Skip to content
Pacific Garbage Screening aid project plastic waste in the sea

Pacific Garbage Screening against plastic waste in the ocean

In my constant search for great projects to counteract the Plastic waste in the environment I am interested in the project Pacific Garbage Screening came across. I arranged an interview with the initiator Marcella Hansch to learn more about the project and its technology, which at first glance looks more like a space shuttle. Enjoy the interview!

Pacific Garbage Screening Plastic Waste Project

What is Pacific Garbage Screening and what are you guys up to? 

Pacific Garbage Screening (PGS for short) is a platform with a special design that filters plastic and small plastic particles from the oceans without endangering living creatures. It then processes the Plastic to energy and biodegradable plastic.
In the meantime, we are behind the project as a non-profit association/NGO and are working with almost 40 volunteers to turn the concept into a feasible technology. The first step is prototypes for rivers and estuaries to filter out the plastic before it even reaches the oceans.
In addition, we want to draw attention to the issue, raise awareness among people and encourage each individual to do so, Avoid plastic waste. Because every single consumer has the power to do something! And we must become aware of this power and use it!

How are you going to get trash out of the ocean with Pacific Garbage Screening? 

The principle is actually very simple. The platform's design calms ocean currents down to a depth of about 50 meters. Plastic particles are lighter than water and can thus rise to the surface within the platform and be skimmed off there. There are no nets. Fish and marine animals can swim through the platform. The plastic is not waste, but a valuable resource because the material is petroleum-based. Therefore, we don't want to burn it, which unfortunately happens so often, but use it sustainably, convert it to clean energy and produce new biodegradable plastic products based on algae.

What do you do better than THE OCEAN CLEANUP and Boyan Slat? 

Our concept works without nets and barriers - according to a passive principle. Fish and other living creatures are therefore not endangered. We also focus primarily on filtering microplastics and smaller plastic particles from rivers and the sea that float below the surface.

How can we all support Pacific Garbage Screening in the endeavor? 

On June 8, 2018 started our big crowdfunding campaign - on the day of the sea! We can use every donation. By the way, there are also some nice thank-you gifts! In addition, we are of course happy about active support. But also if everyone simply starts with his own consumption behavior in everyday life. (Note: Funding goal reached!!)

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video


PGS_explanatory_filmm_german from Pacific Garbage Screening on Vimeo.

Pacific Garbage Screening aid project plastic waste in the sea
Placific Garbage Screening collects both larger and no plastic pieces / Credits: melight.de

Paint us a picture. What will the oceans look like in 2050 and why? 

By 2050, there has been a rethink. Mankind has understood how important our planet is for our continued existence and has pulled the emergency brake at the last minute. People and nations are no longer working against each other, but with each other. There are platforms in the oceans and rivers around the world that filter out plastic and process it. The large platforms at sea are increasingly being converted into research stations as fish stocks slowly recover and biodiversity flourishes again. The production of plastic for consumer products has been completely halted. Petroleum-based plastics are now only used where they are useful as a durable material.
PGS has made an important contribution to this rethinking with its commitment and is now active worldwide. We advise global corporations on how they can produce sustainably, work with many environmental protection organizations and save the world!


This also corresponds to the spirit of the CareElite Vision! Pacific Garbage Screening is a great project against plastic waste in the ocean with a passionate team behind it. Here you can support crowd funding and also get some gifts as a thank you.

Christoph from CareElite
Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

2 thoughts on “Pacific Garbage Screening gegen Plastikmüll im Meer”

  1. Since the research of Masaru Emoto we know that water can "hear" and "read", i.e. that the water quality can be improved by music and texts, sounding and talking. Couldn't these purification systems also be equipped with a sound system with, for example, Mozart or Bach compositions? Or prayers from all world religions? That would be important, for example, in places where the seas have been badly damaged by nuclear weapons underwater tests. Or in the area of Fukushima. Or even if you think about the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010. That would enormously strengthen the regenerative capacity of the water.

    1. Hi Karin! That sounds exciting! Do you have any more information on this or feel like writing a guest article on the subject 🙂 .
      Many greetings,
      Christoph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pacific Garbage Screening Hilfsprojekt Plastikmüll im Meer

Pacific Garbage Screening gegen Plastikmüll im Meer

Christoph CareElite Blog, Umweltschutz, Umweltschutz Interviews 2 Comments

Bei meiner stetigen Suche nach großartigen Projekten gegen den Plastikmüll in der Umwelt bin ich auf das Projekt Pacific Garbage Screening gestoßen. Mit der Initiatorin Marcella Hansch habe ich mich direkt zum Interview verabredet, um mehr über das Projekt und seine Technologie zu erfahren, die auf den ersten Blick optisch eher an ein Spaceshuttle erinnert. Viel Spaß mit dem Interview!

Pacific Garbage Screening Plastikmüll Projekt

Was ist Pacific Garbage Screening und was habt ihr vor? 

Pacific Garbage Screening (kurz: PGS) ist eine Plattform, die mit ihrer speziellen Bauweise Plastik und kleine Plastikpartikel aus den Meeren filtert ohne dabei Lebewesen zu gefährden. Im Anschluss verarbeitet sie das Plastik zu Energie und biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoff.

Inzwischen stehen wir als gemeinnütziger Verein/NGO hinter dem Projekt und arbeiten mit fast 40 Ehrenamtlichen daran, das Konzept in eine realisierbare Technologie umzusetzen. Im ersten Schritt sind das Prototypen für Flüsse und Flussmündungen, um das Plastik herauszufiltern, bevor es überhaupt in die Meere gelangt.

