Skip to content
Great Blue Hole in Lighthouse Reef off Belize

The Great Blue Hole in Lighthouse Reef Belize

Maybe you are familiar with the Great Blue Hole of Belize you may have seen it in an advertising catalog or documentary. As the name suggests, the Great Blue Hole looks like a huge dark blue hole and is a naturally formed sinkhole off the coast of the Central American state of Belize. It is a fantastic sight from the air and a breathtaking paradise for divers from all over the world. In today's post, you'll learn how the Great Blue Hole came to be, why it's considered one of the most famous diver's paradises, and how you can explore it. extraordinary destination simply experience it in person.

The natural formation of the Great Blue Hole

From photos we know that this large, blue hole is round. The natural wonder has a diameter of 300 meters and reaches a depth of up to 125 meters. But how was the Great Blue Hole actually formed? Quite naturally. Over the years, limestone deposits have formed many individual caves. At that time, the caves were not yet under water. Only with the rise of the sea level the caves were flooded. Then, about 15,000 years ago, the Great Blue Hole formed due to a collapse of one of these caves. The natural shifting of the earth's plates had caused the cave to lose its stability. At a depth of about 90 meters, divers can now see a thermocline containing hydrogen sulfide. Therefore, at a depth of about 40 meters, stalactites of the former caves can still be seen today. Following a short video to dive once from the desk into the underwater world of the reef:

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The Great Blue Hole is a UNESCO World Heritage Site

In 1996, this unusual hole became a monument of the country of Belize and at the same time a UNESCO World Heritage Site. However, due to our careless treatment of nature, the Great Blue Hole ended up on the list of endangered natural world heritage sites in 2009. Lighthouse Reef is the second largest coral reef on our planet and covers an area of about 200 square kilometers. Actually, Lighthouse Reef is called an atoll (ring-shaped reef), but the term is less common in our country. The reef has a breathtaking biological diversity. Besides about 500 fish and 80 different coral species, Lighthouse Reef is home to many endangered species of turtles and crocodiles. On the small islands, the species diversity of iguanas and other reptiles is particularly high. The underground cave system of Lighthouse Reef with the Great Blue Hole is one of the most popular diving spots on earth.

Experience the fantastic Lighthouse Reef for yourself

It is quite easy to get to this wonderful place as Belize City has an airport and is located right on the east coast. Travelers recommend traveling for about a week, participating in scheduled dives with Belize Liveaboards and Turneffe Resorts, and renting a car locally. I saw a video of a group of people doing a parachute jump over the reef. Of course, this is not for everyone, but should show that you can have many other experiences in Belize. Of course, the hotel should also be close to the reef to use the time in Belize as effectively as possible.

AirBnb as a friendly alternative

As an alternative to hotels, I would like to recommend AirBnb. Here you get an apartment or a room with people who live at the destination of your trip. I always stay with AirBnb hosts myself, because they know their way around the place and have experienced a lot themselves. For me, this is a fantastic and, above all, inexpensive added value. Here you come to AirBnb and you can just have a look for a great accommodation in Belize. More important facts and information about Belize and the Lighthouse Reef with the wonderful Great Blue Hole:

  • Location: Belize is located on the east coast of Central America and borders the states of Mexico and Guatemala. The Lighthouse Reef itself is about 70 kilometers from Belize City (directly on the east coast). The Great Blue hole is located in the center of Lighthouse Reef between the islands of Long Caye to the south and Northern Two Cayes. Besides the Great Blue Hole, there are about 24 other popular dive sites in Lighthouse Reef.
  • Language & Currency: English is spoken in Belize, as well as Spanish. The currency in Belize is the Belize Dollar.
  • Information: If you want to know more about the country or the Lighthouse Reef, you should get information from the German office of the Honorary Consulate General of Belize in Stuttgart. Following address and phone number: Breitscheidstraße 10, 70174 Stuttgart, Tel.: 0711 / 90710920

The Great Blue Hole is worth the trip!

I hope this article about the Great Blue Hole, Lighthouse Reef and the country of Belize helps you! Lighthouse Reef should be on everyone's list of destinations.

