvesting.lemon-aid.de/ abgerufen werden.

Weitere Beispiele

Es gibt unzählige weiterer, großartiger, nachhaltiger Crowdinvesting-Kampagnen auf WIWIN, aber auch anderen Plattformen wie Klimaschwarm, bettervest, Ecozins oder GLS Crowd, die dich garantiert interessieren. Beispielsweise für nachhaltiges Banking, energetisches Wohnen, Solar-Projektentwicklung oder E-Mobilität. Schau dich einfach einmal um und suche gezielt nach den Unternehmen und Ideen, die dich begeistern.

Crowdinvesting – Eine Chance für nachhaltige, zukunftsorientierte Ideen

Ökologisch eingestellte Unternehmen und nachhaltige Gründer profitieren vor allem von den Möglichkeiten durch das zusätzlich verfügbare Kapital, von der Viralität der Finanzierungsform und der hohen Identifikation der Geldgeber.

Die Chance, an zukunftsorientierten Projekte zu partizipieren, sie mitzugestalten und gleichzeitig auch noch den persönlichen Vermögensaufbau voranzutreiben, ist für Anleger nirgendwo größer, als beim Crowdinvesting. Wichtig ist, dass du deine Investition, das Vorhaben und mögliche Risiken vollkommen verstehst, bevor du ein Projekt mit deinem Geld crowdfundest.

Ich hoffe, dass ich dir mit diesem Beitrag das Konzept des Crowdfundings näher bringen konnte. Hast du Fragen, Tipps oder eigene Erfahrungen gemacht, die du teilen möchtest? Dann schreibe mir gern einen Kommentar.

Bleib‘ nachhaltig,

Christoph von CareElite - Plastikfrei leben

PS.: Veränderung lässt sich auch durch die Unterstützung oder den Start von Online-Petitionen bewirken. Wie genau das funktioniert, erfährst du jetzt im verlinkten Beitrag. Viel Spaß!

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

* Links mit Sternchen sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links: Wenn du darauf klickst und etwas kaufst, unterstützt du aktiv meine Arbeit mit CareElite.de, da ich einen kleinen Anteil vom Verkaufserlös erhalte. Vielen Dank für deinen Support und beste Grüße, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

Ich bin Christoph, Umweltwissenschaftler und Autor - und setze mich hier bei CareElite gegen den Plastikmüll in der Umwelt, den Klimawandel und alle anderen großen Umweltprobleme unserer Zeit ein. Gemeinsam mit weiteren, umweltbewussten Bloggern will ich dir Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes, nachhaltiges Leben sowie deine persönliche Weiterentwicklung an die Hand geben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.