Darüber hinaus wollen wir auf das Thema aufmerksam machen, das Bewusstsein bei den Menschen stärken und jeden einzelnen dazu animieren, Plastikmüll zu vermeiden. Denn jeder einzelne Verbraucher hat die Macht etwas zu tun! Und dieser Macht müssen wir uns bewusst werden und sie nutzen!

Wie wollt ihr mit Pacific Garbage Screening den Müll aus dem Meer holen? 

Das Prinzip ist eigentlich sehr simpel. Die Plattform beruhigt durch ihre Bauweise die Strömungen der Meere bis zu etwa 50 Metern Tiefe. Plastikpartikel sind leichter als Wasser und können so innerhalb der Plattform bis an die Oberfläche aufsteigen und dort abgeschöpft werden. Es gibt keine Netze. Fische und Meerestiere können durch die Plattform hindurch schwimmen. Das Plastik ist kein Müll, sondern eine wertvolle Ressource, da das Material auf Erdöl basiert. Daher wollen wir es nicht verbrennen, was leider so oft passiert, sondern es nachhaltig nutzen, zu sauberer Energie umwandeln und neue biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffprodukte auf Algenbasis herstellen.

Was macht ihr besser als THE OCEAN CLEANUP und Boyan Slat? 

Unser Konzept funktioniert ohne Netze und Barrieren – nach einem passiven Prinzip. Fische und andere Lebewesen werden somit nicht gefährdet. Außerdem konzentrieren wir uns vor allem darauf, auch Mikroplastik und kleinere Plastikpartikel aus Flüssen und dem Meer zu filtern, die unterhalb der Oberfläche schwimmen.

Wie können wir alle Pacific Garbage Screening bei dem Vorhaben unterstützen? 

Am 8. Juni 2018 startete unsere große Crowdfunding Kampagne – am Tag des Meeres! Wir können jede Spende gebrauchen. Es gibt übrigens auch ein paar schöne Dankeschöns! Außerdem freuen wir uns natürlich über aktive Unterstützung. Aber auch darüber, wenn jeder im Alltag einfach schonmal bei seinem eigenen Konsumverhalten anfängt. (Anmerkung: Fundingziel erreicht!!)

PGS_Erklärfilm_german from Pacific Garbage Screening on Vimeo.

Pacific Garbage Screening Hilfsprojekt Plastikmüll im Meer

Placific Garbage Screening sammelt sowohl größere als auch keiner Plastikteile ein / Credits: melight.de

Male uns ein Bild. Wie sehen die Meere im Jahr 2050 aus und warum? 

Bis 2050 hat es ein Umdenken gegeben. Die Menschheit hat begriffen, wie wichtig unser Planet für unser Fortbestehen ist und in letzter Minute die Notbremse gezogen. Die Menschen und Nationen arbeiten nicht mehr gegeneinander, sondern miteinander. Weltweit gibt es Plattformen in den Meeren und Flüssen, die Plastik heraus filtern und weiterverarbeiten. Die großen Plattformen auf dem Meer werden mehr und mehr umgebaut zu Forschungsstationen, da die Fischbestände sich langsam erholen und die Artenvielfalt wieder erblüht. Die Produktion von Plastik für Verbrauchsgegenstände wurde komplett gestoppt. Erdölbasierte Kunststoffe werden nur noch dort eingesetzt, wo sie als langlebiges Material von Nutzen sind.

PGS hat mit seinem Engagement einen wichtigen Beitrag zu diesem Umdenken geleistet und ist inzwischen weltweit aktiv. Wir beraten Weltkonzerne, wie sie nachhaltig produzieren können, arbeiten mit vielem Umweltschutzorganisationen zusammen und retten die Welt!


Das entspricht auch dem Sinne der CareElite Vision! Pacific Garbage Screening ist ein großartiges Projekt gegen den Plastikmüll im Meer mit einem leidenschaftlichen Team dahinter. Hier kannst du das Crowd Funding unterstützen und auch einige Geschenke als Dankeschön absahnen. 

Pacific Garbage Screening PGS Projekt gegen Plastikmüll im Meer

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Bei CareElite gebe ich dir zusammen mit anderen umweltbewussten Bloggern Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes und vor allem nachhaltiges Leben, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen.Wenn du möchtest, dass wir weiter mit voller Kraft an CareElite arbeiten, kannst du uns gern ein paar Taler für die technische Verbesserung der Webseite, CleanUp-Material und neue aufklärende Blogbeiträge in unsere Kaffeekasse werfen. So oder so - danke, dass du da bist! :-)

Comments 2

  1. Seit den Forschungen von Masaru Emoto wissen wir, dass Wasser „hören“ und „lesen“ kann, sprich dass sich die Wasserqualität durch Musik und Texte, Beschallung und Besprechen, verbessern lässt. Könnte man in diese Reinigungsanlagen nicht auch noch eine Beschallung mit z. B. Mozart- oder Bach-Kompositionen einbauen? Oder Gebeten aus allen Weltreligionen? Das wäre z. B. dort wichtig, wo die Meere durch Kernwaffenunterwassertests großen Schaden genommen hat. Oder im Gebiet von Fukushima. Oder auch wenn man an die Ölkatastrophe im Golf von Mexiko 2010 denkt. Das würde die Regenerationsfähigkeit des Wassers enorm stärken.

    1. Post
      Author

      Hi Karin! Das klingt spannend! Hast du dazu weitere Informationen bzw. Lust, einen Gastartikel über das Thema zu verfassen? 🙂

      Viele Grüße,
      Christoph

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.