Best regards,

Christoph from CareElite

PS.: Look also at my personal Travel tips on the blog and get to know really cool travel destinations! Have fun!

Coffee box Suggestions for improvement Newsletter

* Links with asterisks are so-called Affiliate linksIf you click on it and buy something, you actively support my work with CareElite.de, because I get a small share of the sales revenue. Thank you for your support and best regards, Christoph!

nv-author-image

Christoph Schulz

I'm Christoph, an environmental scientist and author - and here at CareElite I'm campaigning against plastic waste in the environment, climate change and all the other major environmental problems of our time. Together with other environmentally conscious bloggers, I want to give you tips & tricks for a naturally healthy, sustainable life as well as your personal development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Great Blue Hole im Lighthouse Reef vor Belize

Das Great Blue Hole im Lighthouse-Reef Belize

Christoph Schulz Blog, Reisen Leave a Comment

Vielleicht ist dir das Great Blue Hole von Belize schon einmal im Werbekatalog oder in einer Dokumentation begegnet. Wie der Name schon sagt, sieht das Great Blue Hole aus, wie ein riesiges dunkelblaues Loch und ist eine natürlich entstandene Doline (Senkloch) vor der Küste des mittel-amerikanischen Staates Belize. Ein fantastischer Anblick aus der Luft und ein atemberaubendes Paradies für Taucher aus der ganzen Welt. Im heutigen Beitrag erfährst du, wie das Great Blue Hole endstanden ist, warum es als eines der bekanntesten Taucherparadiese gilt und wie du dieses außergewöhnliche Reiseziel ganz einfach persönlich erleben kannst.

Die natürliche Entstehung des Great Blue Hole

Von Fotos wissen wir, dass dieses große, blaue Loch rund ist. Das Naturwunder hat einen Durchmesser von 300 Metern und erreicht eine Tiefe von bis zu 125 Metern. Doch wie ist das Great Blue Hole eigentlich entstanden? Ganz natürlich. Über die Jahre, haben sich durch Kalkablagerungen viele einzelne Höhlen gebildet. Zu dieser Zeit waren die Höhlen noch nicht unter Wasser. Erst mit Anstieg des Meeresspiegels wurden die Höhlen geflutet. Vor etwa 15.000 Jahren hat sich dann das Great Blue Hole aufgrund eines Einsturzes einer dieser Höhlen gebildet. Die natürliche Erdplattenverschiebung hatte dafür gesorgt, dass die Höhle ihre Stabilität verlor. Bei einer Tiefe von etwa 90 Metern sehen Taucher jetzt eine schwefelwasserstoffhaltige Sprungschicht. Bei einer Tiefe von etwa 40 Metern kann man deshalb heute noch Stalaktiten der ehemaligen Höhlen sehen. Folgend ein kurzes Video, um einmal vom Schreibtisch in die Unterwasserwelt des Riffs abzutauchen:

The Great Blue Hole ist ein UNESCO Weltnaturerbe

Im Jahr 1996 wurde dieses ungewöhnliche Loch zum Denkmal des Landes Belize und gleichzeitig auch zum UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe. Durch unseren leichtfertigen Umgang mit der Natur landete das Great Blue Hole jedoch im Jahr 2009 schon wieder auf die Liste der gefährdeten Weltnaturerbe. Das Lighthouse Reef ist das zweitgrößte Korallenriff unseres Planeten und erstreckt sich über eine Weite von etwa 200 Quadrat-Kilometern. Eigentlich bezeichnet man Lighthouse Reef als Atoll (ringförmiges Riff), jedoch ist der Begriff bei uns weniger gebräuchlich. Das Riff hat eine atemberaubende biologische Vielfalt. Neben etwa 500 Fisch- und 80 unterschiedlichen Korallenarten, sind besonders viele bedrohte Schildkröten- und Krokodilarten im Lighthouse Reef beheimatet. Auf den kleinen Inseln ist die Artenvielfalt von Leguanen und anderen Reptilien besonders hoch. Das unterirdische Höhlensystem des Lighthouse Reef mit dem Great Blue Hole ist einer der beliebtesten Tauchspots auf der Erde.

Das fantastische Lighthouse Reef selbst erleben

Es ist recht einfach, zu diesem wundervollen Ort zu kommen, da Belize Stadt einen Flughafen hat und direkt an der Ostküste liegt. Reisende empfehlen eine Reisedauer von etwa einer Woche, die Teilnahme an geplanten Tauchgängen mit Belize Tauchsafaris und Turneffe Resorts und die Leihe eines Mietwagens vor Ort.  Ich habe ein Video gesehen, in dem eine Gruppe von Menschen einen Fallschirm-Sprung über dem Riff gemacht hat. Das ist natürlich nicht für jeden geeignet, aber soll zeigen, dass man in Belize noch viele andere Erlebnisse haben kann. Natürlich sollte auch das Hotel in der Nähe des Riffs liegen, um die Zeit in Belize so effektiv wie möglich zu nutzen.

AirBnb als freundliche Alternative

Als Alternative zum Hotel möchte ich dir AirBnb ans Herz legen. Hier bekommst du eine Wohnung oder ein Zimmer bei Menschen, die am Zielort deiner Reise leben. Ich bin selbst immer bei AirBnb-Gastgebern, weil sie sich bestens vor Ort auskennen und viel selbst erlebt haben. Das ist für mich ein fantastischer und vor allem preiswerter Mehrwert. Hier kommst du zu AirBnb und kannst einfach mal nach einer tollen Unterkunft in Belize schauen. Weitere wichtige Fakten und Informationen zu Belize und dem Lighthouse Reef mit dem dem wundervollen Great Blue Hole:

  • Lage: Belize liegt an der Ostküste Mittelamerikas und grenzt an die Staaten Mexiko und Guatemala. Das Lighthouse Riff selbst ist etwa 70 Kilometer von Belize Stadt (direkt an der Ostküste) entfernt. Das Great Blue hole befindet sich im Zentrum des Lighthouse Reefs zwischen den Inseln Long Caye im Süden und Northern Two Cayes. Neben dem Great Blue Hole gibt es aber noch etwa 24 weitere beliebte Tauchspots im Lighthouse Reef.
  • Sprache & Währung: In Belize wird Englisch und auch Spanisch gesprochen. Die Währung in Belize ist der Belize-Dollar.
  • Auskunft: Wer mehr über das Land oder das Lighthouse Reef erfahren möchte, sollte sich Auskunft im deutschen Büro des Honorargeneralkonsulates Belizes in Stuttgart holen. Folgend Adresse und Tel.-Nr.: Breitscheidstraße 10, 70174 Stuttgart, Tel.: 0711 / 90710920

Das Great Blue Hole ist eine Reise wert!

Ich hoffe, dass dir dieser Artikel über das Great Blue Hole, das Lighthouse Reef und das Land Belize weiterhelfen! Das Lighthouse Reef sollte bei jedem auf der Liste der Reiseziele stehen. Bevor ich es vergesse: Das perfekte Nackenkissen für deine Reise bekommst du natürlich direkt bei uns. Viel Spaß!

Beste Grüße,

CareElite Christoph

PS.: Schaue dir auch meine persönlichen Reisetipps im Blog an und lerne richtig coole Reiseziele kennen! Viel Spaß!

Ich bin Christoph und unterstütze und organisiere Plastikmüll CleanUps auf der ganzen Welt, um den Plastikmüll aus der Natur zu entfernen. Bei CareElite gebe ich dir zusammen mit anderen umweltbewussten Bloggern Tipps & Tricks für ein natürlich-gesundes und vor allem nachhaltiges Leben, mit fantastischen Natur- und Wildlife-Erlebnissen.Wenn du möchtest, dass wir weiter mit voller Kraft an CareElite arbeiten, kannst du uns gern ein paar Taler für die technische Verbesserung der Webseite, CleanUp-Material und neue aufklärende Blogbeiträge in unsere Kaffeekasse werfen. So oder so - danke, dass du da bist!

Kaffekasse Verbesserungsvorschläge Newsletter

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.